We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be very careful.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Placid Club Lodges
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be very careful.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Transfered Timeshare via RCI... Called prior to reservation concerning smoking, which stated "NO SMOKING IN LODGES, which was understood.... Asked if there was a smoking section anywhere at the resort, which they said yes, the balcony.... Half of the group that traveled with us, smoked.... Upon arrival at the resort, June 26, 2009, on the balcony was 2 ashtrays..... We put $250 deposit on arrival, which was ok..... At no time did anyone smoke inside the lodge..
We left the resort July 3rd, and on the 8th, checked my checking account and saw that the $250 had been deduction by the lodge... I called the lodge, asking when the deposit would be returned on the 8th and they said they never took the deposit out.... Nothing was wrong with the the condo, that they only filed the deposit if something was wrong, which again they stated, there was nothing ... This lasted over a month until I contacted my bank and filed a despute.... Two days ago, I received a statement from the bank saying that they acted on the dispute saying they smelled smoke upon entering the condo.. which is a LIE..... I don't smoke in my own home, let alone someone elses....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Overall, an above average condo. Very comfortable and plenty of room to sprawl out... Here are the more detailed up/downsides...
Upsides: 1700 Sq Ft which handles 8 comfortably + a sauna and a jacuzzi for the aftermath of skiing. I've never seen that in a condo before. Great discounted lift tickets. Close to town. Well maintained grounds during heavy snow. Nice check-in. Large flat screen satellite tv with DVD. No noise between rooms (no one above/below you). Real fireplace. Wireless internet. Large kitchen.
Downsides (although minimal): Little disappointed there is no heated pool but the huge jacuzzi/tub make up for it. No metal sheet pans for baking cookies! No washer/dryer in the room.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wemarionFishnGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

We returned this year after a spectacular week of skiing at Whiteface last year - our four year old loved the colored chairs. Luckily our school break is one week later than NY state's so it feels like you have the whole mountain to yourself. The kid's section is beautiful and you can park directly next to the lodge -even when you arrive at 10 am. It was easy to do daycare in the afternoon. The office at the condo provides discount tickets to Whiteface and again this year the skiing was phenomenol.


The units are large - the downstairs bathrooms have a sauna and a jacuzzi tub. The kitchen has lots of storage and there is a good grocery store in town. This year they updatedunits to have to flat screen tvs and, our favorite, wireless internet . We ended up just spending time as a family in our condo and not taking much advantage of all Lake Placid the town has to offer - though we did manage one day of magnificent x-country skiing at the Olympic site as well. The condo was large enough for us to invite another family to stay for a few days so that made the trip even better. The bed in the master bedroom had been updated since last year but the others could use some sprucing up - particularly the pull outs in the loft area. I don't think someone could sleep there for a full week as an adult.

We got snow every day we were in Placid and this made the location on the golf course pretty and fun to ski and sled right out the back. Best part of the condo: size, the downstairs bathroom and wireless internet. Needs - new beds for the pullouts and new bedding for the second bedroom.

  • Liked — Skiin at Whteface with no crowds!
  • Disliked — Bedding in second bedroom and pull outs
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Johlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

We booked this through our timeshare association at a bargain price and were almost totally satisfied.
However, as with most sofa beds that aren't brand new, we were glad that we didn't have to sleep on them. Luckily I had packed an inflatable mattress just in case.
The huge downstairs bathroom had a gorgeous jacuzzi, a shower, and a sauna. The entire unit was very spacious and we five never bumped into one another.
Nice big HD TV with a million channels to choose from.
The staff were cheerful and friendly, and discounted ski tickets were a welcome find.
You can walk to town, and the surroundings are beautiful.

  • Liked — Roomy and comfortable
  • Disliked — sofa beds
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

We spent a week in the Lake Placid Club Lodges as a timeshare exchange, however, they said all their units are all identical, whether using as a timeshare or "by the night". We were pleasantly surprised at the size (about 1700 SF) and recently updated accommodations. Wireless access was available without a hitch. DVD player played MP3s as well. Full kitchen, 2 bath, 2 BR (1 Queen, 2 twins), loft with pullout, pullout in LR, 2 outdoor decks (upper and lower level)The private sauna and jacuzzi were especially beneficial for a winter getaway. The fireplace was also very enjoyable. We brought a case of "duraflame" type logs.
Our unit overlooked a golf course with a mountain view. We were within walking distance of Main Street, which had several shops and restaurants, the Olympic Museum, Olympic Skating Oval, movie theater... Easy walk around the lake.
Lake Placid Club Lodges was supposed to have on-site cross country ski rentals, but the vendor was a no show every time we went to the location. We ended up renting elsewhere - at Cascade XC - and had a very good experience.
It was good to have a car, as the bobsledding, ski jumps, biathalon and Olympic ski trails are about ten minutes away. We did see a shuttle that could be utilized (not through the lodges) if you do not have a car. Lake Placid Club Lodges was working on getting pickup at their site, but it had not happened yet, so you may have to walk a little bit to a pickup point.

  • Liked — Vaulted ceiling, fireplace, private sauna, loft, view
  • Disliked — Rentals not available on site
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

We booked this through Royal Holiday Vacation Club. The resorts are a little on the old side, but still comfortably sleeps 8 ppl. About a 15 minute drive to Whiteface. Full kitchen, with pots, pans and cutlery. 2 bathrooms, DVD player and Plasma TV were nice features. Highly recommended. We actually had doubts signing up with Royal Holiday, but so far, our first booking here was great.

Parking at the actual Whiteface was a little bit of a hassle. But just drop the party off at the front, and have one person park the car so you don't have to lug all your ski equipment. Depending on time of day, expect to park about 7-10 mins away walk, from the ski lifts.

Overall, good resort. No regrets.

  • Liked — Spacious, Plasma TV, DVD Player
  • Disliked — The floor was a little dirty, but nothing to be worried about
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eliu36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2006

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/sleeps 8 HUGE and well outfitted townhome with a gorgeous view of Mirror Lake (Unit 61)! It was located 2 blocks from the beautiful village of Lake Placid! We will go back again!

Helpful?
6 Thank KatieBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Club Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Club Lodges

Property: Lake Placid Club Lodges
Address: 30 Lake Placid Club Way, 30 Lake Placid Club Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4014
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Club Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Placid Club Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Club Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Hotel
Lake Placid Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing