We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Effort by hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
upstate, ny
2 reviews
“Disappointing Effort by hotel!”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Initially planned on staying Friday 2.25 and Saturday night 2.26 (Empire State Games). Arrived a day early (actually at 1:00 am on the 25th) due to storm. Charged full same room rate, with no discount.....room was empty anyway right!, but ok. Hotel staff generally "cold" and impersonal, which I noted on several other reviews. Continental breakfast looks ok, but stick to the "pre-packaged" items or cereal. Muffins and Donuts were stale, banana's were green/unripened, hard boiled eggs rubbery and nasty. Not much of an added benefit (so maybe a cheaper hotel w/out breakfast would be better). Maintenance really lacking. Faulty hairdryer in room darn near shorted out/sparks etc, so obviously this appliance is not routinely checked. Refrigerator was apparently set on some kind of auto defrost cycle (something maintenance found on back of refrig) which defrosted/did not keep my newly purchased food fresh. No attempts to shovel/sand or plow. While the weather was tough and lots of snow, they really didn't even try to keep up. I had to use my own shovel, to clear walkway and lot near my car. Cars were getting stuck and sliding......yes the weather was bad and not their fault, but they didn't even try. Certainly could have shoveled the walks in front of rooms....that didn't happen till the 3rd day on check out. Calls to front desk, after hairdryer incident went unanswered for over 40 rings, forcing me to walk with wet hair, through snow (not shoveled) to front office.
Seems as if they don't care....once you arrive, you are kind of stuck as most other places booked due to various events. Room was typical standard room and generally clean.....nothing special. If not assigned a room in main building, you must drive up to pool.laundry.breakfast...too steep to walk on snow covered roads and stairs. Generally would opt to choose elsewhere, next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsrps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    140
    60
    26
    23
See reviews for
125
106
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The check-in is at the bottom of the hill.99% of the rooms are way up a super steep Jill. And in winter it is covered in snow and ice. It is impossible to navigate on foot. You need to drive down the hill (all parking is up the hill,food,pool) or take a taxi down.

We had a large poolside room (beds are awful) and you can hear everything from pool area and restaurant area.

Staff ranged from barely acknowledging us at check-in to being helpful on the phone.

Don't forget to stop at front desk to have charge for hotel safe removed from your bill.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingersmomnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern US
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed one night here because the price was more reasonable for a Saturday night. It was $100 as opposed to $200 for the other better hotels in Lake Placid. One of our requirements is having an indoor pool because one member of our party is 9 year old. The pool area was very nice. The beds were standard hotel. Not horrible but not the 'fluffy' beds many hotels have updated too. The mini fridge and microwave were a nice feature and the complimentary breakfast had a decent variety of fresh food.
The only downside of the hotel is that it is a little bit away from Main Street. Walking there for dinner is too much of a hike with a younger child. But in the summer, the location is right on Lake Placid so that might be a decent trade off.
We would definitely stay there again and are thinking about returning for a trip in late spring or early summer. The staff was very friendly and everyone seemed happy in their jobs. Over all it was a very pleasant night.

And don't forget to visit the Howard Johnson's restaurant too. It is owned by the same family (the Butlers) that owns the hotel and both have been owned by them for years. (As a kid I used to stay at the then HoJo's Hotel (now the Comfort) with my parents and I have never been to the hotel or restaurant without seeing at least one of the Butlers on the premises.)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixie-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Overall, the room was nice. We had a balcony with a nice view. The room was clean, except the bathtub could use a good scrubbing. The beds were comfortable, but the walls are very thin, so you can hear EVERYTHING in the hallway and in the adjoining rooms. Our blow dryer and refrigerator did not work, but we did without.. The pool/jacuzzi area was very nice, we had it to ourselves both times we went. The continental breakfast had a nice variety of food, but the quality was mediocre at best. The hotel staff was not overly friendly, but not rude either. The location is great, minutes from just about everything.
We ate at the Howard Johnson's restaurant next door (same owner as the hotel) the first night. Word to the wise, do not choose the buffet...the food was NOT good. The staff was not very friendly or helpful either. The second night we ordered food from the Chinese restaurant in town. The food was very good, with generous portions at a reasonable price.
We would more than likely stay at this hotel again, as we got an excellent rate with our AAA discount, at just $62.99 per night. For the money, it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aking724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Attended a wedding at Lake Placid Mountain Lodge. We had over 25+ rooms rented for 2 nights and we were thrown out of courtyard for no reason. We explained that we were here for a wedding and just wanted to sit around and talk and they even called the Sherrif to have us removed from the courtyard. Explained to Manager and was told that we threw beer cans and other things at Night Manager, that never happened. We were even talking about coming back for a long weekend. IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patches7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

On our summer trip to Lake Placid we were looking for an affordable room with some amenities for our family with young children. We were very happy with this hotel, the room, while a little dated, offered us a clean comfortable space with a pool and a decent complimentary continental breakfast at a reasonable rate. We further took advantage of the row boat for a little rowing on Lake Placid. This hotel is outside of the main street area, so it is a long walk into the business area, but there is a free shuttle / bus that picks up and drops off in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbikerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We spent 3 nights in lake placid at the comfort inn. Nice, clean, comfortable room. We had a balcony with a view of the mountains as well as the road. Our room was in the front building behind the office so we were able to park right in front of our door which is a great convenience. Unfortunately that meant a short outside walk to the main building with the breakfast area and pool. No big deal really, but a consideration for elderly travellers or those with mobility issues. Our room was a good size, clean, and well equiped with fridge and microwave. The balcony was nice to sit out in the evening. Close to the road, but still quiet enough to get good night's sleep on the very comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good. Everything you could want and the staff kept it clean and well stocked. The hotel was not near full while we were there so no line ups for breakfast. Pool and hot tub were nice and well maintained. Location is good if you don't mind driving into the main part of town. If you want to be able to walk to all shopping from your hotel you should stay downtown. This hotel is close to a price chopper grocery store so we stocked up on picnic supplies each day and had a picnic lunch wherever we happened to be. Gas station conveniently nearby too. There are free canoes, row boats and paddle boats but we did not use these. Maid service was very good. Don't forget to pick up the coupons for local attractions at the motel office. We saved quite a bit by using them. They only negative comment I have is the office staff seemed uninterested and not the usual friendly helpful staff you would expect at a tourist hotel. We only interacted with them at check in and check out so this did not detract from our holiday. Overall we had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel and would recommend it for anyone visiting lake placid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Lake Placid

Property: Quality Inn Lake Placid
Address: 2125 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe full hot breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and hot tub. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing