We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here this year. That itself should say how much we like this place. We feel like they are family. The bed was made for us every day and we had new clean towels also. For breakfast I had waffles, pancakes, and french toast. All on different days. They were all top notch. Dinner is also the best place in town. All the food is locally grown and harvested. So is the maple syrup. You must make reservations for it but it will be the best meal you'll have!
Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
72
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stay local after our wedding to celebrate our honeymoon. After careful research and phone calls, my husband booked The Cedar Lodge(Jenkins Room) for our romantic getaway! We are from Orange County, NY and drove up on Aug 30, 2013; we had an 8:00 dinner reservation and were shown to our beautiful room upon arrival at about 7:00. Nan, the hostess, knew it was a celebratory stay for us and put a gorgeous bouquet of yellow roses in our room. Our dinner the first night was phenomenal; so much so that we requested another reservation for the following night (and we were accommodated). Nan and Red were great and recommended places to see and eat nearby. We made good use of our time there and saw the many sights of Lake Placid. The room was absolutely everything we expected and more; from the finishing touches of the antiques to the European bathroom (shower) and Jacuzzi, our honeymoon was AMAZING!! The restaurant (and Chef Red) made our experience a true delight! It was memorable for sure. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection (really all dishes were) and could easily rival any top NYC restaurant. Breakfast was terrific as well; delicious options! Five stars all around! A must try, especially for a romantic weekend. We will be coming back ASAP!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altorre5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Paradox Lodge is an amazing place! From the home decor, to the lake, to the wonderful staff and food!!! The staff is so incredibly nice and make you as comfortable as possible! The chef is magnificent, creating such delicious meals that are satisfying and filling! Each room is unique and comfortable. All around great place!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullio1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is our first time in Lake Placid. We chose the Paradox Lodge because of the reviews of the great food! The breakfasts we had were delicious and held us through till 3pm! They will have breakfast ready for you on your schedule, just have to tell them in advance. Everything is sourced locally. We stayed in the Daisy Room which has a very comfortable double bed, down filled pillows and duvet. We slept like logs in this bed. There is a window AC, ceiling fan and bathroom fan. Our rooms were cleaned and made everyday. Make sure you stay for dinner at least one night. We had the filet mignon which ended up being the best meal we have ever had! Beats any steak house you can go to. The flavours he adds is unreal! The portion size is also something you cannot complain about. We also made use of the free canoe one morning and we are glad we did because the view from the water is amazing!
Thanks for the wonderful stay Nan and Red!
5 Star restaurant
5 Star Bed & Breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I didn't think our annual visit to Paradox Lodge, our favourite B&B in Lake Placid, could get any better, but this year was really special. The accomodation, the wonderful food, and even the weather, all conspired to make our holiday a real treat. Cannot recommend Paradox Lodge too highly!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theWestieBarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I just had a fabulous dinner at Paradox Lodge. The food was artfully prepared, delicious to eat as well as visually appealing. Red, the chef, and his wife Nan were friendly and delightful. This is a gourmet restaurant and suitable for 5 stars in any location. We will return next year when we visit the Adirondacks again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innkeeperontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Since 2011, we have made Paradox Lodge our Lake Placid base for the Ironman event every July. The rooms are appointed with artwork and collectibles typical of the high peaks region of the Adirondaks and all have private baths and air conditioned comfort. Proprietors "Red" and Nan LaFontaine are most accomodating and are great company on the porch at night for a nightcap and banter. Breakfast in the dining room is very congenial and hearty. As the late afternoon transitions to evening, Red's casual attire is replaced by a tie and his chef's whites as the five star dining experience awaits. It's not unusual to see locals who know where the best dining in the area is to be there so you'll want to make your reservation early. The front porch is a terrific place to dine on a warm mid-summer's night. The village is a short walk away. Having competitive athletic backgrounds themselves, Red and Nan understand what the Ironman experience means to their guests, and they make the extra effort to see that their hospitality is equally enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Cedar Lodge have a bit more privacy are roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

Property: Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Address: 2169 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradox Lodge and Cedar Lodge guest rooms all have private bath and rates include a full breakfast that is cooked to order. The Cedar Lodge rooms all have king amenities with the Pisgah and Jenkins rooms having gas fireplaces and decks. All guests have access to the lake front and free boats. Breakfast is served in the dining room in the main lodge (Paradox). We also have a full bar and guests can relax in the living room in front of the fireplace. Our restaurant now serves private dinner parties and special events with advance notice and a minimum of six guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradox Lodge And Cedar Lodge
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing