We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUG!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BED BUG!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our family rented a room on Saturday August 9th (room 304 attached to the front desk area). We entered our room and the musty smell was overwhelming, the disgusting carpet and dirty coverlets was not a great first impression...but other hotels were Full as the Lacrosse Tournament and Hockey Jrs were in town. We said ok well a very steep price for such a dump...but not big deal. We crossed the street and bought Febreeze...At bedtime, I put my son into bed and turned the duvet over and there it was...a bed bug...Ran for my Iphone and took a photo. My husband took it to the front desk guy and he told us ''we spray''...and he gave us a refund. We packed all our belongings and returned home at midnight...The next day we spent our time washing our clothes in boiling water, vacuuming luggage and simply exausted and tremendously disapointed as we had planned to to tubing the next day at Ausable Chasms. Family weekend ended abruptly!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sof295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeplacidci, Manager at Quality Inn Lake Placid, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm almost at a loss for words. If you take a look at the picture you posted, you would plainly see that it is not a bed bug. Neither our hotel, nor any hotel in Lake Placid have ever had any bed bug issues that I know of. As for the hotel being a dump, roughly 65% of our guests are returning guests. We take pride in our property, and do our best to satisfy every guest we have stay with us. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied, but we would like to have you back to experience our property again. We defifnitely do not have groups like hockey and lacrosse in our hotel all the times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    140
    60
    26
    23
See reviews for
125
106
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is dated and in a slightly inconvenient location to the village (if you get beautiful weather you could arguably be in walking distance) but my room was not dirty. This is a pet friendly hotel, and we stayed in a pet friendly room even though we did not have a pet with us. There might have been a little more wear than normal on the room but it was situated on water which was nice. I would recommend taking a walk over to Saranac Sourdough's Deli across the street because we thought the owners were very nice, laid back, and made great food. Having stayed in other Comfort Inn locations I would say this was a typical experience - not great rooms but not dirty rooms.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are also on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreynolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeplacidci, Manager at Quality Inn Lake Placid, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I thought we were lucky to get this room for a three night stay for IRONMAN weekend. I would have rather stayed in my car. Gross, dirty carpet and dirty coverlet on the beds. The room smelled like dirty wet dog and the door was rusted out at the bottom and breaking apart. We had traveled 6 hours in a car and I needed to use the restroom the moment we opened the door, the toilet backed up with the first flush. The front desk did send the handman to fix that right away. I was happy that The Rite Aide was across the street, I went and bought Lysol and Febreze and sprayed the heck out of everything.
I will say that the location is good and the Sourdough Deli across the street was great.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again, for the price I would perfer a camp ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEB425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Little Current, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for several nights. The room was somewhat dated, but comfortable and clean. This is a 2 star hotel and I am rating it as such. There was a nice continental breakfast provided each day. The hotel is within walking distance of the down town core, a pharmacy and a grocery store, so really good location. Free wifi and a fridge in the room. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManitoulinTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake Placid Comfort Inn for three nights in July and had a very pleasant experience. The amenities at this hotel are great, especially for families. The pool area was very nice--it was clean and our kids really enjoyed it. We also really enjoyed using the hotel's canoes and paddling around the lake. The breakfast buffet was pretty good and comparable to other similar hotels. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location was good--not in the middle of town, but not far from things either. We would definitely stay here again and might bring our dog next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Ok. Rooms were dated and we skipped breakfast the second morning as it was quite bad, but the rooms were big and spacious as well as very clean.

The location was very good, meters from the main street and from a supermarket.

And considering the price of other hotels in Lake Placid it was quite a bargain.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We pulled in in on 5 July stayed 2 nights. From the booking to leaving it was a great experience. The staffers on the front desk recommended the poolside rooms which for us was opportune as we came via motorcycle, the hottub was near at hand :o) It is a short walk to town and the plaza.I would like to thank Patrick Butler for the intro to area and places to go. The maintenance staff who rescued the two young women by getting back in their rooms after they were locked out and to Ester who tended to our room. When we go back this fall I hope to stay (which btw I recommend) the second floor facing the lake. Check out the pictures on their facebook wedsite. Steve, Sheila

Room Tip: They have rooms that face the lake as well they have lodges facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lake Placid

Property: Quality Inn Lake Placid
Address: 2125 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe full hot breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and hot tub. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing