We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly and attentive service and great live jazz guitar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pan Dolce - CLOSED

Pan Dolce
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Pan Dolce, meaning “sweet bread” in Italian, is a full service restaurant located just beyond the hustle and bustle of Main Street in Lake Placid.Our menu offers a selection of seasonal dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We pride ourselves in creating a casual gourmet experience with high standards of quality, service and convenience. All of our tempting dishes are crafted in our kitchen using carefully selected local ingredients.We braise, roast, poach, boil and bake all our own meats, poultry, and breads. Enjoy our distinctive, spacious, Eco-friendly, restaurant - designed with natural materials and a contemporary feel. Pan Dolce welcomes families, friends and groups of all sizes.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and attentive service and great live jazz guitar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived at 8 pm on a quiet cold off-season Sunday evening. With many local landmarks closed for vacation, arriving late for this neck of the woods, we expected not too much, but were immediately impressed by the warm welcome and the excellent jazz guitar stylings of Steve Lester. It only got better from there. The booth was comfortable and romantic, away from the other patrons with a view of the flaming terrace heaters and the deer browsing through the neighbourhood (!). Everything from the kitchen was superb, from the fabulous Melanzane eggplant appetizer to the excellent Chocolate Torta dessert. I had possibly the best seared tuna steak of my life, with a lovely blackened edge, and along with my partner's lovely pork chop both main dishes were arrayed and accompanied to five star standards. The friendly service just made it a perfect evening, and we highly recommend this place. Despite the off season and so-so weather they were top notch!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    71
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Food was amazing and had a creative twist to it. We ate at about 7 restaurants in Lake Placid and this one was the best. Manager and server were very welcoming and were on top of our needs.. Will be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Spunky1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not in the central shopping area, but well worth the short drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in Lake Placid over the Columbus Day weekend and chose Sunday night for our "big night out". This property is on the road to Saranac but is still in town, nearby the McDonalds. We have been going to LP for many years and this property has changed hands many times, but I certainly hope this place makes it because it is now one of our favorites. The building has been totally refurbished so no trace remains of the old. There is a standup bar and drink area, and the main area of the restaurant has been completely refitted with new furnishings, seating and lighting. There is a nice entryway and rock garden outside. Very nice indeed.
The fare is gourmet burgers and unique entrees. In keeping with the healthy atmosphere of LP, everything is prepared with the "health conscious" in mind; including the burgers. I had a Rosemary chicken dish which was fabulous. Wife and daughter had gourmet burgers which were so large they both had enough leftovers for lunch the following day. Talented solo guitarist playing for tips which was a very nice touch. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftome321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becancour, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a fine dining restorant. All the dishes we ate were delicious This is a restorant where you have to have time to eat. Live music par a guitarist. The owner was there to greet us. a great evening. The food food and wine price are correct. For exemple, we paid 23$ for a Liberty School red wine Bottle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lpmorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohoes, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Surpise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic meal. Wife and I stopped here since The Lodge was booked for a private event. Turns out someone was looking out for us and guided us here. I had the prime rib (only $13!!) and my wife had the hazelnut chicken with risotto. Both were fantastic. Ambiance was very comfortable. upscale casual
I guess I would call it. By far the best meal we had all weekend here in Lake Placid.

Helpful?
1 Thank BriGill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pan Dolce also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing