We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ”
Review of Smoke Signals

Smoke Signals
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
734 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Tried the pulled pork, Mac n cheese, wings and coleslaw. Everything was good. Two sauces on table house and spicy, both also very good. Lemonade watery, not worth it. Great views of Mirror lake if you arrive early and get a table at back of restaurant. Nice decor. Staff was friendly and service fast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    257
    73
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Lake, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good food, not the best service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for dinner on a Monday. It was still early and not too busy when we got there. The hostess and waitress seemed flustered and a little lost but we were shown to a table fairly quickly. Our waitress came back about 5 minutes later to take our drink orders and not knowing when we'd see her again we decided to order food then too. The waitress stumbled over the specials, not knowing for sure what the fish was... No matter, we knew what we wanted. Wings to start. They were delicious. Smoked and dry rubbed before being deep fried, they were big meaty wings and loaded with flavor. Some of the best I've had in the area. Price was fair considering the size of the wings. Dinner followed after a reasonable wait, we weren't rushed and didn't sit too long. My wife had the pulled pork. Huge portion, 2 lunches worth of leftovers! I had the sampler: Brisket - perfectly cooked, juicy and tender, very flavorful. Ribs - fall off the bone tender, smokey, and a delicious habanero BBQ sauce! And pulled chicken - this was the low point. It was a kind of gummy cardboard tasting shredded mess. To me it tastes as if it had been sitting for a few days and was just warmed up when I ordered it. But 3 out of 4 meats were excellent so it's hard to complain too much. We both had the bacon mac and cheese as a side. It was good but not outstanding. Basically plain mac and cheese with a small handful of bacon thrown on top and tossed under a broiler. Nothing to really complain about, just could be a bit better IMHO.
Our waitress was very friendly and fairly attentive but just seemed sort of lost overall.
Good beer selection. What looked to be a great whiskey selection, (unfortunately I was too full after dinner to sample it! That's what the next trip is for!) and a great view round things out to make a very good restaurant. With the food and 3 draft beers, our bill was under $80. A decent bargain in a resort town if you ask me.
So we'll be going back. Hopefully waiststaff will be a bit more organized.

Helpful?
Thank Fritz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy! It's really worth to go here!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You have to order the Beef Brisket! Smoked with hickory for 14 hours and sliced to order! Absolutely awesome! I will never forget this dinner.
The location is perfect. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the high peaks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived around 8:30 and were seated immediately. Our waitress Marissa was very sweet and friendly. The cornbread was equally sweet and DELICIOUS. Two of us ordered the brisket, and the rest ordered the half chicken, goat cheese salad, and the pulled pork. All were delicious but the brisket was definitely the best. The garlic mashed potatoes were fresh and real. The whiskey was also just right. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Cindy”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent service and food. Had baby back ribs and they fell off the bones. Nice clean establishment. Good system for waiting list... You can walk around town and they Text you when your table is ready. Great place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smoke Signals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing