We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rates during "leaf peeper" season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great rates during "leaf peeper" season”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We decided at the last minute to make a trip to the Adironacks to see the fall foliage. In searching for a small local hotel/motel we found many of them closed and those that were opened were charging more than we wanted to pay. We finally decided to check the chain hotels and found this one at a very good rate. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. The indoor pool was very clean. The only issue that I had was that the ice machine on our floor didn't work but walking down one floor to the other ice machine was no problem. I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infotohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    64
    49
    25
    21
See reviews for
65
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
upstate ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We wanted to visit the high peaks region during leaf peeping time and opted to hold out on making reservations until the last possible minute. We were looking for affordable, simple, and quiet as we were not planning on spending much time in our room. We found Econo Lodge and booked it. The staff was very friendly and professional, and the room was yes a bit behind in fancy bedding and furniture but it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. They offer a light fare for breakfast including waffles, oatmeal, english muffins, cold cereal and donuts coffee cocoa tea and juice. Which if you ask me is more than enough to get me going. The pool area was clean and well taken care of it could have used an area to put your belongings but was well supplied with towels and chairs even a shower. It's really close to downtown without fighting for parking at the other hotels and just a very short drive to Whiteface Mtn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building seperate from the office have indoor acess to the indoor pool without having t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here on 9/21/2013 because we could not get into any other hotels for a Saturday night stay. I stayed @ an Econolodge over the summer in Lake George and it was not too bad...definately livable. So, we figured since it was a chain, this one would be OK too. Boy were we ever wrong. I realize that Econolodge is called 'Econo' for a reason, but that does not mean the hotel should turn a complete blind eye to the condition of their rooms.

Below is a list of things we found wrong with our room:
The room smelled like they had used strong detergent to cover up the odor of vomit.
The bed was frightful! The sheets were haphazardly pulled over the pillows, making me think someone else had slept in them. When I kneeled on the bed to reach across it, my knee when clean down to the box spring! NO JOKE!
The blanket was dingy, limp and smelly.
The bathroom had mold on the ceiling.
The hallway carpets were stained and smelled horrible!
There was an in-room coffee maker with no supplies.
The piece of wood holding up the left side of the closet rack was listing sharply to the left, making me wonder if it was safe to use.
The breakfast was hideous. Awful coffee, nasty pre-packaged pastries. Nothing healthful to choose from. We did not eat there and threw the coffee they provided at breakfast out.
The location is bad...WAY out the center of Lake Placid.
We were charged $2.50 per day for the room safe which we did not use and were not issued a combination for. We were told at check-in they would take it off the bill. They never did.

If this is your only choice for a Lake Placid hotel, do not go because staying here will only ruin your vacation. It ruined ours.

Room Tip: Best tip is to not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieArlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Homer
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent one night here while visiting daughter at nearby college. Room rate was very reasonable, it was spacious and comfortable. "Continental" breakfast wasn't very appealing, but it wasn't a factor in deciding to stay there either. Rooms were quiet, location was convenient to downtown. Met our needs perfectly - we just wanted a comfortable room to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After a long day's hike up Mt Marcy just down the road, this was the perfect place to crash for the night. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been moor helpful, and, the location was in one of the nicest towns I can think of.
Great ending to a perfect hike!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
359 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

visiting for a lacrosse tournament....clean and no frills room, flat screen tv , fridge, and good internet....a little mustiness in the air, maybe the room was too close to the indoor pool and Jacuzzi..one window was forever fogged...should be replaced..the shower curtains are very short so becareful of flooding the floor...2nd day got new towels, but they did not take the last night's away???
The continental breakfast room was a conference room with 8 ft tables arrange cafeteria style, oj, coffee, milk, 2 cereal choices, English muffins, waffle maker, instant oatmeal, packaged donuts..I got my breakfast early, good thing as there appears to be no attendant and all needed to be restocked and wiped...maybe tomorrow will be better- $129/ nite, -should be $79-89 at best

Room Tip: we got the back side rooms, very quiet, rt 73 can be busy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-4143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing