We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for a quick meal, snack, or food to go.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Goddess' Food

Green Goddess' Food
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Scape Cafe at Green Goddess Natural Market takes local and organic ingredients and turns them into delicious meals for you. We have a great selection of sandwiches, salads, fresh juices and smoothies and more!!We serve breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. The Scape also has a to go section for more delicious items. Great outdoor seating near a stream. The Cafe is located within Green Goddess Natural Market which boasts a huge selection of local, organic, and natural foods - highlights are the produce and bulk section and incredibly friendly staff!!
Jay, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for a quick meal, snack, or food to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm a local, and this is one of my favorite places to go for lunch, a snack, or to grab food for the road. You can find a variety of incredible healthy, delicious meals, including vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options. The best part of this place? It's also a locally-owned natural foods store. So while you're waiting for your lunch or smoothie to be freshly prepared, you can also browse the aisles and take home some yummy, organic, or gourmet goodies for later! You'll also find a well-rounded array of locally produced items like peanut butter, chocolate, locally-grown fresh produce, jams, and more! And if you think that healthy, organic food has to cost more, you'll find that the prices here are comparable to other "gourmet" restaurants that sell mostly pre-packaged, freeze-dried, reconstituted glop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great boutique for natural organic whole foodies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a bobsledder my diet is very important. So glad to have a place like this in a small town like Placid where I can find proper nutrition. They even support thenOlympic movement by offering us a discount!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Food and a Lifesaver (GF DF)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The soups were terrific as well as the main courses, smoothies, and cabbage slaw with chickpeas and curry. I ate the cabbage slaw so many times while we were there because it was so good! We ate here at least once a day for a week. We also had GF DF Banana Bread and Pumpkin Bread that was really delicious. Everything was wonderful! Thank you! This is a deli type restaurant within the Green Goddess Health Food Store.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Organically sourced, farm raised cafe items that make you go "yummmm"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was lucky enough to go to The Scape Cafe when they had their hot lunch entre ( every Tuesday and Friday , btw) and was blown away! Greek stuffed peppers topped with feta and peanuts were so delicious. Paired with freshly ground dark roasted coffee locally sourced, I was one happy camper. The one thing I wish they had was comfortable armchairs to sit in whilst enjoying my food. This concern was overshadowed by the friendly service and good food I received. I will be going back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atoxicremedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Healthiest, tastiest food anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We ate here TWICE during our week-long Lake Placid vacation. It's part of the Green Goddess health food store, so if you're in a hotel with a fridge, you can also stock up on healthy grocery items. It's .2 miles from Comfort Inn, so it's within walking distance of that hotel. NOTE: they were about to switch to winter hours, so I guess from September to the summer season, the deli closes at 3pm? It closed at 5pm when we were there in August.

These are the lovely things on the menu: juices, smoothies, sandwiches, wraps, salads, soups, and some breakfast items. I loved the green juice, the "Bloody good" beet juice, the Reuben sandwich, carrot soup, vegetable soup, burrito, and goddess salad.

The view is interesting; the outside seating is near a little stream with some nice greenery that grows around it. The stream kind of flows between parking lots, but it's very pleasant. The mountains are omnipresent on all sides, just not completely visible from every angle.

Don't even get me started on how great the service is here. These are some of the friendliest people we've ever met.

Just go, and enjoy the feeling of well-being after your meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nayacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Goddess' Food also viewed

 

Been to Green Goddess' Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing