We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect for the money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What you would expect for the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Basically this is an as advertised economy motel. We stayed at this hotel because it was pretty much the last one left with rooms available during peak season. It is not really within walking distance of downtown Lake Placid, but parking is pretty plentiful in town for a reasonable price (5.00 a day). The trolley does stop at the hotel, however, but comes about once an hour or less.

Rooms were on the old/dirty side, but not terribly so. Rooms had a strong odor at first, but smelled more like cleaning chemicals then dirty. Beds were comfortable but not new. Wallpaper peeling in bathroom, etc. There is an indoor pool open until 10 that the kids really enjoyed.

If I had my choice of places to stay, I would probably pick somewhere else. However, for the price and location, I was satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kberg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    64
    48
    25
    21
See reviews for
65
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I'm sorry to say, the hotel has had its glory days and now we can see it's aged. Situated in the beautiful Lake Placid area, this Econo Lodge does not have the greatest outside appearance. And even worse is that the rooms and facilities need a good facelift. It is not a pleasant view when the bathroom ceiling is all rusted.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowbird888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

not impressed, would not take my shoes off to walk on the carpet, the room smelled and the bathroom ceiling had rust marks all over it. I stayed here because my husband would not listen to me and chose to ingore the fact that I could have booked the Crowne Plaza for an extra $20 so we ended up here, I had to prove my point and show him that we WAY, WAY over paid for this room. Definitely not worth the $100 night price tag, check out different sites on line I am positive you could be something much nicer for almost the same price

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked a room at the EconoLodge but due to front desk mix up we wound up in the Carriage House Motel across the street - owned by the same people I guess - and we were shocked at how nice it was.

Obviously its a motel, so keep expectations realistic.

But the room was immaculate, the bed was super comfy, all the furniture and carpeting was new, walls were clean and undamaged, no funky odors, bathroom was SPOTLESS...plus there was a balcony and a very clean and well-maintained outdoor pool.

We paid WAY too much for the room, but that was our fault since we booked it on same day as arrival. Stupid mistake. Never wait until the last minute to reserve acommodations in places like the Adirondacks. If we had planned better, we would have paid closer to $90 instead of the $144 we were stuck with.

Also note that the location is not really a walkable distance to downtown. It's only a 5 minute drive though.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at the Econo Lodge over Valentine's weekend. Rooms were very comfortable, and the free wireless internet service was fast, required no setup and worked great. The staff was very helpful - we were able to check in early and the room cleaning was done around our schedule. Location is great, too - minutes away from Whiteface and Olympic Center. The pool is large, clean, and was a draw for many guests. One to keep in my address book!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Room was clean, large. Comfortable bed. Pool shaped like dolphin.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempest00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

A very nice place to stay at very reasonable rates. The room was clean and comfortable and the desk staff were very friendly.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBowhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#20 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prague Motor Inn
Prague Motor Inn
#18 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Property: Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing