We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiteface Lodge not for Whiteface skiers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was under the impression that Whiteface Lodge was named after and had close ties with the Whiteface Ski Resort. That is not true. It is located at the opposite, almost outskirts of Lake Placid from the ski resort. There is no direct shuttle connection to Whiteface Ski Resort. The hotel DOES offer a shuttle to get into town, but not to the ski hill. Once in town, you have to take the municipal bus from ANOTHER hotel to get to the ski hill. Like many skiing families, not all of the members of the family like to ski at the same times for the same periods of time. At the end of the ski day, my son and I took the municipal bus, a 35 minute milk run, through e many hotels in town, only to be dropped off at another hotel, from which I phoned my wife to come and pick us up. I would expect a high end hotel, to either organize the municipal bus to come to the lodge or offer a shuttle, even a small van, that could bring you to and from the hill. For someone to come from the hotel (lodge) to the ski hill and back would take more than an hour of their time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. I understand where there could have been confusion with the word "Whiteface" in our resort name along with the ski area. With this said I assure all travelers nowhere on our site does it promote anything about being located next to the mountain. We do state clearly that we are a short 15 minute drive from the mountain. We are located in Lake Placid, the World Class Resort Destination that twice held the Winter Olympics, but what most people don't realize is there is no ski area in Lake Placid. Whiteface Mountain is located in an adjacent town called Wilmington, NY. The Ski Area is owned by the State of NY and on Adirondack leased property so there is no options for any ski in/ski/out access fo this mountain.
With all of this being clarified we do provide 365 days per year free SUV Car service for all of our guests to go anywhere in the Village of Lake Placid from 9AM-6PM daily. This includes shopping, many Olympic Venues, two lakes, Golfing and much more. In addition, although we do not suggest it due to the size of the loop the bus makes, there is a free Village run shuttle to and from the Ski Area Daily but it could take up to 45 minutes each way depending on the number of stops.
I hope this helps clarify the experience of the misinformed traveler and I will assure you none of this information came from our website. Our property offers what I believe to be the Best Resort Experience in the Adirondacks by far and we are a great place to come and ski from. We do offer room packages with lift tickets and the 15 minute drive each day is well worth it to stay at a World Class Resort and Village plus ski the East Coasts only Olympic Mountain!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Adirondack style hotel staffed with well trained people. From the valets, breakfast buffet to the cookies and water carafe at turndown, the staff perform with smiles.

We enjoyed the ice skating, game room and pool area.

The only downside is that some of the guests are rude and pushy, but that may come with the territory if you are spending $650 + per night.

Overall, one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank pakman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The Whiteface Lodge is a beautiful, luxurious mountain getaway for singles, families and couples. Each thoughtfully appointed suite overlooks the natural beauty of New York's Adirondacks, and the Lodge has been carefully designed to embrace its environs. Comfortable beds, a fireplace, and a compact and convenient kitchen make each suite a perfect home away from home. Luxury details like heated bathroom floors, jacuzzi jets in the tub and a spa encourage you to spoil yourself during breaks between all of the great outdoor activities and shopping Lake Placid has to offer.

The Whiteface Lodge would be an excellent destination for a wedding or corporate retreat as well, with quality food and world class accommodations.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not only does this resort deliver on its first class billing by greeting you with a gorgeous lobby and stunning lodge decor, the staff surpasses expectations by their friendly and attentive service. Our room was beautiful, the food delicious and the on-site amenities (all included in your stay) were far too numerous to utilize all of them in our 3 night stay. On premises there was ice skating, snowshoeing, indoor/outdoor pool, great game room and bowling alley, movies theater (3 movies daily with free popcorn), fitness room and spa. What really sets the resort apart from other "great" resorts is the staff. Unfortunately, my 3 year old son became quite ill with a stomach bug during our ride there. (Yes- yuck.) Anyway, after a day there we needed to seek medical attention and they immediately provided us with all information, directions, hours of operation for area urgent care facilities and hospital. Further, during the rest of our stay, the staff kept inquiring after my son and aided us in providing some off menu-bland foods. Even my 8 year old noted that "the people who work here really seem to care. They must only give jobs to really nice people." While the prices are high at this resort, the service and quality of the accommodations, amenities, and service make this resort well worth the price. While our stay was not exactly what we had hoped due to my son's illness, my daughter was able to experience many aspects of the resort and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellagirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It took only one stay at White Face Lodge for it to become part of our yearly trip to Lake Placid. We are avid hikers who long for a little luxury after a few days of backpacking in the Adirondacks. It may have been the generous room sizes, or the fantastic breakfast buffet. It could have been the spa, or the game room with bowling alley. Maybe it was the excellent customer service, or the relaxing ambiance. Whatever it was, we are hooked and plan on returning for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have been fortunate enough to go there for a week for the past few years in early December. Although I have now seen it many time....it TRULY takes my breath away when I drive into the enteranceway! Just glorious. About 30 trees....all lit with white lights. An enchanted forest.
But that is only the beginning! There are 2 trees...both reach 3 stories high and are sturdy/strong/big enough to hold REAL ice skates and snow shoes as decorations. (also mittens etc)
EVERYTHING you need is there.;...including a movie every night in a great theater where you can bring your own fresh popcorn (lots of butter, please) and a bottle of wine. Rarely is anyone there! Also s'mores every single night around a fire.......ice skating, bowling.........
Just trust me. It is not a cheap place....but thoroughly enjoyable! Staff is also great!

Room Tip: Both sides have glorious views! One side faces Whiteface...the other overlooks the courtyard....the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rascal1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

great facility, clean and comfortable. Not terribly busy during our 3 night stay in a one bedroom suite. large, clean room. good housekeeping service each day. Maria (front desk) and Brian (doorman) very good, solid staff.
skated on outdoor rink (excellent ice surface despite outdoor temp. of +45 f). games room is well equipped (bowling lanes unfortunately out of service).wonderful indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub.
full breakfast (above average) included in room rate. two meals we had in Khanue lounge were good, service was polite and professional.

Room Tip: get a room facing the inside court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £199 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing