We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Privacy on a Bit of Paradise in the Adirondacks”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Adirondack Star Ridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Adirondack Star Ridge
Inspired Adirondack Dreaming on 30 private & secluded acres. Stairway to 4 seasons of peace & tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to Adirondack Star Ridge
Inspired Adirondack Dreaming on 30 private & secluded acres.
Stairway to 4 seasons of peace & tranquility
A well equipped kitchen ready for preparing a feast
Plenty of work space with light and air for creativity
Expanded Kitchen area view into dining space
Dining ADK style.
Awesome D/R!
Expanded L/R view with wood stove, smart tv and spectacular wooded views beyond
Spacious Master B/R with walk-in closet & seating area
Master Bedroom Queen Sleep Number--a recipe for dreams
Guest B/R with 2 twins, storage & lots of air and light & forest views
Second Bedroom with two single beds looking out to forest & mountain scenes
ADK decorated bath in natural wood, birch design walls and lots of light & ventilation
Bathroom overview
Jacuzzi steam shower to sooth away the ache in your tired muscles--a peace-filled night awaits...
Plan your next hiking & biking adventure nearby to the Adirondack Star Ridge
Wrap-around 750 sq.' deck with table, plenty of varied seating & solitude (no neighbors in sight)
Propane BBQ grill ready to prepare your feast
Fall in Love with the Adirondacks-a view from Star Ridge-5 min.walk up drive.
The evening fire is set.  Now to await the last light of day to be replaced by a star-filled sky
Whiteface Mt. from Star Ridge - Beauty and serenity
Evening bon-fire set available to all cottage guests-weather depending
Sunsets on Star Ridge, a short hike up the drive
Day is gone...Gone the sun. The night's starlight show is the feature tonight!
One of many WOW! sunsets from the ridge
Adirondack Star Ridge ambassador of good will and official greeter.
Somewhere over the Rainbow, vacations dreams come true at Star Ridge!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lake Placid, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maryl613
Dover, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Privacy on a Bit of Paradise in the Adirondacks”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have vacationed in this area of the Adirondacks for many years and have rented various accommodations around Wilmington and Jay, NY but Star Ridge Cottage far surpassed any of them. We had total privacy and the property afforded gorgeous views right from the deck. The kitchen was well stocked and the rest of the living area was very clean, spacious and comfortable. In addition, instead of driving to a hiking trail, we enjoyed walks right on the property with trail descriptions provided by the owners that took us to more breathtaking views of the High Peaks. We were very happy with the free Wifi provided but were somewhat disappointed with the TV Satellite service which did not carry local sports channels such as Yankees YES channel. Overall, this was an excellent place to stay to view the fall foliage and the owners were very accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaJane2...
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage in beautiful, peaceful mountain setting”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family (husband, wife and two grown daughters) just returned from 4 lovely days at Star Ridge Cottage. The cottage is comfortable, clean and offers beautiful views of the mountains from its spacious deck. It was great to return to the peace and quiet of this secluded setting after a day of hiking the High Peaks or an afternoon shopping in Lake Placid. The cottage has a large, open kitchen that is well equipped with pots, pans, dishes, utensils, and cleaning products, as well as the basics, such as seasonings, sugar, coffee and tea. There is also a gas grill on the deck and laundry facilities in the basement. The owners live a short walk up the road, and they were very warm and welcoming. Their property affords spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and valley below. The town of Au Sable Forks was a short ride away (about 10 minutes), so it was easy to stock up on groceries at the small supermarket there and beverages at the local liquor store. We found that there was plenty of space for a family of four. We would love to return another time--it was much more peaceful than staying in the heart of Lake Placid, as we had done on a prior trip to the Adirondacks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, secluded setting
Liked least: Sharing one bathroom
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuong-My
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a peace of heaven!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just awesome!

We were 3 friends coming from Toronto looking for a getaway for Easter and the place had everything we needed.
We spent 2 nights at the cottage: first day we went for hiking in the mountain and second day we just chilled at the cottage. I really wish we had more time to spend at the cottage.
Everything is provided to make you comfy. The shower/body spray/steam bath is perfect after a long day of hiking. The fireplace is great and very convenient (Mike and Mini provide the wood so you don’t have to buy anything).
I loved the kitchen and the patio. When you wake up, you really enjoy the sun and the peace of the area. Basically, this cottage is just perfect!
Mini and Mike were available to answer to any questions, they were great. Thanks a lot for this perfect weekend, we definitely recommend the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom and linens provided
Liked least: Utensils for kitchen are a bit old
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Thank you My, Solon & Alex for your kind words. We are very pleased to have been able to provide an awesome experience and space for your group. We welcome you back whenever you find yourselves again in the North Country! Stay well and cheers, Mike & Mini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York city
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Dear Barbara and John,

As always, it is our pleasure to be able to be a positive contributor to a great Adk experience for guests. Many years ago we too were vacationers in this area which is how we came to be here full time.
Our vision in relocating to this Peace of Heaven was to share this sacred place by creating a comfortable space where guests can come to retreat and renew among nature's beautiful majestic mountains.
We always look forward to connecting with repeat guests and meeting new ones.
Peace,
Mini & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
We strive to provide a memorable experience for all our guests many of which will return and send friends. The quiet and peace of Star Ridge Cottage & surrounding acreage create a wonderful environment to energize low batteries and heal the soul. If you seek adventure, you need just to step off the cottage's side deck and wander through miles of adjacent timber. If you're looking for organized activities, there are an unlimited number to choose from within a short distance. If you need to rest, the cottage's quiet space in and out offer all the amenities to do so.
Whatever your reason to explore the Adirondacks, Star Ridge Cottage can become your memorable experience! We welcome you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
designlov...
Louvain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Heaven in a nutshell”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Looking for an idyllic spot to return to after a day's hike in the Adirondacks? Then Adirondack Star Ridge is the right place for you. The cottage lies high above Ausable Forks and enjoys a splendid outlook. Need to know more? The light comes in from all the sides and makes up for whatever dark day it would choose to be. The kitchen is a housewife's dream with everything within handreach. The beds are comfortable. And the bathroom, wow! You come back weary and muddy? Give yourself the treat of a steam shower, and your tired limbs are revived. Fed-up with the mosquitoes swarming around your head and sucking the blood out of you? The cottage is completely sealed off: you get the fresh air from the open windows and doors, but keep the nasty little creatures outside. Star Ridge is a dream, I tell .you. We had the privilege to stay there for 5 days, and wish it would have been longer.
The owners are the sweetest people on earth: they'll give you all the privacy you need, but are around whenever you need them (like for first help against mosquitoes, travel advice, watching the sunset from their own garden). You'll leave with a smile on your face and good memories in your heart :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing