We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just got back from a one night stay at the Courtyard Lake Placid with my two kids. We really enjoyed this hotel. It looks very rustic on the outside like a mountain chalet. Inside it is modern and welcoming. They have a lobby bar and a restaurant. I did not eat or drink at either so I can not comment on either but they looked nice.
Our room was very large with a long hallway as you enter that had a bar area, sink, coffee maker and mini fridge. The room was very comfortable and modern. No view though as we looked down on the roof from one window and the parking lot from another window. We did not really care since the room was so nice. The bathroom was big and again very modern (hotel is only about 4 years old).
The location is a little out of town but a very short drive away from the main street with all the shops and restaurants. There are several good restaurants right by the hotel including Chair 6 that serves a great breakfast.
The indoor pool was small, but good enough for the kids to take a quick swim.
Front desk staff was great as was the free coffee in the lobby.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again next time we are in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sully123Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    191
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
187
202
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Courtyard in Lake Placid.
It is an excellent hotel, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable.
The breakfast ($), is excellent and very reasonable.
The hotel is a little distance from downtown Lake Placid, but not an inconvenience.
Check in was fast and friendly.
If you are visiting this area, I would highly recommend the Courtyard for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Everything about the Marriott in Lake Placid is lovely. The staff was wonderful and ver accommodating and the guest rooms were spacious and well appointed. I was surprised with how nice the hotel was on the inside and out. You can tell that its a very well kept property. The location is set outside of the center of town, but for me that was no problem as I was travlling solo. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the common areas as well as the rooms. The Market where you could pick up a light snack or drink was great as there were choices other than soda. It was nice to be able to get a juice when getting in late and not having to go into town or to the store. The pool and fitness center were spotless and very convenient as well. I was really impressed with how wonderful the staff were. This has definately improved my perception of what the Marriott Brand has to offer. I will definately come back as well as stay at other Marriott's from now on!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have stayed here a few times in the last 2 years, and always hated to leave. The changes in personnel and overall respect to the hotel itself have measurable declined. unfortunately the entire facility felt "dirty" and unkempt. Noticeable dust was everywhere, as if no one had dusted in the lounge area for months, and also in our room. the floors were very grungy and elevator carpets beyond disgusting. Public bathrooms were filthy with garbage overflowing. workout area hasnt been cleaned in months. there definitely is no one in charge of the housekeeping staff. New sheets were wrinkled and mussy, felt as if they were still from a previous guest. We especially made note of absence of the wonderful woman who was once in charge of the restaurant and bar. She always remembered our names, and asked about family events we shared with her. Her welcome and treatment of us made us feel at home. The bartender was very lacking in attention and hospitality. Where we used to spend breakfast and lounge time every day, after the first day, decided to forego the tradition, as we did not feel appreciated. Front desk staff was decidedly rude and unhelpful. whoever the night manager is desperately needs some training in customer service. his demeanor has always been borderline, but now has gotten worse. Overall, we are disappointed to feel we no longer want to stay at this hotel, and for our next visit will search out another home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nomorebirdsinthenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Great hotel, very clean, good rates, nice staff. Liked the couch in the room, it's more comfortable to watch TV than a bed...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaPineault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice, Feb 2009 and Feb 2011. Both times were great experiences. Staff is friendly and the rooms are up to date and clean. Great price for the area since so many hotels are spa/ski resorts. You can still experience the area on a budget. Plan on staying again next year!

Room Tip: whirlpool tub and the fireplace are both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj46ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We came to this hotel because we enjoy an indoor pool and were happy they had adult swim from 9-11. P.M. We were assured of that at check in because the hotel was swarming with children. We went to the pool at 9:30 p.m. and it was full of children. Security told us they had to change their policy because of one recent complaint. Shame on them! Will never stay here again! If you are a business person, this is not a business friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aries2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and offering a picturesque location in historic Lake Placid, Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid welcomes travelers to enjoy spacious and intelligently designed guest rooms and suites with many convenient resources. Our Lake Placid hotel's accommodations include plush bedding, a mini refrigerator a flat-screen TV and an ergonomic work area, with suites providing fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Amenities in our public spaces range from a fully equipped fitness center and indoor pool to an outdoor fire pit and flexible event space. We invite you to stay with us and unwind in a beautiful locale offering unparalleled access to the area's top destinations: skiing and snowboarding at Whiteface Mountain, Lake Placid Olympic Center and many outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing