We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Awful”
Review of Cascade Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cascade Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We didn't stay at this Hotel but went to their restaurant. Tables were reserved 3 months ahead of time for a wedding reception. When we arrived, we waited in the Hall for at least 1 hour for our tables. We couldn't even get a drink in the bar. Ended up they were not in the dining area that had been reserved and we couldn't even sit at the same tables, when we shared our misfortune with the manager she was very very rude and refused to accommodate us and even threatened to kick us out if we complained!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would not recommend this place to my worst enemies.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank triptrip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2006

First the good: Only $50, the heat worked, the hot water worked, it was only 5 miles to downtown Lake Placid and there were no insects in the place.

Now...the bad...

The beds are extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom showers were very moldy, my girlfriend and I refused to shower in here. The heater is EXTREMELY NOISY, it kept us up all night. The inside of the motel room looks like it hasn't been changed since 1970.

and the worst.... I"m the thriftiest person on this planet, and even if this place was free, I would NEVER stay here again!!!

p.s. I've stayed at the High Peaks Hostel before for only $24/night, and I found myself craving that place!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank munnster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto
13
Reviewed 26 August 2005

My wife and I stayed here because we didn't want to go in to the touristy trap scene in Lake Placid - found it quiet and simple and very good price. The couple who run the place are exceptionally friendly and accomodating. Nice meal and friendly service. If you are looking for a quiet motel where you can back your vehicle right up to the room door, this is the place. Friendly to Canadians here too - felt welcomed.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island
13
Reviewed 17 July 2005

Since 1991 my family and I have been traveling from Long Island to Lake Placid and our vacation would not be complete if it were not for our stay at the Cascade Inn. Aside from the affordable rates, their rooms are clean and warm. There is also a restaurant on the premises and the food and atmosphere is amazing! We started vacationing there in Feb. during my childrens winter recess and we loved it so much that our friends now join us. One year we booked all of their motel rooms. The owners treat us like family and could not make our stay more comfortable or enjoyable. We now spend a week during the summer as well as the winter. If you are looking for a casual mountain retreat with all the comforts of home than I highly recommend the Cascade Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
15
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Recently we had the pleasure of again staying at the Cascade Inn Motel & Restaurant. We were on a Golf Package with fourteen other men and wanted to write a note on what a great time we have always had. It is family owned and operated and they make you feel just like a part of their family. The food is the greatest in the area and the price for the package can not be beat. The motel is not real modern but it is clean and has all the amenities one needs to have an enjoyable time. These people go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one and their staff is just as friendly and nice. They live on the property so I guess that's also a good feeling to know you can reach them at anytime day or night in case of any problems or questions. I would say that the greatest compliment our group can give them is to say that we have been staying there for ten years now and if there were any problems we would not keep returning. Thank you for allowing us this opportunity to thank them and let others know what a great place it is.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2005

Stayed here for half of 1 night in February 2005. This motel was the only place in all of Lake Placid that had available rooms and would give us just a 1-night reservation. The room rate was also very cheap which should have alerted us to the possibility of not even basic amenities and other discomforts. Upon arriving in our room late at night after attending a wedding, we found the room infested by dozens of live ladybug beetles (in February!). The wall heating unit was very noisy, as loud as a small generator or lawn mower. Add to these problems very old, very dated furnishings and decor and you have an intolerable sleeping environment, no matter how cheap the rate. Even the influence of alcohol wouldn't deaden the senses enough to stay here through a night.
There were no motel staff on duty or on call to help out at night so we packed up at 2AM, abandoned the room and drove the 2 hours back home.

9  Thank cheekie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernandLaval17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,345 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 32 in Lake Placid
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Motor Inn

Address: Cascade Road, Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lake Placid
Cascade Motel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing