We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Guaranteed Winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Guaranteed Winner”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Whiteface Lodge is a gem. We fell in love the minute that we walked into the adirondack camp style lodge. One floor up is an incredible dining room with floor to ceiling windows that overlook Whiteface Mountain. The lodge has a wide array of activities for both families and couples. We have vacationed here in both summer and winter. With plenty of olympic activities to experience in the Lake Placid region, it is a difficult decision to either stay in the comfy lodge, or to go out and explore.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the courtyard and mountains beyond...highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRMMRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    128
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
461
430
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Overall a really nice hotel - great staff and well run. Only had very minor issues with customer service that really didn't affect the overall experience too badly. From the first contact with the valet/doorman to check-in and all interactions (save one) were excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

We had a large family gathering (10+) with lots of kids and 4 adults. We decided to rent the 3-bedroom suite instead of 3 separate rooms. The suite was large enough to accommodate with some creative sleeping arrangement (the kids all slept in the master bedroom - which is huge). With two other beds and a pullout these suites can easily accommodate. There is an 8-person limit for the purposes of the breakfast - but honestly buy a dozen eggs and some bacon and toast and you'll further ahead.

The pool is nice albeit small indoor and larger heated outdoor. For my old bones it was a bit chilly but there are two hot tubs (one in one out) if you get too cold. A sauna would be a nice addition for sure.

My only complaint, and the reason for a 4 rating, was the breakfast was really just OK and we got some minor hassle for having more than 8 people. The hotel didn't charge us extra but the real annoyance was that after seeing 7 kids under 12 eat like mice they decided to make an issue of it at all - when at check-in we listed all the people staying in the room without any comment. A better approach would be to either discuss it with me when I checked in - or not say anything at all. A small spoiler for an otherwise very nice stay. Kids would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom suite rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Clean large rooms. Lots to do at hotel. Movies,stating,gym,snowshoeing even bowl. Rooms are equipped with fireplace. We only stayed one night and did not have supper in restaurant .however breakfast was good. The prices are steep but worth it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is really an incredible resort to be at in the winter! We had a King Premier room on the first floor (which is NOT a drawback...walking out from your patio a few steps to the heated pool instead of taking an elevator or tunnel), and it was the most rustic romantic room ever! Pillows galore, robes, slippers, a jacuzzi tub in the room, turndown service, and nightly cookies on the nightstand. Our only complaint.....ice. or lack of. They give you a nice filled bucket when you check in, but that's it. No ice machines to be found, no ice trays in the freezer. Nada. It took three phone calls and 45 minutes to get a bucket of ice for our beverages. That is simply not acceptable at $400+ a night. Although the apology was accepted when we finally did get some, it speaks volumes about guest services....

The positives include, of course, a spectacular resort, completely decked out to meet your rustic yet luxurious needs. A nicely heated indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, a decent ice rink with a great assortment of skates, hockey sticks, nets, etc., smores around a bonfire in the evening, tons of activities if you have kids (we didn't, but noticed how the children were catered to nicely), a good (not great, but very good) daily breakfast that was included in our rate. Although we did not eat dinner at the resort, the menu did look promising.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a large patio with furniture, and you can access the grounds, pool and clubho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEzq65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Truly beautiful hotel in Lake Placid. The hotel is not actually on Whiteface Mountain, and you have to provide your own transportation to the ski resort. If you know that in advance, however, everything else about the resort is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. There is a fireplace in the living room and in the master bedroom. The master bedroom had a two person hot tub but the indoor outdoor pools and indoor outdoor hot tubs for the resort were delicious. They have free films every day, a game room, bowling alley, and free s'mores by the fireplace every afternoon. There is a small but nicely maintained ice skating rink. We only ate at the restaurant for one light dinner, but the food was quite good. I would clearly return.

Room Tip: If you think you're going to want to spend time in the swimming pool and hot tub, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendocubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This resort has it all!

Room: 1 bedroom king suite
It had a full kitchen with everything supplied to cook and eat, a Dining room and living room with fireplace And a QUEEN size sleeper sofa. There was a flat screen tv in living room and a door leading out to a balcony with beautiful views of the mountains.There is also a half bathroom by the kitchen. The main bathroom had a shower/ tub combo and a washer/ dryer too.
Everything was nicely decorated and CLEAN!!!! Housekeeping did a great job everyday and turn down service was nice.

Activities: everyday you receive an activity sheet which states everything from the weather to movies and restaurant information but it doesn't say much more.

Included Activities:
Ice- skating on property with both hockey and regular ice skates available no extra charge.
Sledding on property with sleds provided.
Snowshoeing on property trails with snowshoes provided.
Indoor and outdoor swimming with safety floatations provided.
We didn't get a chance to visit movie theater but they play 3 movies a day starting at 3:30pm with a G rated movie usually a cartoon and throughout the day a PG one and then at night a PG-13 movie.
At 3:30 free popcorn is provided by theater.
Bowling Alley is available just need to reserve with front desk to gain key access.

We had a wonderful time enjoying all these activities however I can definitely foresee at peak times most of the provided features like ice skates and sleds all gone. So if you visit at a busy time of the year, I would take that into consideration and bring your own.

A full Breakfast was included everyday since we booked directly through hotel.
Kanu Lodge food was fine. Menu is very limited.

Overall this is a great FAMILY resort. The only negative is service wasn't always up to par with at this price point. Everyone was nice and professional but nothing extra special that is expected with a luxury hotel. At check/in, we had questions about off property activities and the employee didn't have much knowledge about our inquiries and there was no one at the concierge desk to ask.
Maria, hotel manager, was very accommodating when we decided to extend our stay because of a snowstorm! And Jordan at the restaurant was great!

Off property activies:
Dog sledding at mirror lake
Toboggan slide at lake
Skiing and gondola ride at whiteface mountain- at least a 20 minute drive from resort

Off property restaurants:
The Cottage- good lunch
Interlaken inn pub- great dinner
Smoke signals- OK dinner
Lake placid pub- OK lunch
Lisa G- OK lunch

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank viajeelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
477 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This place was a gem.

Pros:
1. The hotel room: The resort is very “log-cabinish”, and the interior is rustic with modern touches. There is wireless internet, flat screen TV’s with cable/satellite and movies for the kids. Heated bathroom floor tiles – a real treat. There was a gas fireplace, which put out a lot of heat and a great deck.
2. the work out facilities: are excellent. Very new equipment and excellent weights with mats, exercise balls, and other equipment, headphones, etc. Not sure about carpeting for a floor covering (sweat, etc), but very clean, smelled nice and modern. Probably the best hotel gy I've ever been at.
3. the hotel: Amazingly enough, it has a movie theater inside! Movies are shown 3x/day and popcorn is included - fairly modernish titles. The games room is quite good, with pool table, fooze ball, a selection of board games, ping pong, shuffle board, air hockey. Also amazingly, it has its own 10 pin bowling alley inside! You need reservations, but that was an excellent and fun feature. Kids loved it. There is a heated indoor pool that has a tunnel to the outside, and you can have your hair freeze while you are in a warm pool. There are 2 hot tubs outside that warm you up as you race from the pool to them, and back again. Watch it though – it can get icy and you could slip on the stairs. There are life jackets/flotation devices for kids and people that can’t swim well. The outdoor facilities of the hotel include its own outside skating rink, with free skates (hockey or figure skates), hot chocolate. And make s'mores by the fireplace - just the thing on a cold night.
4. the hotel staff: very friendly from the front staff, to the cleaning staff. The cleaning staff come 2x/day – the night shift turns down the bed and cleans the kitchen. They leave 2 monstrous chocolate chip cookies for your evening treat.
5. the town of Lake Placid: quaint, with 4000 popn. Not that much there to see or do but a good way to kill an afternoon. We found a few quaint shops but hey, it’s not NYC for shopping. That’s not what you’re here for.
6. Proximity to Canada: I am from Quebec, and this place is closer to me (2 hours) than the usual popular tourist areas, like Quebec City (3 hours). We booked during March break, and came for a 5 day stint M-Fr. The price was excellent, at ~$200/night.

The Cons:
1. the room tended to be very dry. We had to continuously boil water to combat the dry humidity.
2. there was a draft on one of the doors leading outside. Easily blocked, but detracts from the experience.
3. the bed room was very cold. We had to leave the door open to the living room to help heat it, which was not great as the kids slept earlier than the adults.

Neutral:
1. Apartment size kitchen appliances which were OK for our purposes, including washer/dryer, but I wouldn’t want to stay for longer than a week.

we booked on vrbo. Think we'll try to come back for the summer. Apparently they own their own beachfront property where you can go beach, canoe or paddling. Motorboats are for rental as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing