We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Placid Chocolatier

Lake Placid Chocolatier
Ranked #1 of 22 Shopping in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Artisan chocolates made in small batches using Belgian chocolate, the finest, freshest ingredients, and no preservatives. We offer a wide array of truffles, sea salt caramels, butter crunches, (including our infamous Tamarack Sea Salt Butter Crunch), barks, s'mores, homemade marshmallows, bars and other delight specialty confections. And we offer the best hot chocolate in town made with real dark Belgian chocolate and our own homemade marshmallows.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best places we went to in Placid. The s'mores were amazing - we fought over the last bite! Be sure to try the Carmel sea salts too... Best truffle I've ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steverH1367AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the generous review and compliments--it is greatly appreciated. And the S'more, along with our Whiteface Collection is one of our top-selling confections--you have great taste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive for run of the mill flavor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very cute- very pretty chocolate, however I didn't feel the chocolate was worth the price at all. Being a chocoholic, I've tried chocolate from all over the world and felt this fell short of expectations.

Helpful?
Thank longislandgirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for visiting our shop. It is unfortunate that our artisan chocolates did not match your taste profile. We handcraft our chocolates using Belgian chocolate, fresh cream and butter and all natural flavorings, such as infusing the cream with coffee beans for our Mocha Truffle. We do find your review a bit puzzling, as all of our other reviews on Trip Advisor, Yelp, Facebook and our own website are excellent. When in Lake Placid again, please stop in; I would love to chat with you in person about our chocolates. Cheers, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my favorite chocolate shop in the world. I have been to many in all parts of the world and what they do is perfection. The woman who owns it and makes the chocolate is so sweet and very helpful. There are tons of options for gifts. I love the little bird's nest chocolates that are so pretty you won't want to eat them! Yes, you need to eat them!!! Amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kbeckernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much! The Bird's Nest coconut truffle is my favorite next to the Dark & Stormy. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sweeten the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is such a fabulous unique shop in Lake Placid. Free sample of their high quality chocolate...and great variety. This is the adult chocolate shop. Kate is a great chocolatier...and John thanks for a great conversation

Helpful?
Thank enez2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Cute place. Smaller than I expected. We passed a few times waiting for it to be open. Staff was very friendly and knowledgable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angel824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Placid Chocolatier also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Lake Placid Chocolatier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing