We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Motel”
Review of Woodlake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlake Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice motel in the village. Offset from the road so street noises are not noticeable. We had a second floor double room. The stairs and balcony are made of wood timbers and the shingle is wood. Nice touch. The room was bigger than expected. Two double beds, desk, table & chairs, TV & coffee maker and chairs on the balcony. The bathroom was big as well and overall the entire place was very clean. Don't know if the air worked because we didn't need it. The room had screened windows on opposite sides of the room that opened!! We had a wonderful cross breeze all night. The bathroom also had a small window that opened. Worth a look.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Dated, needs overhaul. Has small kitchen area. Reasonably clean. Overpriced. $149.51 for double room, 2 adults. Breakfast not included. No Wi fi.
Whilst running a bath some strange brown slime appeared in the bathtub. Let the water out and rinsed the bath. Re-filled, this time ok although water not very warm at all.
Staff were polite.
Near to all shops and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Enjoyed my 2 night stay, have no complaints.
Zoi was great to talk with and willing to fix any problem, not that any needed fixing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Blake440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a nice place too stay. A little noisy and unclean, but if you look for something really cheap this one is better than all other alternatives.

It is also located very close to downtown and has parking.

Room Tip: Try not to get room near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I planned a winter getaway for the weekend for me and my Boyfriend. The place looked good at first. When we got there it was late so we had to go next door to the restaurant to get the key (not a big deal). The room was outdated (also not a big deal) but the top blanket had stains underneith it! GROSS! Thankfully we brought our own!The next morning we had our cup of coffee each, then went to enjoy the sights. While we were out house keeping came. We got new towels but did not get more coffee or cups.
I think the worst part was that the curtins were very transparent! With a street light outside the window at night and the sun glaring in come morning time, sleeping was difficult.
And to top it all off, almost every room was empty but we were put at the end next to the stairs, so we heard everytime someone went up or down the stairs. When we left, we went to pay our bill and the "owner/manager" didn't have change!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We booked this hotel from booking.com. And in the description, it says a queen room includes a kitchen and a balcony. But when we got there with all food we bought from the grocery to cook, the receptionist told us the room does not include a kitchen and refused to change us to a room including a kitchen. And sorry, no balcony either! All we got is a dirty coffee machine which we washed it again and again so finally it was acceptable to boil some hot water...

And the wall is so thin that you can hear a single bit of noise from the next room, had bad sleeps there...Won't go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a cheap place to stay in Lake Placid on a Thursday night in season. We were looking for something cheap and our expectations weren't high, which is good because the room wasn't all that great. It was cold when we got in there because the air conditioner was on (it was December). There was no lock on the window and the room was not well insulated. However the location was a short walk away from Main Street, and we only paid $97 for the night. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay without any perks then this is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanE1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#27 of 31 in Lake Placid
178 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlake Inn

Address: 2285 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3387
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: £83 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlake Inn is located in the heart of the Olympic Village of Lake Placid in the majestic Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York. The authentic Adirondack log and twig style inn is centrally located within walking distance of Main Street shops, restaurants, theater, Olympic Arena and lakes. Guest accommodations include efficiencies and cozy rooms with king, queen, or two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlake Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing