We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
1,049
149
51
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,049
149
51
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleymovie theaterthe indoor outdoor poolkanu restaurantkanu loungebedroom suitethe ice cream parlorfull kitchenwasher dryergames roomturn down servicevalet servicekamp kanutwo lanefree popcornheated floorscookies
Filter
Updating list...
1,136 - 1,141 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

From the moment you pull up to the valet and walk into the main area of the grand lodge, you instantly know you are somewhere special. What can I say...everything here was fantastic. Yes, it may be pricey but you do get what you pay for. Every suite has a kitchen, bathroom, many with two, and anything else you could ask for. Grounds, swimming pool, restaurant, rooms were all perfect! Nightly turn down service and morning service always came with an added surprise (fresh Granola for the day, cookies for after dinner, bedside water). Staff was super friendly and helpful. Great view of Whiteface mountain.

If you are looking for a special place to take that someone special, put this on your list!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingDad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This Whiteface Lodge is beautiful and the amenities are amazing. I would absolutely recommend the Lodge to any couples looking for a getaway. Relax by the fireplace in your bedroom or take in views from your private deck. We are going back for Valentine's Day!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEK423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This place is the real deal. They leave no detail unattended. If you want to experience a luxurious, great lodge setting, this is it in new york. Unbelievable. The service from top to bottom is incredible and the suites are in the top 3 rooms of any hotel we know. But, again, this is in the style of the great lodges and we love that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAL94105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My son was married 9/18/10 - We arrived 9/15 and immediately felt relaxed and at home. Our unit a 3 bedroom, 3 bath suite had a spectacular view and was wonderful in every way. We hosted the Rehearsal Dinner at the Lodge, the food. service and atmosphere could not have been better! We found out the night before the wedding that the person the bride had contracted with to drive them in a Chris Craft boat to the reception had decided not to do it. We were sitting at the bar and Lynn, the bartender overheard, immediately said not to worry they would take care of it and the Whiteface Lodge staff arranged to use their boat and provided a driver. They could not have been nicer and eliminated what was sure to be a stressful situation. No matter where we were in the Lodge we felt relaxed and at home. The Bridal suite for hair and make-up was fantastic even including a person standing there ready to meet our every need! We loved the free bowling, movie theater, bonfires. smore stations - I can't say enough. The majority of our family is in the hospitality industry and tend to be a bit critical, but there was no criticism heard! Thank you everyone at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nld732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

While the resort is beautiful it is not the most accomodating place to have a wedding. From the minute I signed the contract to the day of the wedding things were a fiasco. They never set aside the room block, despite 20 emails they never made the bridal party spa reservations, they cancelled multiple guest reservations including mine 3 times, the quality of the spa services was AWFUL, the spa day luncheon had no silverware, no glasses, no wine opener for the wine, not enough plates & only 1/2 the amount of food ordered and on and on. 3 guest had to switch rooms bc of broken glass, broken furniture and a non-functioning shower. The worst part of the experience was the wedding/catering manager. All I can say is that she was extremely difficult to work with, unknowledgeable and down right unprofessional at times. I had a wonderful wedding but it involved lots of arguments, multiple passive aggressive emails from the wedding planner, getting the general manager involved & hiring an outside wedding planner. To top if off on the day of the wedding the wedding planner just decided not to have 1 of the chef stations that was included in the package & not serve the horderves we ordered and paid additional for. Dinner took almost 3 hours to serve & at least 10 guests said their meals were inedible. And we purchased the most expensive package. The experience was unfortunate given how beautiful the resort it is.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank ckm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfl, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

We stand by our reputation and successful hosting of over 30 weddings/receptions per year. We do admit to a few miscues during this wedding weekend, but not to the magnitude described. Appropriate follow-up actions were made with the new bride.
Additionally, we have changed sales personnel and management of our spa. The Whiteface Lodge is a wonderful destination for a wedding, reception or other special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews