We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only casual dining option on Lake Placid.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moose Lodge Boathouse

The Moose Lodge Boathouse
Ranked #71 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only casual dining option on Lake Placid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good for lunch and drinks while boating on lake placid. The views are amazing and the prices are reasonable. Kid/Family friendly. Arriving by boat can be quite difficult - Minimal boat parking. Recommend for lunch and to-go meals while on lake placid. Only negative is food often takes much longer then expected and service can be young and unprofessional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wcarter5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
181 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Disappointing management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were looking forward to a special evening here, traveled all the way from Scotland to lake placid. Foreword - I am a natural optimist so it takes a lot for me to whine. So lets start with the good stuff - beautiful walk in - the gardens, the view, the lake, the setting it's just stunning. Shown straight to a nice table on the deck, another plus. Very nice server, pleasant, welcoming, tick. She told us several times they were very busy so food may take an extra 15 mins - best to warn people we thought, we were in no hurry so that's a ok. No kids menu ( bit old fashioned but I don't like all that fried chicken strips or pasta only option stuff anyway, a smaller portion option better). Ordered and got a cocktail while we waited. Took pics of the gorgeous sunset views.
This is where the wheels came off....heavy rain started..and i mean heavy. We dashed indoors. The place was over 3/4 empty inside ( couldn't understand why they were delayed with food the place wasn't that busy). We gestured at the nearest empty table - the woman who seemed to be acting in a managerial role half glared at us and started grabbing all the place settings off the table - cutlery, glasses, the works. She did that to all the surrounding tables and piled them all up on the table next to us. So we were grunted we could in fact sit at the barren table. By this time it was cats n dogs outside and everyone had dashed in. This supposed manager went into a gargantuan flap, directed our pleasant waitress onto the computer to I presume,reallocate everyone's orders and seating. No one bothered to ensure the patrons were ok first....we sat for 15 mins in the heat and humidity ( it's not ac'd indoors) without a glass of water, at a bare table, no indication that we would be served, watching this daft woman dry glasses out of the dishwasher and chat to one male customer. No one took hold of what was a very simple situation - I'm sure rain hits regularly. After 15 mins with hungry and thirsty children I beckoned over the nice waitress and asked are we getting service? Any cutlery? A glass of water? Is the food coming? (We'd been there almost an hour by this point). Meanwhile all the needed materials had been piled onto the adjacent table - kept asking myself why did she do that? Other than making us feel very unwelcome it was unhelpful. Everything outside was soaked! Food was nice enough but nothing spectacular. Our young blonde waitress was a lovely girl and recovered the situation a bit. On leaving we heard the inept manageress woman say to the barman ' I need a beer after a night like tonight'. She had stood doing nothing! I'd hate to see her in a real crisis...and we got bitten by mossies to boot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank havanagirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had dinner at boat house many times and always loved the view. The food and service is great. They made reservations for us easily and provided great service by Dylan. The food was very good. Had steak and Thai shrimp which were prepared perfectly. Best of all was marguerite who made sure our table, service and food were all to our liking. You shouldn't miss this spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bertk656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupper Lake, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

First time here, beautiful landscape,restaurant and the most wonderful people, Bartender was fabulous and waiters for out dinner were fantastic, Nick was wonderful at Check in for dinner...very attentive. Awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

That is what it's all about. The food is fine. Service good, but unremarkable. The dining room really needs some updating and better design and decor, but you can not beat the view!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Moose Lodge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing