We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families - exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We are returning from spending a week at the White Face Lodge and we had an exceptional experience. Service was everything you would expect from a resort at this price point. Rooms were large and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. And there is SO much for kids to do: a game room, a pool, an ice cream parlor, a bowling alley, a theater (which had a live magic show one night), and a kids camp. meanwhile, the daily breakfast buffet was great, and the two restaurants were really wonderful (tho pricey). Only downside: the workout room was a little small and you would find yourself waiting if you went at peak time (8-8:30). And, if you don't have kids, you may not find this very relaxing - it is very focused on families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We rented a 3 bedroom for five nights in late August. Apparently, a new property management firm recently took over the Whiteface, so presumably some of the kinks will be worked out once they run the place for a bit. My review is in the context expectations for a a Leading Hotel of the World property. If you're setting the expectation level that high, then flawless should be expected. Almost all was great, but some work is needed.

Our first impression of the staff was a bit odd. We called the hotel around 1:30 to see if could check-in early. Front-desk said they would call us when the room was ready as check-in time is 4:00 p.m. At 3:57 they called to say the room was now ready. Ok, well thanks for the extra 3 minutes. Issue was not the room not being ready (more on housekeeping in a second) but the communication of our room being ready. With 3 minutes until check-in, a call is almost comical. For a hotel trying for this class, perhaps an earlier call back with a "sorry, room will not be ready but feel free to use the facilities" would create a more favorable impression.

We booked later than anticipated, so the rooms with the better view were already gone. Understandable that someone needs to be at the end of the hall with a room that borders the main road, especially if they booked late. However, when my wife asked the person who showed us to our room if something with a better view was available the response we got was "all the rooms have the same view." Clearly, this isn't close to accurate and if it was, then she needs to look at their website.

There was an uneveness in the front-desk staff. Some, like the woman who showed us to our room didn't quite get it. My wife forgot her blackberry charger and asked a couple of times if they had one. On the 4th day we finally found someone who figured out that they have lots of different types of chargers in lost and found.

Room was very clean and given there is a lot to clean on a guest change-over, understandable it wasn't ready until 4. Housekeeping was a strong point. Room was kept really clean and we appreciated that the housekeepingh staff tolerated our making bit of a mess as we decided to cook dinner on 3 of our 5 nights. We didn't leave everything out for them, but they did put away the dishes and pots/pans that we had washed. Turndown service came at time that didn't intrude and the water by the beds is a nice touch.

Canoe Beach club is a real benefit for a summer visitor. We didn't do a lot of research on Lake Placid ahead of time. We could easily have been those people that didn't realize that a lot of the access to the lake is restricted with few open access points. The small beach stocked with canoes, kayaks, and powerboats that can be rented by the hour is great. The location on a small cove off the lake is really good for families as your kids can kayak/canoe in a small area before heading off into the lake proper. Staff at the boathouse was really great. We rented the boats three of the days and the drivers had a lot of fun with our kids on the tube. Hint, pay up for the jetboat if you want a better experience when on the rafts.

The good:
Rooms are very nice with really comfortable beds and bathroom facilities. Housekeeping did a nice job and small touches like the cookies and coffee in morning and afternoon are pleasant. Game room is great and we enjoyed the hour we had on the bowling alley. Beach club is a real highlight. Our kids loved nightly smores and my wife and I really liked having drinks in the

Needs improvement:
Shuttle and bell-desk area need some improvement. We took advantage of the free valet service the first two days, but after the 3rd day we just found it easier to self-park. Waited at one point twenty minutes for our car. The valet guys also handle the bags and drive the shuttles to/from the Lake club. Hit them at bad time - when several people are checking out and everyone else is trying to get to the beach and you may find there isn't anyone in the front for a good 10 or 15 minutes. Either the scheduler needs to be more cognizant of the number of check-outs on a given day or they need have a back-up driver for the shuttles at the ready.
Ice cream shop near the movie theater and game room serves great items. But, the guy working there looks like he could snap. Muttered to himself and became backed-up with more than a few people. They might consider adding a second person at the peak times from 6 to 9. Felt bad for the guy as he also worked the breakfast service and was harried there and missed the drink orders for our table. Seems like a long-day for him, but still you're serving little kids ice cream in a nice setting at a resort that costs quite a bit.
Management of the property might want to consider that staffing levels could be a bit better once they start to figure out when peak usage times are for different services.

Almost all was good and we would look to return. But, to really be worthy of being called "A Leading Hotel" some tweaks are needed to make service a bit tighter. Realize I'm nitpicking, but at $1,000 a night everything should be flawless.

Room Tip: Ask for interior courtyard facing room or room to the right as you're looking at the hotel from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewrpex87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Has 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units, more like condo than hotel rooms, with small kitchens and decks or screen porches. The units are attractively decorated and comfortable with high quality linens and toiletries. Cookies at turn down is a very nice treat. It is expensive and front desk staff not always all that helpful or accommodating. We have stayed here numerous times during different times of the year. There are many things to do for the kids, movies, bowling, indoor/outdoor pool, game room, etc. You should book your bowling reservation when you book your room or don't expect to get a time. They set s'mores out by the fire, which is a really nice touch, but get there early because they are usually not replenished. Valet service is included and generally efficient. Food in the restaurant is good, but it is very expensive. I guess what it lacks is the warm, personal service to make it excellent. Given the kitchen, it would be nice to have a little general store to buy food/drinks/snacks. We like it, we go back regularly, but a little tweaking would help make it feel like you were getting more of the Top Luxury Hotels experience vs staying in somebody's condo complex.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for a week, for a late-summer wedding. The wedding party had booked a large number of rooms, well in advance. Our room was quoted to us weeks in advance as "a 3-bedroom." The price was outrageous -- we could easily have stayed at the Ritz or Four Seasons in Maui for the same per-day price. But when we got there, it wasn't a 3-bedroom -- it was a 2 bedroom. When we complained, an incredibly rude desk attendant told us to have one kid sleep on the pull-out couch in the living room (thus, I guess, confining us adults to our bedroom every night after 8pm until after 8am the next morning). We said that would not work and asked for a larger room, but none was available. We asked for a roll-away cot, but the hotel doesn't provide them. We were given no solutions whatsoever, and had to go buy our own sleeping bag and gear at a local sporting goods store (at considerable expense) to fix the hotel's mispreresentation of the room. Had the wedding not been at the hotel, we would have simply left right then and gone elsewhere but that was not an option.

For $800 per night, and a large wedding party booking a block of rooms, you would have expected most of the luxuries usually associated with "Top Hotels of the World," right? Nope. They will not dry clean or launder clothes, any clothes, for example. The concierge was woefully unprepared to discuss where we might go hiking in the surrounding Adirondacks. We had a hard thunderstorm one afternoon, and the water came pouring in through the ceiling -- and the engineering staff's solution was to mop it up with our towels, and (I guess) leave the leak un-fixed. There is no ice machine, you have to call for Ice and then tip the person who brings it 45 minutes later, should you want ice. And there is no minibar -- at all. You may eat dinner in the (incredibly overpriced) restaurant, but ONLY if you have a reservation. If you show up, as we did, with kids in tow and there are lots of unoccupied tables TOO BAD -- no seat for you without a reservation, period.

The hotel offered us zero compensation or even remedy for any of this.

I travel all over the world. I stay in hotels about 100 nights a year. I rarely complain and I'm generally understanding. But I would never spend the money to stay in this place again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My family stayed at the Whiteface Lodge in August. We had a wonderful holiday and would certainly return to this hotel.

We had a three bedroom suite which was fantastic for the four of us. Two bedrooms were ensuite and there was a third bathroom. We had lots of room with a small kitchen and a dining room table as well as a sitting area and a lovely balcony. There was a washer / dryer in one of the bathrooms. Someone has really thought about what you need.

We travelled with two teenagers. Most people staying had much younger kids and the resort is perfect if you have smaller children. Our teenagers found the pool very small and planned to use the games room when the littlies were not around! The ice cream parlour is a great idea and the waiters there were really nice. Its a pity its down in the basement with no views and its only open 5 to 9; but we had wonderful icecreams each evening!

The staff were really nice and friendly. The concierge was really helpful. She made some excellent suggestions and this made our holiday a wonderful experience. We went for an all day boat cruise on the lakes, went to an exhibition at the Olympic Centre and saw an ice hockey match.

We really enjoyed our time at the Canoe Club. We went out on the kayaks and the paddle boat, the kids used the paddle boards and we hired a boat out for an hour trip around Lake Placid. We had a lovely time. Other reviews were very negative about the Canoe Club which made me reluctant to use it, but we had a lovely time. Its not beautiful, but it was good fun.

We ate a few times in the hotel and the food was good in particular we enjoyed the steaks. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. The food was great but the service varied depending on your server.

I used the Spa one day - I thought it was only ok. The "relaxing room" was just a couple of chairs and a couch - no dimmed lights and relaxing ambience. The massage was not great. I had to repeatedly tell the lady that she was pushing too hard! I would not go back to her.

Overall we had a wonderful time. I would love to go back and do more hiking and boating.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor in the main lodge which was excellent. Note you need to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great family resort in beautiful Lake Placid. A super place for a long weekend getaway. The warm chocolate chip cookies and house made granola is to die for! Different things to do at different times of year so plan accordingly. Went last winter and we had a terrific time. Rates can also vary so pay attention. Great staff, rooms, food, spa and hospitality! The downtown area of Lake Placid makes a great afternoon diversion as well. Check out the Olympic museum and training facilities still in use. See you at the Whiteface!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family stayed at Whiteface for four nights in a three-bedroom suite. The size of the suite was more than adequate for the eight of us, and the fantastic breakfast was included in our AAA rate, but otherwise we did not feel like we got much for our money. It is a landlocked hotel with a very small pool. In the summer there is little else to do on the property, and many things close up early (no more s'mores at 9pm?). The kids enjoyed the game room which is well-appointed. Down the road is the "Canoe Club" which you MUST take a hotel shuttle to and from. I wanted to go there directly from another off-property activity and was STERNLY told there was no guest parking and not to park on the street either! The club is an old rundown motel. Seriously. And perhaps the towels they offer there are original to the property? They offer various boating activities at steep prices. $185. for a one-hour tour in the antique Hacker-Craft which might explain why the availability was wide-open.
We ate at Kanu one evening and liked it very much- the room is beautiful but I agree with another review that it borders on Disney World. We ate another night at Artisans at the Lake Placid Lodge and it was in a different league entirely. Absolutely fantastic.
The biggest disappointment however was how unhelpful the concierge was regarding our sailboat. To make a long story short, we were completely on our own, and when we asked if we could keep a sixteen foot trailer on the property for TWO HOURS while the boat was sailed to the public launch we were told NO, there was no place on the property to keep it (well how about that huge paved area over near the tennis courts!?!). They also told us we shouldn't bring our bicycles because there really aren't any trails around!?! For a resort in an outdoor sporting destination they seem to be unwilling to accomodate the very things that guests travel there to do. I didn't dislike the lodge, they just didn't really give me a reason to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £217 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing