We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”

A New Leaf Coffee House
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Terrible coffee, loooong wait with only one person working the cash, full of outdated maps and books on clearance and jam packed full of messy knick knacks. Shame, because this place had so much potential from the outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worst coffee ever”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I can't remember ever having such bad coffee. It was undrinkable - so weak that it couldn't have had much coffee in it. We 'returned it' and said how poor it was; we didn't ask for a refund but one wasn't offered either.
I try to support local independent businesses, but next time I'll save some time and money and head to Starbucks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As nautral as it gets”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you are looking for a clean meal without msg, fillers, and other unnecessary ingredients, you've come to the right place. The staff are always kind and helpful. The coffee is simply divine as it is locally roasted and brewed fresh every morning. Give this a shot when it's coffee time or even if you are looking for a lunch that will fill you up and leave you satisfied without the guilt!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is by far the best cup of coffee in town. Reasonably priced, fair trade, organic, and deliciously dark. I have to agree with the previous reviewers, though, that the shop itself is odd. We usually get our coffee to go, or have a quick breakfast or snack on our way through town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Only average...could be more!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After several stops at this local Lake Placid coffee shop over the last couple of years, I have finally nailed down why it is only okay. With good coffee, a very green/fair trade ethic, and a superb location, it could be far above its competition.

But, alas, A New Leaf, for all its positive attributes, suffers most in the areas of ambience and comfort level because of its hardworking-but-morose owner! When a friend and I recently discussed this issue, she referred to the pall that settles in during an early morning there, especially when it is just us and...da-da-DUM...the owner. Never a greeting, never a smile.

And, because joy is at least as significant a commodity in this old world as coffee...never a return visit from this particular customer.

For those of you for whom the main thing is that cup of coffee: enjoy A New Leaf and skip the perks of the other, more cheerful, caffeine emporiums in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A New Leaf Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to A New Leaf Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing