We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Ranked #10 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Saugerties, New York
2 reviews
“Great location but that is it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

The location is great and owners seem nice BUT small ripped towels, small toiletries, internet only downstairs, and you can hear EVERYTHING everyone is doing! We slept in the truck the first night and had a better night's sleep! The shower head is at least 4-6 feet above you?! I yelp every time we eat out which is often, if only I yelped or trip advised this place prior to booking. I never would have. The beds are tempurpedic but who cares? The bed frames stink, sinking in the middle! And the visible cobweb in the corner made it much safer to sleep. Housekeeper was non-existent. Handicap accessibility? Non-existent as well. And to the reviewer who wrote about the dust bunnies hanging themselves on the shoelace you would leave under the bed.. hysterical and couldn't be more true!!

Room Tip: You can hear everything everyone is doing. No handicap accessibility! Internet downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    30
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is an amazing old girl from yester year that is owner operated and run. If you are looking to step back in time, and to settle into some ambiance then this is where you come. You are greeted with an oversized porch full of places to relax then move into the lobby where there is an oversized common room. It has several seating areas is full of amazing antiques, and a big blazing fire place. This is a place where you settle in and relax. The rooms are huge for an old hotel and also are full of unique pieces that let you know you are not in a cookie cutter hotel. Yes there are quirks with the hotel, dont expect wireless in your rooms, or coffee makers. The coffee is in main lobby next to the amazing great room where, gasp quelle horror you can actually socialize with other people!!! These places are about experiencing the atmosphere and history not about updating your facebook. The location is amazing 1 minute walk from the Lake. Lots of parking.
I love love love this hotel, and my room was clean and well presented. The best part about this hote is it's owner run and operated. The money made at this hotel stays in the community and supports the American economy not some Wallstreet fat cat. I would gladly give my money to a hard working American couple living there dream anyday over the Hilton's and Best Westerns. I will be back. Thanks for great stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 110 and it's very big and cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingCanadian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here. The hotel is a short walk from the lake. The rooms come with an electric radiator which took an hour to heat up. The shower head was pretty bad and the water temp was inconsistent. The room was adorable and clean. The beds very comfortable. No elevators!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Mold in the shower, ripped towels that you keep for the duration of your stay (towels don't get replaced in the morning), no coffee maker in the room, not sure if bedsheets are clean, traces of water ingress around windows, wallpaper definitely peeling off in several locations, bring your own soap and shampoo.
The common rooms appear to be in a better condition, the basement where the hot tub and gym are located was actually renovated not too long ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

I don't think I have enough room to list how bad this place was. The owners were friendly at first, but when we needed towels, she was put out. The housekeeping was non existent. The old shoelace under our bed was left there so the dust bunnies could hang themselves! The bathroom floor and table surfaces were never cleaned. The price of room was right, but there are more amenities at a Motel 8. The room was unfinished. There were exposed wires in an uncovered junction box. Ceilings and walls unfinished. Mold in very small shower stall. No mirrors in room. No storage in bathroom. Teeny bath soap & shampoo packettes. Thin cheap towels and stained bedding and curtains.The jacuzzi area is in a dungeon like setting that is unfinished. Lack of security was a concern. There are no dead bolts or chains on the room door. If they ever finish the place, improve the housekeeping & amenities (including an elevator- not handicapped accessible)... it might come close to their brochure description. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandgirl913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We paid north of $175/nite, which is about $125 too much; It's a quaint old place, but needs severe upgrades; the toiletries were a joke! tiny, thin towels; little bars of soap, and shampoo that came in little packets like are used for ketchup & mustard; no internet ! old tube style TV;
think of a cheesy 1950's era motel in the middle of nowhere, but at 2102 prices !

Extremely unlikely to return :(

Room Tip: try another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Wireless is not available. When I asked to be moved to a room where I could pick up the wireless, I found out that their server is probably dial up. No coffee maker in the room...you have to wait until 7:30 for someone to bring pots of coffees in the lobby. No hair dryer in the room, or kleenexes. And I had to ask for shampoo...let alone the fact that the maid did not clean the bathroom at all. Can't get breakfast there or even "continental breakfast" (ie donuts or bagels)...nothing. No ice machine. Rooms are small and furnished with old furniture. Bottom line: if you want to experience what it was like to stay in a hotel in the 1940s or so, then this is the perfect place. If you want the very BASIC thing you expect in a hotel in 2012, then avoid this place at all cost...speaking of cost, this is way way overpriced for the kind of services or amenities you get. I am not picky...but this is beyond the acceptable...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippe155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.3 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Inn of Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Property: The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Address: 2302 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3378
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pines Inn of Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World charm in the heart of the Adirondacks. A historic inn from the turn of the century. Step inside and into a more relaxing era. The Seggers, invite you into their home and by providing personalized customer service they ensure a unique experience. The location is a perfect mix of peaceful respite and ease of accessibility to all the town's main attractions. Free Wi-Fi; new custom spa; lovely sitting room; Old World veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pines Inn of Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Inn Of Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing