We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Golden Arrow for our honeymoon that we finally were able to take after 13 years of marriage. Our stay was everything we could have hoped for and more. The staff was extremely friendly and whenever we had a question they were available to answer whatever questions we had. The pool and restaurant were closed during our stay, however the property did a very good job at keeping us updated during our stay. This did impact our stay, as we were
looking forward to using both amenities, but they more than made up for it in other ways. We also were able to enjoy breakfast at Generations after we checked out. Try the flapjacks, they are AMAZING! We absolutely will be back to stay with you again when we come back up to Lake Placid.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a romantic getaway, the Haystack room is the room you will want to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Paul B,
It’s wonderful that you and your wife were able to have the honeymoon that you deserve! I’m glad we could contribute to it being a great one. Good choice choosing the Haystack room, staying in that room ensures a romantic getaway. I also love the flapjacks at Generations, yum!

I wish you many more years of happily wedded bliss. Now that you've had your honeymoon, everything from here is a piece of cake ;).

I hope you will come and visit us at the Golden Arrow again. Until then I wish you safe and happy travels!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first stay and we were totally happy with our choice. We had a lakeside room which was very nice. The hotel is conveniently located. The hotel was very clean. The staff was excellent (the housekeeping manager was like an old friend). There is plenty of parking. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear sumau2014,

Thank you for trying us out for your recent trip to Lake Placid. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely relay your complement to our housekeeping manager, Melanie. Compliments to our staff are my favorite kind because they work so hard, they appreciate the positive feedback.

I’m very glad you will stay with us again; I thank you for taking the time to review your stay!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I had one night in Lake Placid for a quick romantic getaway and The Golden Arrow was the perfect place. Our room had a balcony overlooking the lake, a fireplace, and a huuuuge bathtub in the room (plus a great rainfall shower). Even though we were early for check in we were given full use of the the facilities. The hotel is right in the middle of town and everything is within walking distance which made it the perfect place for us. The reason I didn't give it 4 "stars" is for two reasons- first, the restaurant and pool were under construction so we didn't get to experience them. Second, of the four people we had contact with at the front desk, only one was truly knowledgeable about goings on, places to eat, etc. in Lake Placid. A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in a Haystack Room. Very good value for the room. Room 246 is at the very end of the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Carolyn M,

I’m so glad you and your husband chose the Golden Arrow for a quick romantic getaway to Lake Placid. I’m glad you very happy with your guest room and our convenient location right in the middle of town.

We did have to drain and clean our pool so it can be ready for the busy summer season. We are also doing some renovations to the restaurant, we tried to stay open for at least half of the day most of the time, but there were a couple days where we needed to shut down completely. I truly apologize about this inconvenience. You will have to stay with us again so you can experience both amenities.

After reading your review I went over it with the front desk and we have actually take large steps to make sure that they know what is going on it town and directions. We also organized all of the most important pamphlets of information behind the desk so it’s very easy for them to find what they need to help guests. I appreciate your feedback and I am confident that this won’t be a problem next time you stay with us.

Thank you for your great review. I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed @ the Golden Arrow many times always very good to excellent. We normally stay in Room ABC and I did ask for it again this time. Unfortunately that room was not ready by 3:45 so we got GHI. If we did not have a favorite room! this room would have been fine ...the bathroom was a bit small but otherwise all was good. In fact a staff member was walking by our room in the morning checking the grounds, he greeted us & realized we had a "strobe" light in our room. He immediately stepped away called someone to fix it came back & told us to expect a knock! We told him we were leaving in a few moments just sitting to enjoy the view 1 last time ...this visit! He said it will be fixed immediately & he was right we literally left our room & ran into the gentlemen who was coming to change the bulb. (I had left the light on so that someone would notice it after we left not expecting it to happen almost before we left!!) That is the kind of service to expect here. We were only able to spend 1 night ...we just got back yesterday and I'm ready to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear IamMeltingGlass,

Thank you very much for sharing your most recent experience at the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful to hear that you have stayed with us multiple times. We all truly appreciate your loyalty.

I believe it was actually our Director of Sales, Brandon, who noticed your light bulb blinking. It just goes to show that everyone pitches in here and helps where it’s necessary. You can sometimes see our General Manager/Owner, Jenn pitching in and making beds on busy days!

We look forward to having you again hopefully in the near future! Thank you for your review.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lake side room with a fire place perfect for warming up after a dog sled ride on the frozen lake...there was a winter carnival in with an ice castle and fireworks in Lake Placid. We went on a hike to see the frozen waterfalls near by...Perfect winter vacation with kids!!! Indoor pool was great and breakfast at the hotel restaurant was out of this world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizsantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear elizsantana,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Golden Arrow. There is so much to do and see in Lake Placid in the winter, it sounds like your family made great use of your time here. I’m glad our location, indoor pool, and delicious breakfast could contribute to your wonderful winter vacation. I hope you will also try us out in the summer. There is just as much to do here if not more!

Thank you again for your wonderful review. I wish you and your family safe and happy travels!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took my wife up for our anniversary - a perfect location for a weekend trip!
Gorgeous view over the lake and a short trip to Lake Placid for boating fun. Our room was clean and comfortable - Heavy soft bedding kept us toasty in the surprising early fall weather.
Loved the eco-friendly hotel and restaurant.
Have to make one criticism - European style shower partitions are a joke - WATER EVERYWHERE!!! Just put up a curtain...

Room Tip: Go for the second floor if you can help it - private balconies are a bit better than the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdbpurchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear rdbpurchases,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! I’m glad you found our location and guest rooms clean and comfortable. I wish you and your wife years of happy anniversaries! Thank you for taking the time to review the resort. I hope to see you in Lake Placid again soon!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was so accommodating to our needs...especially since we brought our pup. They welcomed all of us with opened arms and dog treats as well. Our view from our room was perfect ...a balcony over looking mirror lake .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patschenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear patschenectady,

It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy your stay with you pup! We love meeting our guests’ four legged family members. I’m very glad you found your room and balcony to your liking. I look forward to having you at the Golden Arrow again soon!

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £85 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing