We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake Placid”
Review of Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Town House Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Cornwall, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Placid”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Second time staying here and just as beautiful and welcoming as last time. Excellent rates and very friendly and helpful. Clean spacious rooms. Recommend to all our friends. Within walking distance of downtown

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen59andKevin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. Hosts were friendly and accommodating. Comfortable bed and pillows. Very clean room. Modernized roomy bath. Manicured grounds and well-maintained property. Adirondack chairs on the hillside on property overlooking the lake. walk to town in 3-4 mins. Very affordable. Thankful to have found this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owego, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We ride motorcycles and have stayed here for four years for 3 nights. Always friendly,
clean,comfortable place to stay. They make you feel like family. They do anything to make your stay fun and relaxing. Would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is walking distance to main street. The room is spacious and cleaned everyday. The bed and pillows are comfortable. It looks like a motel but it sure is comfortable.
Iris was very welcoming and friendly. There is a fridge and coffee machine in the room. If u need wine glasses or bottle opener- just ask- they have it.
Definitely recommend this place for lake placid

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Love staying here , room was very nice , bed was very comfortable , pillows comfortable and fluffy. Room was clean , bathroom clean. There was a small refrigerator and a small coffee pot. Staff was very accomodating , brought us an extra chair when needed . was able to get extra glasses. We were with friends who stayed in another room , which also was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed here 4 or 5 times in the summer. It's my favorite place to stay in the Lake Placid Area. The owners are very professional and on top of things. The rooms are in very nice shape, really clean, and decorated nicely in an adirondack theme. The beds are comfortable. In the back of the hotel, there is a nice pool & pool area. There is also a very lovely lawn, with big beautiful pine trees. The lawn slopes down hill to the side road and looks out over a bay of lake placid and some hills. Very scenic! There are a bunch of adirondack chairs at the top of the hill which makes it a great place to sit and relax, have a snack, or a glass of wine on a nice evening. It's an easy walk to down town Lake Placid, so you don't have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo,Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Town House Lodge. I arrived for a last-minute ski trip over the New Years Holiday and was not sure what to expect but I was more than pleasantly surprised by the service, location, and room quality.

If you are a high-maintenance traveler who requires resort style attention than this is not the place for you. However, if you are a low-maintenance, cost conscious traveler who wants a simple, CLEAN and convenient place to stay in Lake Placid then this is your spot.

Upon arrival I was greeted promptly by wonderful staff who seemed genuinely interested about making my stay pleasurable. I had pre-booked my room so the check in was highly streamlined and took no more than 5 minutes.

The room itself was very clean, had a current television, surprisingly large shower area and was very insulated from the noise of neighbors and traffic despite the room being fairly close to the road. Each room has a parking spot right outside the door so loading gear was never a hassle. And unlike most places, the Town House Lodge allows ski gear in the room and, in fact, my room had a wall mounted ski rack to accommodate a family's worth of skis.

As for location, you will be about two blocks from Main Street in Lake Placid where the substance of the town is. Take note: to walk to and from town requires walking up a decent incline so perhaps a wheelchaired traveler might look elsewhere, however if you are able to walk and are in even minimal shape then it's hardly an issue. The only drawback is that the city of Lake Placid does not seem to keep their sidewalks properly shoveled, however that is at no fault of the motel.

The take away from my stay here is that I would make this my first choice upon a return trip to Lake Placid. You could stay closer to, or even on, Main Street (which is a 5 minute walk from the Town House) however you will have to constantly deal with the foot and car traffic that is the crowded Main Street. While not 5 star quality in any aspect, the overall experience here will probably be one of the better that Lake Placid offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Lodge

Property: Town House Lodge
Address: 2267 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, Downtown Motel in the Heart of the Olympic Village The Town House Lodge is Just a Short Walk from Main Street in Lake Placid, N.Y. Enjoy the World Famous Olympic Village and all of its Restaurants, Nightlife, Movies, Venues and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing