We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We visited the White Face Lodge last weekend. My family loved swimming and sitting in the hot tub under the snow and stars. The outdoor skating rink is also a unique and pleasant surprise. The dining experience was fabulous. The staff was extremely accomodating and did everything to make our stay comfortable and special.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDunnsLewistonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were with two other families and we had a total of 6 kids with our group and this lodge was perfect for all. From the staff to the cleanliness this resort exceeded our expectations. Loved the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. The kids activities were perfect from the game room to the movie theatre. The food was outstanding in the restaurant and we even got to meet the General Manager of the resort. We felt very special and would definately return here very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW_Awesomeboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Whiteface Lodge was a fabulous hotel to stay in. From the moment you drive up, you are greeted my a valet representative and immediately, they remove your luggage from your car and take it to your room, even before Check in. The team members are friendly, curteous and helpful. The lodge itself is beautiful and the rooms are nice with their fabulous upgrades and endless amenities. You are treated like gold! We had a studio suite, which had a full kitchen, dining area, fireplace, sofa and t.v area and a queen size bed over looking the snow and woods area, You have your own little patio which they shovel walkways for you if you decide to venture out the room. The bathroom tile floors are heated with only the best quality Toto toilets, granite counter tops and a huge jacuzzi tub. There is also a condo size washer/dryer in the suite.I was so impressed with this room, that we barely left, only to ski of course. We were able to make our own meals and enjoy the room in the robes they provide in the rooms. They come around with ice for your ice bucket that sits in a rustic looking wooden box on your table and not to mention the turn down service they provide. We did not have time to take advantage of the games room, indoor/outdoor pool or hot tub, but there was plenty to do if you found yourself bored. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

I booked a trip to the Whiteface Lodge for my girlfriend and I because I had always wanted to spend a few days in a big Adirondack place. I saw Whiteface on Travel & Leisure's top winter lodge list from a few years back and it completely lived up to my expectations.

Pros:
- Rooms: huge! We stayed in one of the smaller available rooms (Superior 1 BR Suite) and it had plenty of room- large living room with fireplace, dining room/small kitchen, big bedroom, adequate bathroom. Also a big balcony which we didn't really use but I would imagine it would be great in the summer. Bed was VERY comfortable. Th whirlpool tub and heated floors in the bathroom were nice touches.
- Staff: everyone- front desk, restaurant/bar, valets, maid- was friendly, helpful, not overbearing. Cannot say enough about the staff.
- Pool- heated indoor/outdoor pool with 2 hot tubs, can swim right outside even when its snowing. Wonderful.
- Restaurant- a bit pricey but the food was excellent. Decent wine list.
- Breakfast buffet- included for many rooms- was more than adequate.
- Fitness room
- Large DVD collection to use free of charge

Cons
- Really the only downside, if you can call it that,it there it definitely family friendly- so be prepared for LOTS of kids running about. Not a problem if you are spending most of your time in the room (hard not to, they are so comfortable), but on 'busy' weekend then be prepared for children. Nevertheless I would still recommend the Whiteface for a romantic weekend...you can avoid the kids for the most part and there's plenty to keep them occupied. Also note, most of the movies at the theater are geared towards kids (usually a G, PG, and PG-13 offering).
- Getting to Lake Placid can be interesting...you can pay more to fly into Lake Placid/Saranac Lake airport, or you can fly into a larger airport (Burlington, Albany) and drive. Perhaps there is an easier way? We flew into Burlington and drove, which took about 2 hours because of the snow. Also you have to take a ferry across Lake Champlain, which is actually quite easy and efficient.

Overall, we loved the Whiteface Lodge and will definitely stay again if we happen to visit Lake Placid.

Lake Placid itself is a charming town that you can spend an afternoon walking through. It has a nice movie theater as well. We didn't visit any of the local ski spots. The valet will drop you off/pick you up until 6 pm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spacestation11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is probably a fine place to stay during the year, but over the Thanksgiving holidays, it was a zoo. The hotel and restaurant clearly did not have enough staff to handle maximum occupancy, and it showed in the service at meals in particular.

The hotel was extremely family friendly, but if you're in a couple, it's probably not the right place to stay. It's also not on the lake, unlike Lake Placid Lodge down the street.

If you do book, request a room with a courtyard view. You'll actually get to see the mountains behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfl, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

The lodge was fully staffed for Thanksgiving and the weekend. Because Thanksgiving centers around food and family our restaurant and lounge were quite busy and dining parties were larger than the norm. The Whiteface Lodge is an ideal destination for both couples and families and offers amenities and dining options to accommodate both. Please visit our website for further details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This resort comes with a heffty price tag, but it's worth every penny if you can afford it.

The staff are very accomadating and are willing to do what ever is needed to make you happy.

I stayed in the Grand Lodge Suites and this suite is one of the largest with a full kitchen, three bedrooms, three full basthrooms and a four
seasons porch.

We enjoyed our first Thanksgiving away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysterycaller2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife and i stayed at the Lodge for one night in November. It was fantastic. The Lodge is top quality in every way. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and the Kanu restaurant was excellent for dinner. The spa was also fantastic. All in all, this is an excellent resort that you cannot go wrong with. It is expensive, but totally worth it. If you have the budget, don't think twice. I was also surprised to see that Lake Placid itself has maintained itself well. I was expecting it to be a little run down since i haven't been there since the mid-80's, but it was still really nice and picturesque. All this and only a 2 hour drive from Montreal. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada_doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £229 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing