We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Brussels Sprouts and Lobster Risotto”

Taste Bistro and Bar
Ranked #17 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Taste Bistro & Bar is recognized for its warm, friendly, and casual atmosphere where food and drink are the primary focus. With a panoramic view of Mirror Lake, this comfortable nook is a welcoming place for house guests, local residents and a haven for friends and family who simply want a great meal served with a glass of wine or a regional brew. Enjoy live music on Friday and Saturday nights.
New Hartford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Brussels Sprouts and Lobster Risotto”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Mirror Lake Inn for years as our "go to" getaway. Taste Bistro & Bar is our favorite dinner choice for it's convenience , delicious food and friendly, interesting wait staff. On our last visit, we enjoyed the Oysters & Champagne Happy Hour at the bar. Two diffent kinds of raw oysters at $1 a piece. What a deal. Later we had dinner. I, the fried brussels sprouts and lobster risotto. It was so delicious, I had the risotto again the next night! My husband had the beet salad that he swooned over and the lobster risotto, too. The next night, he had the hamburger with local beef that he said may have been one of the best hamburgers he's evern had. The young athletes who were our servers - Colin and Megan - were delightful. We give credit to the Mirror Lake Inn owners Weibrecht for having such wonderful staff and supporting their dreams.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Taste Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for being our guest at Taste Bistro! We’re glad Mirror Lake Inn is your go to getaway and that dinner at Taste Bistro is your favorite dining choice! We’re also glad you enjoyed the food and staff! Brussels sprouts are a favorite for many! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We met Colin”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Last Friday and Saturday evenings, my wife and i visited the Bistro.
The first evening we had to wait to be seated but the bartender gave us his undivided attention in offering wine choices to my wife. After tasting samples, we waited briefly in the front of the fireplace in the main lobby. When seated, we chose a cheese sampler that we enjoyed so much, we ordered it again the following evening. With live music from a fine guitarist each each night, the atmosphere was very relaxing. This was true despite Friday being a full crowd and Saturday less so. The food choices come from the same kitchen as the Mirror Lake Inn's View restaurant. While different they are equally as good.
Our server both nights was Colin. We learned that he is training as a bobsled driver for the America's Cup and hopes to some day move up and become an Olympian. His enthusiasm was contagious and we felt strongly supportive of his hopes. His friendliness added to our enjoyment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Taste Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest at Taste Bistro! We’re glad that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, food, live music and service by Olympic hopeful Colin! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaugay, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I had dinner on our overnight stay this weekend at the mirror lake inn and it was amazing!! The dining staff were all so welcoming and the food was delicious!! If you are there, be sure you try their pot roast, you won't find it better anywhere else I assure you!! Thanks to everyone for a wonderful time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaWa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Taste Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest at Taste Bistro! We’re happy that you enjoyed your overnight, the pot roast in Taste Bistro and staff! We hope you’ll be back again soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Best Food in Lake Placid”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our evening dining experience at this restaurant. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Locally sourced, high quality items. It is so good to be able to see free range meat options on a menu. The value was good and the view from our table near the window would be hard to beat. Don't waste your time pounding the pavement in Lake Placid looking for a decent meal, head straight here or The Cottage bar and grill opposite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Taste Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest at Taste Bistro! Wow, the best in Lake Placid! What a lovely compliment! We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience, the view and food! Stop in again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Little Bit of Heaven in the Adirondacks!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Once again, my family had a wonderful dining experience at the Mirror Lake Inn! I chose this restaurant out of all the choices in our area for my Mother's Day dinner. The reasons I chose
The Bistro are many. First of all, we are always warmly welcomed by the dining room manager, Katie Welsh and her staff. We are made to feel as though we are family (even though we aren't).
Secondly, the food is fantastic and is always presented beautifully by warm, friendly servers (in this case, Megan). Finally, the atmosphere is to die for. The Mirror Lake Inn is, without a doubt, one of the most elegant hotels you'll find anywhere. Every detail is accounted for by excellently trained staff. The view transports you to a peaceful, calming spot - overlooking the beautiful Mirror Lake.
My Mother's Day celebration was perfect, thanks to my experience at The Bistro!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Taste Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest at Taste Bistro! We are glad that you had a wonderful dining experience with your family and felt we are a little bit of heaven! Our staff truly appreciate receiving guest comments. We are happy that you enjoyed the food and service and we look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Bistro and Bar also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Taste Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing