We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent burger”

Black Bear Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Late night dining, Also take out.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great view of Mirror Lake and great friendly service. The Black Bear Burger was excellent. We will go back on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 110fred987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    121
    46
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited Lake Placid and stopped into the Black Bear based on the menu offerings. The wraps were very nice and well-priced. Very nice view of Mirror Lake. Melia, our server, was very polite. Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
2 reviews
“LakePlacid 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've visited this restaurant during past stays in Lake Placid and will continue to do so. The food is great!!!!! Great menu.....Large portions, you wont leave hungry. The staff is wonderful, especially the owners....Always friendly and accomodating. And, the view speaks for itself!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great view of Mirror Lake.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

New place in town since our last visit to Lake Placid. We sat by the window, great view of the lake. Food was okay, not great. Salads are just large pieces of lettuce, with not much in them. Bread was cold and supposed to be toasted. Steak was cooked to order, but they need to offer a smaller size. I was forced to order a 12 ounce steak and left half on my plate and was very pricey. The veggies that came with the meal were soggy and unappealing. For the price and what you get, the value is just not there. The wait staff is not very attentive. We will probably not visit again, many other choices that have better food and not as expensive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dszen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went here on Sunday night. The place had a lot of openings. Our waitress let us choose where we wanted to sit. We chose the spot by the window with the beautiful view on the lake. I ordered sea food platter. It came with a cod, and haddock fillet, scallops, shrimp, french fries, and a salad. The french fries and seafood were good. French fries big and crispy, fish was crispy, big crispy shrimp and scallops. The salad was okay. It had mostly lettuce with 2 slices of tomatoe, and onions. The tartar sauce came in a package. I didn't expect that from a place like this. My husband ordered Philly sandwich It was good.
While we were waiting for our order we were given 5 slices of really good, crispy bread. The service was really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Restaurant also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Black Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing