We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice, Feb 2009 and Feb 2011. Both times were great experiences. Staff is friendly and the rooms are up to date and clean. Great price for the area since so many hotels are spa/ski resorts. You can still experience the area on a budget. Plan on staying again next year!

Room Tip: whirlpool tub and the fireplace are both nice
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj46ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

We came to this hotel because we enjoy an indoor pool and were happy they had adult swim from 9-11. P.M. We were assured of that at check in because the hotel was swarming with children. We went to the pool at 9:30 p.m. and it was full of children. Security told us they had to change their policy because of one recent complaint. Shame on them! Will never stay here again! If you are a business person, this is not a business friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aries2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Extremely disappointed in the staff/manager on the night we stayed. We (my husband, two kids, and myself) were asked to leave the pool area by security at 9:20 because it was "adult time" at the pool. There was also another family in the pool at this time- that were "kicked-out" at the same time. There was a sign on the pool door that stated no kids after 9:00- but neither family saw it previously. No one else was in the pool and we checked later and there was still no one in the pool. Manager was extremely rude when questioned.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy47322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Our room was spacious, immaculate, and comfortably furnished. ALthough the hotel is a little bit out of town, it was very easy to get into town to the restaurants and shops, and well worth the few minutes. The breakfasts and pub food in the evenings were fine. If you want a view, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want very nice, and very clean, stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I really wanted to "love" this hotel but I just cant. At first glimpse it is really a lovely property and seems clean and well cared for but we just had some bumps along the way to include billing issues - we were accidentally charged $700.00 over the cost of our stay, heating issue - the heater clanged and banged all night long, dining issue - breakfast was TERRIBLE - and finally service issues with housekeepers barking "when are you leaving so I can get into your room and clean", servers never showing up at dining tables and front desk agents who assure you there wont be a billing problem and you end up being double charged. Families with kids should now that the pool is only 3 ft 8 inches deep at the deepest point as many kids like a "deep end" in a pool and in this case there isnt one. The pool is also rather small and was often over crowded. Every time we went to the pool we had to hunt someone down and ask for towels.
The hotel is just a bit outside of town - maybe a mile or two. The trolley service is not very frequent so plan on driving (and trying to figure out parking) when you go to the village.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FinnVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Very nice hotel, very clean and we had a wonderful stay. I caanoot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faralapte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

As soon as I checked in I could tell something was wrong. There was a very pleasant woman at the front desk and the Assistant Manager. Since she was busy helping someone else, he curtly checked us in but had an unpleasant tone to his voice. Other times during the weekend, his demeanor with other guests was unpleasant and bordered on sarcastic. There were some familes staying there that had young children (I think they were in a local hockey tournament), who I thought were pretty well behaved but the management apparently did not. On several occasions during the weekend, kids were "scolded" by the manager or another hotel employee with a "Security" tee-shirt. Another time I heard a kid get yelled at to "get off this floor, you're on the next one down, and don't come up here again" by the management! I don't know what the problem was, but they weren't bothering us!
Location = fine
Room = fine
Amenities = fine
Family friendly = only if you don't bring any children with you

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeC50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £132 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and offering a picturesque location in historic Lake Placid, Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid welcomes travelers to enjoy spacious and intelligently designed guest rooms and suites with many convenient resources. Our Lake Placid hotel's accommodations include plush bedding, a mini refrigerator a flat-screen TV and an ergonomic work area, with suites providing fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Amenities in our public spaces range from a fully equipped fitness center and indoor pool to an outdoor fire pit and flexible event space. We invite you to stay with us and unwind in a beautiful locale offering unparalleled access to the area's top destinations: skiing and snowboarding at Whiteface Mountain, Lake Placid Olympic Center and many outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Courtyard
Lake Placid Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing