We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Class with Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Class with Comfort”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Whiteface Lodge genuinely exceeded all my expectations. The layout of the lodge, the exquisite service, the amenities all wrapped up to an extraordinary stay. I found the staff to be professional and helpful, going that extra mile. Let's not forget we had 3 drama queen tween girls, yet the staff remained courteous throughout our stay.
The amenities were abundant; chocolate chip cookies, s'mores, movies, games, the indoor-outdoor pool - which wasn't huge albeit configured wisely. It just worked. The restaurant was comfortable with an abundant breakfast buffet. The rooms are clean, clean, clean. The heated floor in the bathroom was a nice added touch.
There is a shuttle to take you to their private beach. The summer hosts a kids' club. The grounds are lovely to walk. DVDs for the kids.
This lodge has quite the rustic feel to it with many coves for sitting in comfortable chairs.
A memory not to be forgotten.

Room Tip: The restaurant is on the second floor. It is not noisy. The girls really enjoyed going to breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIFoodie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    130
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
479
437
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Been visiting the Lodge since it's opening... it's always been a complete pleasure for the family. From when the kids were toddlers to today, pre-teens. The staff is very pleasant and professional. The lakeside offsite-property allows any guest to enjoy all sorts of water activities. We have thoroughly enjoyed our visits whether in summer or winter. The hotel itself has been built with passion and it shows in the details everywhere. There has been a few years following financial problems when we wondered where everything was going but in the last two years, we have been as satisfied as we were at the beginning. Just like anywhere else, bring your best smile and you will be treated with human warmth.

Room Tip: There is more light coming in throughout the day when your room is located on the inner part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank André L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, NY USA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

First time visitor to Lake Placid and this resort. First class all the way, stayed in a two bedroom suite, spacious and comfortable. Words cannot describe all the amenities provided, you will be amazed and pleased. Highly competent and professional staff. I' ll be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank maxwelldrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings-on-Hudson, NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Whiteface Lodge is one of the most stunningly beautiful properties ever. So why did I give it a four rather than a five star review? Senior management does not focus on the customer experience--and with just a little effort this place could be fantastic. Don't get me wrong-the staff are pleasant and friendly-as long as you stick to their script. Simple requests, such as for hypo-allergenic bedding and repeated calls from the road for a one hour early check-in were muffed. Ditto for a broken kitchen faucet that sprayed water in my face and a 15-month toddler allowed to be in the jacuzzi!! That aside, the rooms are spectacular if you love the Adirondack look-pine bark, pine cones, and outdoorsy stuff. The spa, movie theater, and indoor/outdoor pool are lovely, as is the private beach. Two places not to miss-Paradox Lodge for an incredible meal and the Wild Center for a wonderful environmental education experience.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpiturro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawling, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful hotel very clean. Staff goes above to make you happy. I stayed in 3 bedroom it was the best. Pool area was very nice. Can't wait to go back. Chris met me at my car and escorted me to check in,then took me to my room. The staff made you feel like family. I wish I could remember all the names. Took a shuttle to the canoe club and went out in a peddle boat. Loved the nightly smores. So much to do. Great views out our windows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattie403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughter got married at the Canoe Club (private beach owned by the Whiteface Lodge). Experience was perfect as she wanted a nontraditional experience in a gorgeous setting. After the ceremony, kids played in the sand and adults changed into jeans and played volleyball, croquet, horseshoes, etc. Lodge provided a BBQ buffet. Ended the evening with a marshmallow roast in their fire pit.

Lodge rooms are magnificent! Even nicer than the pictures!

Lodge has great facilities including an indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs and a game room with full-size bowling, ping pong, pool, air hockey and more. It rained for two of the days we were in Lake Placid and no one was bored as spent the entire time on the Lodge property.

Note that this property is NOT in the main part of town. Must take a shuttle or walk to both town and the Canoe Club.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in a 1-bedroom suite. Offered plenty of room for other family members to vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelerOhYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanoka Harbor, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I chose the Lake Placid area for a spontaneous getaway. The Whiteface Lodge looked perfect and it was! From the moment we arrived, when Ian warmly welcomed us, whisked our luggage to our room and valet parked our car, we felt totally cared for as welcome guests of this beautiful resort. Our accommodations on the second floor were spacious, comfortable and spotless. The bathroom had double sinks, a walk-in shower, a jetted tub and lots of towels. The private porch was delightful. The breakfast in their restaurant Kanu is very good and dinner there is excellent; however, the lounge/lunch menu is a bit weak. Our 3 night stay was too short and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing