We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“So much fun for families!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Whiteface Lodge for a week in August of 2014 and loved it!

The hotel has so many amenities -- indoor/outdoor pool, tennis, spa, game room, private beach with free water sports, bowling alley (!), movie theater, free kids camp, playground, etc -- that you will always have something to do, rain or shine, 90F degrees or 20 below.

A special highlight for our family (esp my 3 yr old daughter) was the nightly camp fire with smores -- what a fantastic treat and perfect for Adirondack star gazing!

We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was comfortable and came with an electric fireplace and a kitchen fairly well stocked with dishes and utensils. The room faced the pool and was absolutely lovely!

The reason I'm not giving this hotel 5 stars is because of somewhat spotty maid service (which should be better at these rates) and also because of the restaurant. Breakfast was included in our room but we actually opted to eat our own food in our room several mornings because it wasn't good at all -- oversalted/overpeppered potatoes, questionable eggs, crappy white bread repeated every day. It could and should be better than this. We also ate 2 other meals at the restaurant and found the food to be pretty bad (and pricey). One tragic dish included corn risotto with actually popcorn sprinkled on it!

Basically, this is an amazing, very special hotel that I will definitely be coming back to, but just plan on eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
We are glad you found the Lodge to be the Perfect Getaway for your family. Hopefully we will see you again soon for a winter family escape, some say there is even more to do for family fun then. Although most of our guests truly enjoy the elaborate complimentary breakfast buffet we offer I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. We look forward to having you back and greatly improving your experience with our food and beverage program next time.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    130
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
479
437
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wayne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would normally never pay the steep rates and stay at a hotel like this, but my husband surprised me for my birthday. When you walk up the front walkway into the hotel, the feel is just spectacular. The rustic décor in the lobby, rooms, restaurant is amazing. The front desk staff is very helpful and nice--although I would expect no less, given the pricey rooms here. Even the bathroom in my hotel room had a heated floor and fabulous Jacuzzi tub.
The pool is very nice, although we did not use it. It is separate from the rest of the lodge, which probably would not be great in the winter.
We wanted to use the boating equipment, so we were shuttled to the Canoe Club down the road in order to use the lake and boats. The trip there was fine, but we waited over a half hour to be picked up. We didn't realize that these activities they offer are not actually on the property.
We went to the Kanu Lounge for lunch, and the buffet breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast, which was included, was fantastic. The buffet was fresh and delicious, and the atmosphere of the restaurant is amazing. The lunch was not so great. They only offer a few things. I ordered a burger which was so undercooked, that it was inedible and they didn't charge me. I think when you are paying prices like this, an undercooked burger just shouldn't happen. (I think the burger was about $20.)
All in all, Lake Placid is an amazing place to visit. There are lots of things to do there, although not so much at the Lodge. Although it certainly impressed me with it's Adirondack décor, I think for the rates they charge, it should be more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supererrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello,
We are thrilled that you found almost everything great throughout the resort. The feedback you provided is appreciated and the few areas we did not meet expectations I assure you is not the norm. The August rates are the highest and the resort is the busiest but I am proud that overall we were able to deliver a great vacation and look forward to your return.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lodge. After a long drive, we were pleasantly surprised our room was ready for an early check-in, which allowed us to freshen up and use the pool for the remainder of the afternoon. Frontline, housekeeping and valet staff were first-rate.

We had a one bedroom with a king bed, and our kids slept on the large pullout. The room was very spacious for the 4 of us, and we had a mountain view. We used the kitchen, and little touches, such as a small bottle of dish detergent and some packets of dishwasher detergent were very much appreciated. We've stayed in other places with kitchens that do not provide these.

Housekeeping came twice a day, so we always had fresh towels, and great home-made chocolate chip cookies! We ate in our kitchen for a few meals, and went into town for others. One night we ate at Kanu, which was just okay, not great really and too pricey for what you get. Food at breakfast was plentiful, but staff had to be reminded to replenish items, and one day, a platter of French Toast was pretty much all burnt. How that left the kitchen I'll never know. Breakfast service was spotty, certainly not 5-star.

The lodge is spectacular, we really loved the rustic look. Pool is small for a resort of this size, but fun, and the kids loved the smores each night. One night there was an influx of families who let their kids run wild in the games and movie theatre area, while parents were drinking in the bistro. We were not impressed.

The free shuttle into town and to the Canoe Club is great, but don't expect a large beach at the Canoe Club. We enjoyed the paddle boats, but the swim area is too close to a private marina for my liking [fuel leaks, ick]. The lodge location just outside the town area was peaceful and away from the touristy hustle and bustle.

We ventured up the Veterans' Highway to the top of Whiteface Mountain, and did the walking trails at the Gorge. There are plenty of activities to do in Lake Placid, not just at the lodge, so we really enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a second-floor room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,
We are glad to hear you were able to do may of the great area attractions and activities at the Lodge during your recent stay! The Lodge, as you discovered, is unique to the Adirondacks as the only all suite Resort and with that your vacations residences are fully stocked with everything you would get at a private home and more. Thank you for the kind review, we hope to see you again soon at the Lodge!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The resort is nestled in the Mountains, a little more than a mile from the main 'strip' in Lake Placid, and spares no attention to detail visually in creating a wonderful Adirondack retreat. The employees are pleasant, and the maid service is unparalleled. All that aside I believe there is a difference between being a 5 star resort (think Ritz Carlton service), and a charming getaway in the woods. By looking at the room fees at checkout there is no distinction here at all, and perhaps that is what leaves you wanting more.

It would be fulfilling to have your breakfast buffet drink order performed correctly just once, or to get more than a few scraps of romaine lettuce in $19 Chicken Caesar Salad, and lastly if you have a kids club until 330PM, why would you ask that our child be picked at 130 as there are no other kids there? These are just a few instances of many we experienced in a 5 day stay of things falling short of what they should be..

Hospitality is not just creating a lovely surrounding with nice people for nearly $700 a night. It is the entire experience, and while this resort is charming, its potential to be so much more is what's disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,
We appreciate your feedback and are very glad it sounds like overall you really enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to create a unique luxury mountain getaway experience and so in the areas where we didn't meet your expectations, based on the price we charge, we apologize. I assure you that despite August being the busiest and therefore highest priced month of the year in Lake Placid our goal is to deliver such a value packed and luxurious guest experience that you leave looking forward to you next visit! We hope you will visit us again and I am confident when you do the experience will not just meet but exceed your expectations!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoharie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have vacationed here three times and each time the stay has been wonderful. I never want to leave the resort. I am so sad I want to cry! They have plenty of amenties to make the stay luxurious, peaceful and pampered. But at the same time it is completely kid friendly. We have stayed in the summer and winter and times my two teenage boys have never had a minute of boredom. The activities staff are attentive and enjoy working with the kids. It is four seasoned so no mattered how awful the upstate New York weather is there is plenty to do. We had friends from South Caroliina join us in July and they are already planning on comming back up in January! It is hard to sum up how much we enjoy coming to Whiteface other than to say we can think of one complaint!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for the gracious words! It is truly and honor to run a resort that can make its guests feel this much of an emotional attachment and loyalty to the resort and its team. We very much look forward to your 4th visit and more.
Enjoy the last days of summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great for the whole family. We stayed for 2 nights for rugby weekend with our five children and will be rebooking for next year. Stayed in a 3 bed 3 bath and plenty of room for the 7 of us. Kids had plenty to do including free s'mores, tennis, movie, bowling, fishing, cookies. Pool and hot tubs, sauna,steam great for adults as well as kids. A bit pricey and food that we had was not great for the price, but overall we are going back. Staff very attentive.
Love it!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell looks like all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,
Everything you listed is what makes the Whiteface Lodge so special, it is the people, the spacious and comfortable Suites and of course the incredible list of amenities to enjoy! I hope Rugby weekend went well and any time of year Lake Placid has so much going on and we would love to host your whole family again soon!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I recently completed our latest stay at the WFL this last June. For the first time, we decided to upgrade to a two bedroom unit and it was amazing. The sheer size of the suite made it extremely comfortable for our family of four. As always, what this property offers its guests is second to none including a wonderful indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, tennis court, movie theatre, game room including an actual two lane bowling alley as well as access to a small private beach on the lake.

Usually we stay for two nights but this time we decided to extend our stay for three nights which made us appreciate the lodge and the amenities that much more. We look forward to returning in the fall for foliage season!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello,
We may want to use that "A lodge like no other", really those words sum up what we try to convey in our many marketing efforts and website! The larger suites really are worth it in my opinion for families or groups of adults because the stay is more like a vacation home except there are endless amenities without ever leaving the building! Glad to hear the getaway was amazing and you extended.
Look forward to hosting you again during foliage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing