We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Arrow Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Golden Arrow Hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2009

This is one of the best hotels I've been to completed with friendly staff and many attractions. My family loved this trip and I for one did too. I went kayaking for the first time. I recommend going in the winter or summer because there are just as many activities in both seasons.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LakePlacid98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    428
    113
    48
    25
See reviews for
470
547
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days during his R&R. We stayed in one of the fireplace suites, and never had an issue. It's spacious enough, we have our own private patio, and Mirror Lake was right there! We had a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, and a really nice shower and large bathroom. We had more than enough space. They redid the pool not too long ago which is nice. My husband loved the hot tubs and myself the steam room. Very close to hiking trails, too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Hotel is well located in heart of town at lakeside with free covered parking and own beach. Covered access to some shops in town. Game room, sauna, fitness center, etc. Room was large with microwave and refrigerator, many towels, free toiletries, free high speed wireless internet, plenty of hot water. Bed was like concrete (one of hardest I ever slept on) and only double beds on non-allergenic first floor. Heat OK but smelled of tobacco smoke in supposedly allergen free environment whenever it came on. Very noisy with lots of people running around. Starting environmentally friendly programs. Returning guests supposed to get gift boxes - none appeared. Double or triple the price of some nice motels in town which are more comfortable, less noisy but have less special stuff.

Price is high compared

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed at the Golden Arrow 11/9 - 11/11/09. We had stayed at this property years ago when it was a Best Western (late 80's, early 90's??). We chose it based on a website deal - stay two nights, get one night free. We wanted a lakeside room. Check in was friendly and efficient; we were given two rooms to look at as we were not sure if we wanted to be on the ground floor with a "beach front" patio or an upper floor with a balcony. Just for kicks, we inquired about a complimentary upgrade to a nicer room - one with a fireplace maybe - but no dice, not with the website deal. That was a little disappointing, considering the place was practically empty for the next three nights but you get what you pay for (and that's all you should expect) so we chose a lakefront room on the third floor with a balcony and two double beds. Room was OK, furnishings only slightly worn, clean, fairly big and nicely appointed. Comfy beds, fluffy towels, nice toiletries. TV was old, some problems with the remote as our stay progressed, but plenty of great channels. The weather was beautiful so we were able to utilize our balcony during our stay. The hotel sits on Mirror Lake and it is fabulous. Friendly ducks will keep you company...but don't feed them! Fridge in the room was handy - no lugging tons of ice (it was a bigger one with a small freezer conpartment, not one of those small cube shaped ones). The lobby was nice...and quiet during our stay. Big fireplace and a huge picture window overlooking the lake. We sat by the fire one evening with a glass of champagne. Pool area is nice, although the temp of the pool water was cold. Nice decor - lots of field stone, Adirondack chairs and plants. Two whirlpool tubs - plenty warm and glorious - a steam room (don't see those much) and a sauna (took forever to heat up). Nice gym area with plenty of good equipment for a decent workout and a small racket ball court. All encounters with staff were friendly. Housekeeping did a fine job. Minor annoyance was some repair work and light construction happening but understand they need to get that done during "down" time - between peak seasons and not on the weekends when the place is filled with hockey tournament families and Skate America crowds. Hotel staff apologized for the inconvenience. We basically had the place to ourselves and loved it. We avoided checking in Sat. night due to a hockey tournament crowd; we were informed of that when we called to check on availability and it was much appreciated ( tons of kids with hockey sticks and drinking parents are not what we wanted to deal with on the first night of our getaway - we had read some previous reviews on TA regarding this). We spent our time walking around Mirror Lake, hiking local trails and climbing Mt Jo (challenging). The local shops are great. We had some good experiences at local restaurants and some not so good - Lisa G's, Street Station. We liked Dancing Bears happy hour and the Adirondack Brewery. Desperados was OK, Downhill Grill mediocre. Avoid Bazza for pizza/wings. Soulful Bagels yummy for breakfast. The restaurant associated with the hotel itself (Charlie's) was closed during our stay. We recommend Golden Arrow and will return, especially if they continue to offer the free night deal. This is THE best deal in town for a lakefront/lakeview room. High Peaks, Mirror Lake Inn and Crowne Plaza should take note and follow suit - they looked empty. They may be nicer places (we've stayed in them all at one time or another) but empty rooms ar empty rooms - at least Golden Arrow has something to offer.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I stayed at the Golden Arrow with three friends in September, we were placed in Room 103, an “allergen-free” room.

My friend woke up the next morning with about 30-40 bites all over her arms, neck and chest. After not knowing what it could be, we went to the front desk that evening and spoke with the night receptionist. She had also checked us in the night before and is in general, unfriendly and unhelpful. After showing her the bites and requesting a room change, she told us that they were sold out and assured us that they were not bed bug bites since it takes 9 days for the bites to show (this is NOT TRUE). She blew off our concerns saying that my friend just looked like she had “been in the woods.” With no choice but to believe this, we hesitatingly went back to the room, bundled up, and went to bed.

The next morning, all of us woke up with bites over our bodies. We checked out of the hotel and my friend had to be taken to the emergency room because of the severe allergic reaction she had to her bites. After four hours at the hospital, we were informed that they were bedbug bites and we immediately went back to the hotel to alert the front desk. The front desk told us that there was a guest already checked into the room so they could not do anything about it!!! My apologies to that guest.

We then spent the next week arguing with the manager, who denied any problem with bedbugs in the room, and insinuated that we had instead brought the bugs into the hotel.
After pointing out that 1) none of us have had problems with bedbugs in our own homes, 2) all four of us were bitten multiple times, suggesting an infestation of bugs, and 3) that we had seen blood and feces spots on our sheets the next morning, the manager gave us a refund for our stay and, though she still denied any bedbug problem in her hotel, she said they would have the room professionally treated. At that point, this provided very little solace as we already had to throw out our belongings, have our clothing and car professionally cleaned, and not to mention the $300 hospital bill. None of us who stayed in the room had problems with bedbugs before arriving and thankfully, have had no problems in the two months since leaving. I am posting this review now because I am now positive that the bugs originated in the room, and second, because the psychological trauma is only now starting to subside. I realize that every traveler risks encountering bedbugs, but beware, if you do have a problem at the Golden Arrow, they DO NOT have your back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank tila10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenArrow, Owner at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
I must emphatically disagree with this review. No one is more repelled by the thought of bed bugs (or any infestation) more than the owner of a hotel or resort. Immediate action is always taken at the first hint of any such crisis and is only limited by how quickly the professional inspectors can arrive. In your case it is true that the evening you complained of bites, we were completely full and did not have any other room to move you to. When you checked out, we had our Executive Housekeeper (who has undergone very thorough training) inspect the room for evidence of any sort of infection. She found none. In addition, we did follow up and have a professional service come in, inspect and then treat the room and the 4 rooms around it just to be sure. We did not have any other complaints from previous guests of that room or the ones who came later. (It IS true that it can take a week to 10 days for bites like that to present).
We take situations like this very seriously. Our reputation and the health of our guests and staff depend on it. We also take great pride in our resort and how we manage and maintain it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We had a room with a king sized bed on the lake side of the hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a beautiful view of mirror lake and the mountains. The first morning we ate breakfast at Charlie's. It was convenient but nothing special. This is our second time staying at this hotel and were pleased both times. The first night it was quite noisey after 10pm but the next day we discovered the staff had put up flyers asking for quiet after 10pm and the next two nights were quiet. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. A little pricey but comfortable, clean and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmom2NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Great place to stay, totally worth the price, loved it and the everyone was as nice as they could be.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Property: Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing