We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in downtown Lake Placid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lorain, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location in downtown Lake Placid”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Got a lakeside view room which was great. Like sitting out there since it was nice and peaceful. Probably would not have felt that way on the village side so I think the extra amount was well worth it. Bed was comfortable (plenty of pillows) and shower was great too. (Hot water as soon as you turned it on.) All the shops and restaurants in walking distance. Parking garage was a little difficult with the support columns. The one thing I wish was in the room was a microwave. Check in was a little slow as I think he was somewhat new. I also requested an upper floor but only got one on the second floor.

Green Features: Like the green roof they have. They have a bag in your room for the recyclables
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingJoe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear RamblingJoe51,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad you were able to enjoy the peacefulness of your lakeside room. You will be happy to know that in the very near future all of our rooms will have microwaves! We have always had them in our suites and specialty rooms, but are now working on getting them in all of the deluxe rooms as well.

I hope to see you again next time you are in Lake Placid. I wish you happy and safe travels until then.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    428
    113
    48
    25
See reviews for
470
547
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Slept soundly; the staff was friendly and helpful; I appreciate the "green." Thanks for letting me park in your lot even after I checked out and until the end of the conference. I slept well, but because conference, I wasn't able to use the spa or dinning room.

Room Tip: The village-side rooms are less expensive, and I found a quick way to enter and exit the building.
See more room tips
Green Features: Thoughts: it's exactly the right thing to do. And I enjoyed the manager's remarks at the conference (especially about the Boy Scout).
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Thacher,

Thank you for your great review! I am glad you were comfortable here at the Golden Arrow. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoy our green features. I also enjoy Jenn’s Boy Scout CFL light bulb story. We still purchase CFL’s from the Boy Scouts when they are selling them.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Thank you!
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We decided to stay here for the weekend. I ended up finding this hotel through a living social deal but, by the time my group decided on the dates, the deal expired. Fortunately, one of the front desk agents( I forget his name), honored the living social rate and that's how the trip started!
The rooms were perfect: clean, spacious with a fantastic balcony view of the lake. On top of that, they had complimentary boats that we could use on the lake. The front desk staff were cordial and helped us pick a good breakfast spot as well as good hiking trails. In addition all of this, what I admired was the self-sufficiency of the hotel: They had a tiny garden that grew things like basil and other herbs for the restaurant; they have solar panels for electricity. Keep up the good work!

I recommend Golden Arrow to anyone who plans on visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efernan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Efernan9,

I’m so glad that you were able to stay with us. Thank you very much for all of your kind compliments, hearing that your room was perfect is music to my ears! We work very hard to run our business as sustainably as possible, so I really appreciate you pointing some of our green practices in your review.

Thank you for your recommendation, I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The view outside our room was picture perfect and the staff very friendly. It was everything and more than I had imagined it to be. They also have paddle boats at Mirror lake which we(family) could use. The room was amazing. Coming from Manhattan, it was great to see so many parking spots. Whenever I visit Lake Placid again, this is the only place I will go to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brinsley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Brinsley2014,

Thank you for staying with us; it’s wonderful that you will be back next time you’re in Lake Placid! I’m very glad you enjoyed the view, paddle boats, and free parking.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I hope to meet you next time you stay with us.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany, ny
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We go to Lake Placid a few times a year...it's one of our favorite places. This was our first stay at the Golden Arrow...and I can assure it will not be our last. Our room overlooked the lake and it was very well appointed. We were a bit worried that it would be loud because it was close to the lobby, but we never heard a thing! The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I think the best thing was the hotels location. It's right in the middle of everything. We walked to all the best restaurants, bars and shops. I can't wait for our next weekend getaway at the Golden Arrow!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midget13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear midget13,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Arrow for your most recent trip to Lake Placid. I’m happy that you were satisfied with our location, friendly and accommodating staff, and well-appointed rooms.

It’s great to hear that you will be back for another weekend getaway. We look forward to having you again! I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Sincerely,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The Golden Arrow sits in an ideal location right in the middle of Lake Placid, with Mirror Lake at their back door and the main strip through town at their front. This hotel is great, the staff is courteous, the service was fantastic and the attached restaurant, Generations, is outstanding. All in all our stay here was enjoyable. The only downside that we came across was check in is a bit late (4pm) and the pool was closed. The hotel was able to negotiate terms with the hotel across the way to allow it's patrons to enjoy their pool. Our room was clean and the view of the lake was amazing. We would definitely stay at the Golden Arrow the next time my wife and I decide to visit Lake Placid.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tim T,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience at the Golden Arrow. I am glad you had an
enjoyable stay! Next time you stay with us I’m sure the pool will be open; we only completely close it once a year for a complete draining and cleaning. It's wonderful that you found our staff courteous, your room clean and enjoyed the beautiful view.

Thank you for ALL of your kind comments, we look forward to having you and your wife next time you’re in Lake Placid.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boyfriend and I have the tradition of going to Lake Placid every year at the beginning of June to celebrate my birthday-and we always stay at the Golden Arrow! The room was gorgeous-a beautiful hot tub adjacent to the bed/a fireplace and a room overlooking Mirror Lake. The pool was out of commission, but we had the option of using a pool at a nearby hotel. The location is smack in the middle of town, it is near shopping and restaurants. A nearby hike was only a short drive away. The lake was perfect-paddleboards, kayaks and canoes at the beach. Weather was perfect and the mountains majestic as ever! We highly recommend this place for family, romance or business. If you want the most romantic room ever-Stay in the Haystack Rm. 246.

Green Features: Go Green-The Golden Arrow does! All paper recycled, A Green roof with herbs and flowers growning/solar heating in some areas of hotel. Very eco-friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adkhiker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear adkhiker14,

Happy birthday; It’s great that we can be a part of your birthday tradition! It seems like you totally take advantage of everything the Golden Arrow and Lake Placid in general has to offer. The Haystack room is one of my favorite rooms, perfect choice for a romantic getaway.

Thank you so very much for your recommendation and wonderful review. We are unbelievably happy to have guests like that you that continue to return year after year. Have a great summer!

My best,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing