We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Lake Placid
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great friendly reception staff.
Beautiful rooms which were very comfortable - especially the beds.
Food is really nice.
Location is a little on the outskirts of Lake Placid.
The layout of the hotel is really welcoming and it was really nice relaxing in the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernie-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Fernie,

I love the beds that Marriott has. Any time I travel and stay at a Marriott I always sleep well. Ill be sure to let our front desk staff know about your kind words. I see you stayed in December? We will have to have you back sometime in the future, but maybe a different season. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    190
    60
    15
    16
See reviews for
187
200
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We traveled to pick up our son in Lake Placid who was training at the Olympic Training Center. The location is off the direct Main St. section around Mirror lake, but still very convenient to all the shops and restaurants.

The property is newer and the rooms are clean and very well appointed. We originally booked a standard room and stayed in it the first evening. The next day we learned that we had a friend of my son's needing to stay with us, so a larger room was needed. The front desk attendants were very helpful and arranged for us to move our room to a suite. The room was fantastic with plenty of privacy and room for all of us. Thank you Jason! Erik the front desk attendant does an amazing job! He is extremely helpful and friendly.

We did have the opportunity to use the pool area and it was also very nice. Overall the property was great and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Susan,

I am so glad to hear everything worked out well. I remember your party quite clearly. I'll be sure to tell eric that you appreciated his help. Keep us posted on when you may be up next. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY's Finger Lakes
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This Courtyard is expensive (yes, it is a resort town) and definitely not up to the usual standard of Marriott. The rooms were comfortable but not in any way welcoming to the visitor. The courtyard at the Courtyard was a small space with a stone fireplace and a few uncomfortable chairs. We found out that the fireplace has never worked and is a trash pit.
Our beds were marginally comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional.
The biggest reason for my low rating is that the cost of the room is disproportionally high when compared with the quality of the lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Keith,

Let me first apologize. I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I have checked with the maintenance staff regarding the fireplace in the courtyard. They are currently waiting on a couple parts to complete the project to UL Specifications. Without those components, we cannot operate the fireplace safely around our guests. We have placed a safety cover over the top of it to keep guests from using it as a trash receptacle or even worse......trying to start a fire in it! But I have since talked with the head of housekeeping to make sure that trash isn't being deposited in the fire pit.
Regarding the room rates during your stay. During certain times of the year we may have special events or holidays where the rate may be competitively and comparatively priced based upon volume of guests in town and other hotels in the area. I encourage you to explore different times of the year as well as different seasons, because our rates will fluctuate. Different times of the year may yield great deals and savings. We do hope to have you back though for a future stay. Please feel free to contact the property for and further questions. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here the end of May. I found the place on groupon. I came with my sister and two kids. (Poor husband had to work). From the min we walked in we had a warm welcome. The room was very clean (I have OCD) the view was breathtaking. It was so nice to wake up in the morning and see the mountains. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It was only min to the main strip. It was near a corner store that was very handy for snacks & ect. They have a Starbucks inside that was nice. Also the staff was helpful to find places we were looking for or giving us tips on where to go eat. We had a great time and were sad to go home. Nice from start to end. Would definitely go back! Next time with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear "Biz"

I am excited to hear your stay went so well. It seems like the staff was spot on in their recommendations to you. Town has a lot to offer as far as activities. I hope you, your sister, and the kids were able to explore and have some fun while you were with us. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming back. And if it is a future stay where it is just you and your husband, I would love to discus with you some of the suites we have available on the property and also some of the great restaurants with great atmospheres in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everyone expects a courtyard just to be basic but this hotel had a wonderful pool, great lobby and very nice rooms. Many families sat in this spacious and warm lobby with couches and large screen TV next to a small bar area and watched the World Cup. It was so cozy and clean and the staff are wonderful and very accomodating. We had a room with a living room and it was spacious. Would definitely tell others to sta here when coming to the adirondacks. Must climb Cascade mountain, boat on Lake Placid with Lake Placid Boat rentals. Steve and his family are great! Eat at Cafe Rustica. The BEST lingiuni and clam sauce we ever had. Everything was great. Don't be fooled because it is in a shopping area. It was a a memorable mel and there is a trolly to take you back and forth into town. The chef is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Elliott,

Thank you so much for all of your feedback. Not only does that make us proud you said such nice things, but also it's very helpful you gave tips to future guests. Cafe Rustica is one of my favorite places in town. They had a homemade meatloaf recipe last winter that was to die for! When you are back at our property don't hesitate to ask me for some more recommendations in town, I have quite a few ideas. Thank you again and hope to see you back at our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice property and hotel.

We were on the 1st floor near the pool.

Our room was very large room, clean, comfortable, well decorated and quiet.

Pool and hot tub great.

Staff were very friendly and check in and out was easy.

Free wi-fi and free parking.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear HojasRojas,

Thank you so much for your response. I am very happy to hear your stay went well. The property has had a few changes over the last year that we are very excited about. One being the new lobby and bistro set up with a starbucks. We look forward to seeing you for a future stay. Perhaps a different season? For example: Winter you can take advantage of some skiing at whiteface mountain or a dog sled ride on mirror lake. See you then, and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Reserved 4 rooms on marriott.com as part of a surprise party, then sent hotel email directly informing them. I needed to make sure when we checked in that desk staff didn’t ask us which one of the 4 rooms was ours or the surprise would have been blown. The desk staff was perfect and was even careful when other 3 rooms where checking in.

We arrived mid June late Friday evening check in. Hotel is immaculate, everything appears brand new, lobby has plenty of seats. Room huge, we had 1 king br suite with separate living room. 2 TV’s and full wetbar and fridge. Breakfast was good, buffet was always stocked. I would suggest you book package with breakfast for the convenience. Everyone we saw staying in hotel was nice and well behaved. Plenty of free parking and free internet.

Try Adirondack Steak & Seafood, they have really nice private room for party that was fantastic. Also bobsled run and ski jump venue, as well as gondola ride at Whiteface shouldn’t be missed. You can save a lot of money if you buy the Olympic Sites Passport.

Its true you have to drive to get downtown but it’s only a 2 minute ride, which is hardly a hassle even if you go out all night long. Since most people arrive by car anyway book here to save money (since you are not right in town), and enjoy first class accommodations as well as first class staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dead itbetterbeclean,

Thank you so very much for your response to your stay on our property. I am very happy to hear our staff was able to "sneak" around the check in process to ensure the surprise would remain unspoiled. It is a unique skill that we have developed over the years working with all of our guests’ special occasions and requests. Our lobby had just been updated in the last year to what you saw recently during your stay. Our rooms are scheduled for a remodel in the near future, so I invited you to come check them out when we are done! Please let us know when you are coming back so we may make your stay into another memorable experience. Also, I have quite a few recommendations for some other great restaurants if you would like to try some new cuisine and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lake Placid

Property: Courtyard Lake Placid
Address: 5920 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3488
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Courtyard Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing