We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski experience”
Review of Jack Rabbit Trail

Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great ski experience”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a great time leaving from Lake Placid lodge and did the full circle and really enjoyed the conditions (alot of people has walked on the trail was the only downfall)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thematou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We did a 2-hour snowshoeing expedition on a cold, windy day. The trees blocked the wind so we were not cold. The views of Lake Placid were spectacular. I would recommend this for beginners, as the trail was relatively flat and easy to navigate.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Fabulous trail that is good for varied fitness levels whether for crossing country skiing or hiking. Easily accessible, lovely views and good variety.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Almost got lost”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We read about this trail online and decided to try it since we were pressed for time and the trailhead is located just outside of downtown. There supposedly are 3 loop trails, marked with red, blue, and yellow markers, each fairly short. However, there were virtually no signs or markers, and if it wasn't for local folks jogging and walking through the area who told us where to go, we would still be out there. One of those people told us there was no real loop, and we just headed back the way we came, getting back to our car barely before sunset. The area around the dam was very nice and scenic, but the trail itself was more rugged and rocky than advertised. The website we looked at mentioned the parts were handicapped accessible, but there was no way this could be true. There was a wooden bulletin board which we thought might have a map of the trails, etc. but there was no information at all.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lake Placid Dam”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Short trail (20 mins), great for young kids. Takes you to a dam that is the outlet for Lake Placid. Great scenery and a fun family trip.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank swcahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Rabbit Trail also viewed

 

Been to Jack Rabbit Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing