We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little spot,”

Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid
Ranked #14 of 53 things to do in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Goose Watch Winery is recognized as one of New York's most unique wineries, specializing in producing some truly unforgettable premium blends. Based in the Finger Lakes, Goose Watch is thrilled to provide Lake Placid with a large selection of its uncommon and exclusive wines. Winning numerous gold medals each year, Goose Watch continues to develop some of the most intriguing red and white wines as well as sparkling wines, port, sherry, and ice wine. Stop in today to discover wines that will entice your palate, located right on Main Street in beautiful Lake Placid!
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a quick tasting on Saint Patties Day, it was nice. The woman helping us was very friendly. We didn't feel rushed or pressured to buy anything. This is just a very nice informal tasting of some delicious wines! We will return when we come back to town!

Thank ShellRock09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stopped in to Goose Watch Winery in Lake Placid the day after Thanksgiving while strolling through town, and we're glad we did! For $5 we tasted 6 wines, guided by Erica, the friendly and fun wine steward. I love to give bottles of wine as gifts, so we stocked up on delicious NY wines from the Finger Lakes. If you're walking around Lake Placid, shopping, eating, and relaxing, this is a fun place to visit.

Thank runner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

You could skip both "Wineries" in Lake Placid. First of all the wineries are actually in the Finger Lakes Region not the ADK. Sampling pours are tiny!! And the quality not so great!! Save your time and $ go buy a bottle of wine and enjoy it from the comfy Adirondack chairs on the public beach!! We did at sunset!! Great time.

Thank SnowboundInVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwedishHillWinery, Owner at Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for visiting our Lake Placid tasting room. While we respect that individual tastes and preferences vary, we would like to point out that the Finger Lakes is now considered a major player in cool climate wine production and is highly respected internationally. Reviews in essentially all of the major wine press and national and international wine competitions confirm this. Yes, we do grow the grapes and produce the wines in the Finger Lakes, as the Adirondack climate and soils are not conducive to premium quality wine production. Hopefully you got a chance to try some of our highly acclaimed dry vinifera varietals, such as our 5 gold (3 of which were in California) medal winning 2011 Viognier or our 6 gold (4 of which were in California) medal winning 2011 Riesling Gewurztraminer, or our 2011 Cabernet Franc (Dry) Rose, which achieved a “Best Buy” rating in Wine Enthusiast Magazine. As for the sample size, we pour ½ oz measured samples of each wine, which is commonly used in wine tasting rooms throughout the country. This amount allows our visitors to be able to fully taste and experience each wine, without consuming a large amount of alcohol since when you purchase a tasting you have the opportunity to taste six different wines of your choice. Thank you again for stopping in and we hope you enjoyed your visit at Lake Placid!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Walked into this location and saw a group of people in front of us having so much fun that we hung around to have our own tasting session. Since we were just two, it was not inherently as fun as the larger group but we did taste 5 (or 6 I can't remember) wines and got keep sake glasses. We did not end up buying any but did appreciate their wine categorization and found it to be true to those we tasted (ie dry, sweet, etc) meaning we got to taste wines in the categories we most enjoy. Don't have a lot of wine tastings under my belt to make comparisons but found this ok. Didn't occupy much time but was worth the money and time.

Thank NJLeoOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwedishHillWinery, Public Relations Manager at Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for visiting our Lake Placid Tasting Room! We're very happy to hear that you were able to try a variety of wines that appealed to you, dry versus sweet! If you're looking to experience more award-winning wines be sure to visit our winery in the Finger Lakes along with our sister winery, Swedish Hill, who has tasting rooms in the Finger Lakes, Lake Placid and Saratoga Springs! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We did the wine tasting, you keep the glass and you can use it again at Swedish Hill Winery. Very good wines!

1  Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwedishHillWinery, Public Relations Manager at Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for submitting a review about your visit to our Lake Placid Tasting Room! We're also happy to hear that you took advantage of our deal of using the souvenir tasting glass from our tasting room and using it at Swedish Hill Lake Placid and get a tasting there for just $2! We hope that you found some new favorite wines at both places! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid also viewed

 

Been to Goose Watch Winery Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing