We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a last minute groupon deal getaway. This is a newer hotel and it was very nice. Staff was friendly, room was very clean, and the beds were wonderfully comfy with super poofy comforters and pillows!! There were 2 hot tubs and a smallish pool. We did not try the breakfast...there are just too many delicious local places to enjoy instead!! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ytse411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much. We love to have happy guests, and like it even better when they come back. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    195
    60
    15
    18
See reviews for
191
205
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, WA
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Marriott Ctyard is newer than most properties in Lake Placid which is nice as some of the properties in town look pretty dated. Rooms here are very new, very clean and wonderfully appointed with bedding, furnishings, etc. We had a suite which included a fireplace and it was very spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed returning to the property each day after skiing. Staff were helpful and nice. The only drawback is that it isn't "in town" so if you are wanting to walk to dinner and shops, it isn't necessarily right in the hub of things. That being said, the lot was well maintained for winter conditions so getting in/out was fine and we liked all the other aspects of the hotel so that made up for not being right in town.

Room Tip: King suite was actually 2 rooms (2 closets, 2 tvs, etc.) and a long counter with m-wave and fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words about our property. We can't wait to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I rated the Courtyard Marriott a 3 as an average of the really good and really bad features. The really good - great room, bed, very clean, nice bathroom. The not so good were the lobby and other common areas. We were there in the winter when it was very snowy and their carpet at the entranceway did not cover their tile floors. It was wet all the time and slippery. The pool and fitness center were substandard compared to other Courtyards. If you have children who want to splash, you will be fine here, but we like to swim and the pool is shaped like a pretzel. There are two nice Jacuzzis, though. The fitness center had very new equipment, but no stationary bicycle which my husband likes to use. Finally, the location is not on the main Lake Placid street where there are many other hotels. We will stay in town next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed33936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your input on our property, and you are correct, our fitness room is brand new. We are getting a fitness bike in the near future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

To make a very long story short - I was a part of a travel group who had planned to stay at this property and due to a scheduling mishap, our reservation was lost. To make up for the error the management of this property found us a replacement accommodations that were a significant upgrade, provided our members with gift certificates for future stays and hosted our group for dinner and a party.

I was only on property for the dinner, but in that time I could tell the hotel grounds were well maintained, the lobby and hotel bar were very nice and the customer service was truly excellent.

The Marriott management took a potentially terrible situation and made it really outstanding. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavefromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much. We're so glad you enjoyed our little property. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The suite we had was quite nice. Having the sleeping area separate from the living area was our number one reason for choosing this location.
The breakfast included with our room for a small extra fee was worth it, although they did not have the buffet one morning when were were there because there was not enough people staying to warrant it. It was nice to have a hot breakfast and not worry about going out to eat.
The facilities were nice. Everything was clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They seem to know the local area well and are a good resource for where to eat and what to see.

Room Tip: Top floor is nice. A bit quieter than the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. See you again soon, I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was by FAR one of the CLEANEST hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff were professional and helpful. The pool and whirlpools were great, and again, CLEAN!! There are two whirlpools....one hot, one warm, then a nice pool. There is starbucks coffee....lattes, all of it, available in the lobby 24/7. This was a courtyard, but felt more like a full fledged Marriott. Would stay there again in a heartbeat! LOVED it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimGal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for the rave review. We can't wait to see you next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here about 3 years ago and chose this hotel because of our previous positive experience. We were in town for one night to attend a wedding.
We were traveling with my mother-in-law and we booked a larger suite with a separate bedroom and a pull out sofa. The room was almost $300.00 a night during peak ski season.
We arrived much earlier than expected and they let us get into our room. This was a nice surprise as we got to rest and relax before heading off to the wedding.
When we returned to the room that evening, we proceeded to make up the sofa bed (sheets and blankets in the closet). We unfolded the most uncomforatble thin mattress that was completely impossible to sleep on. My mother-in-law agreed to sleep on the sofa and she realized later that it was more comfortable to sleep on the floor.
The hotel was full that evening and we were disturbed by other noisy guests throughout the night. This place really needs more insulation throughout the room.
After a sleepless night, I went down to the front desk to check out. I did state my complaint about the mattress and got a lame apology. The front desk clerk aknowledge that the pull-out sofas are uncomfortable and they are going to replace the mattresses in the spring! Why wait when you know there is a problem?
As for the parking lot....it was downright treacherous! I realize that road conditions can deteriorate in the winter, but come on....put some sand and salt down. It was solid ice....the skating was better in the parking lot than at the oval downtown!
There are plenty of options in Lake Placid. Next time, we will try somewhere different.

Room Tip: Don't plan on using a pull-out sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your 2nd stay with us. I really wish you would have let us know about the mattress and ice issues, as we would have rectified them immediately. I could have had a mattress pad brought up for the pull-out. As my staff said we have budgeted to put new mattresses on our pull-outs next year. As for the ice, we truly try to keep up on that ourselves, as well as our plowing company. I wanted to personally call you and try to copmpensate you in some way, but unfortunately there is no information on Trip Advisor so I can do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and offering a picturesque location in historic Lake Placid, Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid welcomes travelers to enjoy spacious and intelligently designed guest rooms and suites with many convenient resources. Our Lake Placid hotel's accommodations include plush bedding, a mini refrigerator a flat-screen TV and an ergonomic work area, with suites providing fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Amenities in our public spaces range from a fully equipped fitness center and indoor pool to an outdoor fire pit and flexible event space. We invite you to stay with us and unwind in a beautiful locale offering unparalleled access to the area's top destinations: skiing and snowboarding at Whiteface Mountain, Lake Placid Olympic Center and many outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Courtyard
Lake Placid Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing