We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This place is nothing to get excited about. It's pretty outdated and could use a reno. The free breakfast should not be called a breakfast. There were 3 english muffins and some coffee when we got there in the morning.
It was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    64
    49
    25
    21
See reviews for
65
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Clean and comfortable. A little too far from downtown. Need to drive or take free trolley. Fair continental breakfast included. Just check your invoice when you check out. They tacked on a daily "Safe/Ltd Warranty" charge even though I did not request or use the safe. They did reverse it when I questioned it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastlandingdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this hotel through www.lakeplacid.com to stay at during the Lake Placid Ice Dancing Championships.

We booked a regular room with 2 Queen Sized Beds. When we checked in to the hotel, it was pouring rain. I was assigned the room and unloaded our luggage. The room was a non-smoking room, but it smelled as if someone had dumped an entire bottle of cleaner in the room to mask something else.

We went to the front desk to notify them. They stated that they had no other rooms at the Econo Lodge, but would put us at the hotel that was across the street (the Carriage House Motor Lodge). We were invited to look at the room, which we did. The room was much nicer than the Econo Lodge room and we agreed to stay there.

Because the 2 hotels are separate entities, we had to check out of one and check into the other. We were then informed that the room that we just looked at was not available for the entire time of our stay, but we could stay in another room there. We finally took that room and loaded all of our luggage back in the car to take it across the street to the Carriage House. (All of this, again, in the rain).

The desk clerk volunteered that she would get us a break on the room and come back later. We also needed to come back to provide our credit card for the new room. Amazingly, they were going to pre-authorize the cost of the entire stay on the room so I did not provide the card until they resolve whether we would get a break on the room and how much.

The first time I came back to ask about the break, the desk clerk said she had not talked to the manager about it.

The second time I came back, I spoke with the manager who wanted to know in detail what the problems were with the room and then said that he would have to talk to the desk clerk and asked me to come back that night.

The third time I came back, I asked the desk clerk whether the manager had spoken with her and he had not.

The fourth time I came back, the desk clerk told me that the manager had still not talked to her about it and then she called the manager on the telephone. (What a unique concept...calling to check with the manager over the telephone). She then informed me that they were reducing the entire stay of 5 days by $30.

Overall, the Carriage House is clean and updated; however, the staff is beyond disorganized.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionelpostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This motel is relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels in Lake Placid. You do get what you pay for; the room is very basic. It is also very clean! The breakfast is also very basic, just cold items served in a conference room. We had no issues with the motel and the owner was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Feb.2011: snow bulited-up to a dangerous level on the roof of the hotel, gave way and landed on my car which was parked in front of my hotel unit. As can be seen in the photo, my windshield was destroyed and the hood of my car was caved in from the weight of the snow. I was stuck at the hotel for a couple of days. The manager claimed not to have any insurance for this type of accident as it was an act of God. He refused to pay for any of my costs even though if proper building maintenance had been done to clean the dangerous snow level off of the roof, I wouldn't have to be writing this today.

Definitely a place where customer service and safety are not a priority. To avoid, especially in winter !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariejo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Econo Lodge, while not as fancy or picturesque as some of the places in Lake Placid, was everything we needed for our stay. It's about a mile from the center of town. The room was neat if a little used, and the view wasn't much to speak of, but it was very easy to get around and an excellent value considering the location. Also, they have a GORGEOUS indoor pool and Jacuzzi, our favorite part of the hotel. The continental breakfast wasn't much to speak of, but they did have coffee. Overall an EXCELLENT experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akey1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for the Lake Placid marathon. All we needed was a place to lay our head, we got more. The hotel is clean, maybe a little beat up, but clean. The front desk is tiny, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 5 minute drive to main street in downtown Lake Placid. The bonus we found was the indoor pool and hot tub. What a bonus?!!? The pool is nice and clean and the jacuzzi was perfect for a pre marathon soak. I can see where this would be valuable if you were skiing or hiking all day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmg2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#18 of 31 in Lake Placid
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143 (Formerly Econo Lodge Lake Placid)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing