We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Truly beautiful hotel in Lake Placid. The hotel is not actually on Whiteface Mountain, and you have to provide your own transportation to the ski resort. If you know that in advance, however, everything else about the resort is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. There is a fireplace in the living room and in the master bedroom. The master bedroom had a two person hot tub but the indoor outdoor pools and indoor outdoor hot tubs for the resort were delicious. They have free films every day, a game room, bowling alley, and free s'mores by the fireplace every afternoon. There is a small but nicely maintained ice skating rink. We only ate at the restaurant for one light dinner, but the food was quite good. I would clearly return.

Room Tip: If you think you're going to want to spend time in the swimming pool and hot tub, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendocubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This resort has it all!

Room: 1 bedroom king suite
It had a full kitchen with everything supplied to cook and eat, a Dining room and living room with fireplace And a QUEEN size sleeper sofa. There was a flat screen tv in living room and a door leading out to a balcony with beautiful views of the mountains.There is also a half bathroom by the kitchen. The main bathroom had a shower/ tub combo and a washer/ dryer too.
Everything was nicely decorated and CLEAN!!!! Housekeeping did a great job everyday and turn down service was nice.

Activities: everyday you receive an activity sheet which states everything from the weather to movies and restaurant information but it doesn't say much more.

Included Activities:
Ice- skating on property with both hockey and regular ice skates available no extra charge.
Sledding on property with sleds provided.
Snowshoeing on property trails with snowshoes provided.
Indoor and outdoor swimming with safety floatations provided.
We didn't get a chance to visit movie theater but they play 3 movies a day starting at 3:30pm with a G rated movie usually a cartoon and throughout the day a PG one and then at night a PG-13 movie.
At 3:30 free popcorn is provided by theater.
Bowling Alley is available just need to reserve with front desk to gain key access.

We had a wonderful time enjoying all these activities however I can definitely foresee at peak times most of the provided features like ice skates and sleds all gone. So if you visit at a busy time of the year, I would take that into consideration and bring your own.

A full Breakfast was included everyday since we booked directly through hotel.
Kanu Lodge food was fine. Menu is very limited.

Overall this is a great FAMILY resort. The only negative is service wasn't always up to par with at this price point. Everyone was nice and professional but nothing extra special that is expected with a luxury hotel. At check/in, we had questions about off property activities and the employee didn't have much knowledge about our inquiries and there was no one at the concierge desk to ask.
Maria, hotel manager, was very accommodating when we decided to extend our stay because of a snowstorm! And Jordan at the restaurant was great!

Off property activies:
Dog sledding at mirror lake
Toboggan slide at lake
Skiing and gondola ride at whiteface mountain- at least a 20 minute drive from resort

Off property restaurants:
The Cottage- good lunch
Interlaken inn pub- great dinner
Smoke signals- OK dinner
Lake placid pub- OK lunch
Lisa G- OK lunch

Stayed: March 2014
Thank viajeelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This place was a gem.

Pros:
1. The hotel room: The resort is very “log-cabinish”, and the interior is rustic with modern touches. There is wireless internet, flat screen TV’s with cable/satellite and movies for the kids. Heated bathroom floor tiles – a real treat. There was a gas fireplace, which put out a lot of heat and a great deck.
2. the work out facilities: are excellent. Very new equipment and excellent weights with mats, exercise balls, and other equipment, headphones, etc. Not sure about carpeting for a floor covering (sweat, etc), but very clean, smelled nice and modern. Probably the best hotel gy I've ever been at.
3. the hotel: Amazingly enough, it has a movie theater inside! Movies are shown 3x/day and popcorn is included - fairly modernish titles. The games room is quite good, with pool table, fooze ball, a selection of board games, ping pong, shuffle board, air hockey. Also amazingly, it has its own 10 pin bowling alley inside! You need reservations, but that was an excellent and fun feature. Kids loved it. There is a heated indoor pool that has a tunnel to the outside, and you can have your hair freeze while you are in a warm pool. There are 2 hot tubs outside that warm you up as you race from the pool to them, and back again. Watch it though – it can get icy and you could slip on the stairs. There are life jackets/flotation devices for kids and people that can’t swim well. The outdoor facilities of the hotel include its own outside skating rink, with free skates (hockey or figure skates), hot chocolate. And make s'mores by the fireplace - just the thing on a cold night.
4. the hotel staff: very friendly from the front staff, to the cleaning staff. The cleaning staff come 2x/day – the night shift turns down the bed and cleans the kitchen. They leave 2 monstrous chocolate chip cookies for your evening treat.
5. the town of Lake Placid: quaint, with 4000 popn. Not that much there to see or do but a good way to kill an afternoon. We found a few quaint shops but hey, it’s not NYC for shopping. That’s not what you’re here for.
6. Proximity to Canada: I am from Quebec, and this place is closer to me (2 hours) than the usual popular tourist areas, like Quebec City (3 hours). We booked during March break, and came for a 5 day stint M-Fr. The price was excellent, at ~$200/night.

The Cons:
1. the room tended to be very dry. We had to continuously boil water to combat the dry humidity.
2. there was a draft on one of the doors leading outside. Easily blocked, but detracts from the experience.
3. the bed room was very cold. We had to leave the door open to the living room to help heat it, which was not great as the kids slept earlier than the adults.

Neutral:
1. Apartment size kitchen appliances which were OK for our purposes, including washer/dryer, but I wouldn’t want to stay for longer than a week.

we booked on vrbo. Think we'll try to come back for the summer. Apparently they own their own beachfront property where you can go beach, canoe or paddling. Motorboats are for rental as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I'm not much of a winter girl, but this hotel makes me look forward to next year's ski season! It was gorgeous, comfortable, and in a perfect location. The bed was luxurious with multiple down pillows per person. There is so much to do in the vicinity of Lake Placid with a quaint town to shop in and just about every winter sport imaginable at your finger tips. Everything is a short driving distance away from this hotel. And when you return from your day on the slopes or in town, it's like returning home. We had a complimentary breakfast each day which was fabulous. My only complaint is that their one restaurant is pricey and does not have much "standard fare" for kids who are too old for the little kid menu. There are plenty of other restaurants in town to choose from though and this was made up for by the indoor/outdoor pools and spa, game room and ice cream parlor, movie theater and bowling (which was unfortunately not in service when we were there.) Staff was extremely accommodating. A must stay for families looking for a fantastic winter getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

There are many wonderful things about the Whiteface Lodge: the rooms are beautiful; the pool and hot tubs are great; there is a bowling alley and a movie theatre on site; the Kanu Lounge has a wonderful lounge singer Saturday nights; the food at Kanu is fantastic; they put delicious chocolate chip cookies in your room, etc.

There is one overriding bad thing about the Whiteface Lodge: the lack of hospitality. It was actually comical how bad it was. Three quick examples:

1. The website indicates, "guests also enjoy a full breakfast daily and full access to all of the resort amenities". We were therefore surprised when we were billed for breakfast. When we went to the front desk to clarify, we were told that since we did not book our room directly with the lodge, we were not entitled to breakfast, but if we could provide documentary proof that we were entitled to breakfast, we could have it. I pointed out that their own website indicates that breakfast is included, but was informed that is only for certain guests. Um, ok then. I guess we know where we stand in the Whiteface Lodge hierarchy (hint: somewhere below the stuffed racoon in reception). We were joking the rest of the weekend about what else we might not be entitled to.

2. When we asked the bellman for a luggage cart, he directed us outside (in the freezing cold) to get one ourselves. I guess bell services aren't included in our room rate either...

3. There was a complimentary coffee bar set up outside the breakfast restaurant. We went in, had breakfast, (which was delicious), and on the way out my husband wanted a coffee to go, but they were taking down the coffee bar. Rather than just pour him one, from the dregs of the until 2 minutes ago complimentary coffee bar, we were told we could buy a coffee downstairs. Super. At this point I thought we might be being punked, but no, this is just how they treat the paying guests.

So overall, we feel that certain staff at the hotel have no idea that what makes a wonderful property a great vacation destination is the hospitality shown to guests. We don't spend hundreds of dollars a night so we can stay at an otherwise beautiful resort where we are made to feel like second class citizens and a nuisance. In the end, we couldn't wait to leave, although we now have another funny story for cocktail parties. Silver lining.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank ChloeJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Whiteface Lodge provided an amazing winter retreat for our family of three. The Superior one-bedroom suite was more than adequate with a well appointed kitchenette, one and a half baths, and a toasty fire by which to sip a glass of wine! There was something for everyone to do without even needing to leave the lodge from ice skating to the game room (complete with bowling alleys) to the movie theater to the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs to the spa. Enjoying the apres ski special in the lounge by the fire was perfect for late afternoon unwinding. Service was superb with daily room servicing, ice service, and turn-down complete with a quick clean-up and leaving behind chocolate chip cookies for a bedtime treat. The one area for improvement we noted was the breakfast which we found over-priced with mediocre food, but that won't keep us from coming back. We're ready to book again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyBurlingtonVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel claims the junior suite is: A luxuriously appointed one-room studio measuring approximately 500 square feet. Ideal for a family of four or a couple, this guest room features a Queen bed, a Queen sleeper sofa and a large bathroom with a jetted tub / shower combination. This is NOT true. We arrived with 3 people with a reservation for a junior suite and were given a Queen bed and a sofa (not a sleeper)! Then the manager haggled us, throwing numbers at us to prove how expensive the room was "on the market" and how much of a rate cut we were getting as guests of a wedding. It was tact-less. Only after going in person to the front desk and speaking to one of the (really nice) women at the front desk did they relent (there were people around us I suppose). Be careful as the hotel does not offer roll-away beds and will not upgrade you without a fee. For the rate and the honor of being a "Leading Hotel of the World" they should know better than to falsely advertise. The breakfast is also a disappointment - the breakfast space is very elegant and waiters bring juice/coffee but the food selection is poor. For the price of the hotel there should be an omelet station (and not buffet style eggs that get cold before you get to the table) and cold cereal and bagels. Stay at Mirror Lake Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aggierp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for the feedback. I assure you that this is not the norm or an intended false advertising ploy. First I would like to apologize once again for the miscommunication and I enjoyed speaking with you during your stay. I hope the wedding you attended you enjoyed as much as the Bride and Groom who said we went beyond their highest expectations and that their guests were “Blown away by the service and luxury they experienced”. The fact is we have only 10 Junior Suites (out of the 94 total Suites in our resort) and 3 of them do not feature a sleep sofa, just a Love Seat sofa in front of the fireplace and TV. At the time of booking this is always indicated if it is one of those three Junior Suites that truly only sleeps 2 comfortably. We have taken this opportunity to realize human error in communication is always possible and although the booking agent may/should have indicated this to you. Either way the description online does not indicate the 3 exceptions and with this brought to light, It will now!
Thank you again and we hope after the complimentary upgrade to a Suite with nearly 900 sq. ft. and two full baths was provided was a satisfactory tory guest service solution, once you indicated that the our offer to split the nightly rate upgrade was not acceptable. The Whiteface Lodge is the only all-suite hotel in Lake Placid and we provide a spectacular array of amenities for our guests including a Grand Breakfast buffet daily, with all regular room bookings, that is extremely well received by the vast majority of our guests.
Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £203 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing