We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location with decent facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Campground at Heart Lake
Reviewed 20 August 2014

AMC owned and managed. Bathrooms were clean. Loj is for guests only but firewood and ice are available for anyone. Campsites are reasonably well placed apart. We had booked a lean-to fortunately. It torrentially poured and it made the camping experience a little more bearable for my wife! However, the lean-to is a low profile so don't expect to get your tent to stand within it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jules E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A small group of us stayed here for 2 nights in one of the canvas cabins. It was clean inside and the bunks were comfortable. The bunks were noisy when you move around though. Earplugs are an excellent idea for the bunk bed noise and the idiots who sit around the campfire smoking who knows what and laughing loudly until 1 am.

The campground overall was clean but the restrooms and shower area apparently do not get attended to often. The sinks were dirty, trash overflowing and trash laying in the shower area.

Having said some negative comments, we would definitely use this place again. The location is perfect to Lake Placid and hiking trails. Just don't forget earplugs, some adult beverages and some thick skin. It is a campground, not a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereAREyou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times, and always enjoy it. It's a no-frills campsite - there isn't a swimming pool, playground or activities planned for you. It's also a little back country feeling, as it's next to impossible to get a signal for your phone, although you can get free wifi near the Loj.

There is a comfort station for campers - the toilet stalls are as clean as can be expected (this is a campsite, bugs included), as are the sinks and showers. (Showers are small, though!)

There is swimming at Heart Lake by the Loj, and the small tuck shop in the Info Centre sells a few necessities, as well as ice and fire wood. Several of the 46 High Peaks have their trailheads here, so it's a great place to stay if you're trying to hike them.

You can also reserve breakfast, trail lunches, and dinner at the Loj, if you don't feel like cooking. The Info Centre also sells coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anya_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed two nights in the tent cabins at the Wilderness Campground at Heart Lake. Paid $45 for each night for a family of four. The tent cabins were perfect for those of us who like to camp but dread setting up the tent after driving 5 hours and taking it all down when it is time to go. They were spacious, slept 6 (3 bunk beds) and clean. All we had to do was roll out the sleeping bags and bring out the pillow. We were able to have dinner and breakfast one day at the Adirondack Loj, located in the campground (meals there are typically for the Loj guests but if they have availability, campground people can make a reservation). We paid $19 per adult for dinner (half of that for the kids 12 and under) and $8 per adult for breakfast (half price for kids). Food was good but the staff serving it seemed a bit overwhelmed. Had to ask for napkins, forks, etc. and the menu wasn't exactly what they had listed (vegetable soup instead of corn chowder; red potatoes in the vegetable mix instead of mashed potatoes; pot roast instead of roast beef). Everything was delicious but we were a little disappointed in the menu change (staff did not seem to be aware what was posted). The price was maybe a little steep for what we got but it was worth not having to cook over a fire or drive into Lake Placid. The campground is located at the base of several trail heads and the staff in the Info Center were more than helpful in answering our questions about what hikes to take given our group's age ranges and abilities. Bathroom facilities were consistent with this type of campground - hot showers were free and the bathrooms were reasonably clean. I would not stay here if I were looking for a family campground with lots to do in the campground area. The campground sits on a lake and has a small swimming area. I would definitely stay here if I were looking for a place to have a base to hike in the Adirondacks, or to set out from to further explore the area. Overall, a very good experience and well worth the accommodation price!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Gemellimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Note that this review is for the Adirondak Loj Wilderness Campground ('Adirondak' is the correct spelling in this instance) which is adjacent to the Adirondak Loj main building. Whereas the Loj building includes private and bunk rooms, the campground is for tent camping.

The main attribute of the campground is its location among some of the most beautiful of the Adirondack High Peaks and its proximity to a network of mountain trails - aspiring 46ers (climbing all 46 High Peaks originally mapped at 4000' and above) begin many hikes from the Loj. The site is also convenient to downtown Lake Placid (15-20 min drive), so it is very popular.

Each of the 40 or so campsites is similar to a typical state park-like site - about 75' between sites with some tall pines and green space; room for a couple cars and tents; a picnic table and fire pit (note that firewood in New York must be purchased within 50 miles of use to minimize invasive species – the Loj sells firewood). There is a basic wash house with a few bathroom stalls and showers, and numerous fresh water spigots along the campground's ring road. A short walk from the grounds is gorgeous Heart Lake for swimming and a tremendous view.

Unfortunately, like many public campgrounds, the Loj's wilderness area often includes late-night revelers and first-light risers (there tends to be a younger camper population rather than families). Although the campground has a ‘quiet hours’ policy, it isn’t posted at the sites or mentioned during check-in (I haven’t witnessed any enforcement during many stays). During my last stay, the adjoining party (pun intended) arrived at dark and talked/drank/laughed until 1:30 am. Another nearby site began packing their cars and talking at 4:30 am, oblivious to others. As mentioned, this isn’t necessarily different from any public campground, but simply a tip that a quiet night is not the norm at the Adirondak Campground, especially during weekends.

I always bring earplugs and patience since with all it's flaws, the campground is still a great location to begin a hike in the Adirondacks. Some simple noise monitoring would go a long way toward making the campground much more enjoyable and in keeping with its wilderness location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TomBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,354 reviews
8 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,372 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
7.4 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 32 in Lake Placid
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Campground at Heart Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Campground at Heart Lake

Address: 1002 Adirondack Loj Road, Adirondak Loj, Lake Placid, NY
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lake Placid
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adirondack Mountain Club's Wilderness Campground offers a variety of primitive camping opportunities. The seasonal washhouse is available during the spring, summer, and fall; this facility has men and women's washrooms with showers, toilets, and sinks. During the winter months guests are able to use the facilities in the High Peaks Information Center. All food must be stored inside a vehicle to avoid attracting wildlife. Firewood must be purchased on site to prevent the spread of invasive species. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing