We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Adirondacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 19 November 2007

On and off for the past 20 years, I have visited Lake Placid. Having grown up a figure skater, I traveled for competitions each winter.

Over the course of the past five years, my husband and I have taken our kids (a total of three now) to the Mirror Lake Inn between Christmas and New Year's.

The staff at the MLI are wonderful; the rooms are beautiful, and what you would expect from a four diamond resort. I have stayed in a Marcy Room, Clousdplitter room and a small suite. All are comfortable. In the winter time, the Inn is decorated beautifully for Christmas and the lobby areas are cozy with burning fires, warm blankets, fresh-baked cookies, and a cabinet full of games to play. (Bring your own games, too as they are popular).

Grab MLI's cookies and tea in the afternoon!

Dinner at The View is well-prepared; cater to children, even on high holiday season. Definitely have the granola with yogurt in the morning. It's delicious.

Purchase lift tickets at the services desk to avoid waiting in line at Whiteface.

Bring a sled to sled down the hill at the golf course on the way home from a day skiing Whiteface.

Pool is small but very nice. Jacuzzi is well-maintained.

The spa is a sanctuary and provide quality services.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank momeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2007

My husband and I wanted a convenient and enjoyable destination at which to celebrate our anniversary so we booked a suite at the Mirror Lake Inn, choosing to stay in the Colonial Suites building.We wanted pampered luxury and we were not disappointed. The staff is warm and professional. Our suite was beautiful and comfortable with agorgeous view of the lake. The location in Lake Placid made for easy walks to shopping and entertainment. We hated to leave. I would have one suggestion for the managment however...after taxes and gratuity, our suite was nearly $ 1,000 a night, and at that rate, charging extra for internet access seems a little petty. Computers are an intregal part of our daily lives these days and at that level of service,internet access should be provided as a courtesy. We are discriminating as anyone, and we loved the M.L.I. and will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pepNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

My husband and I had made reservations at another property in Lake Placid for 5 nights in mid-September, and upon our arrival later in the evening, we found that the hotel and our reserved room didn't meet our expectations. We thought we'd try the Mirror Lake Inn on the chance they may have an opening for that night. We figured we stay the one night and move on to another property somewhere else in Lake Placid. The Inn was most gracious to accomodate us without a reservation, placing us in a beautiful room in the MountainView Bldg. Once we entered the room and put our luggage down, we decided to ask if there were any openings for the rest of the week. We hit the jackpot on that one. Yes, there was a room available in the main building on the ground floor with parking directly in front. So, here we were for an additional 4 nights, staying in a hotel with the most fabulous views, gracious staff, relaxing spa treatments, and wonderful food that you could imagine.

The whole experience of staying at the Mirror Lake Inn is just that, an experience. We loved it so much, we have reserved a room for Sept. 2008 for another week!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdirondackNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I was looking for a romantic inn for us to stay for our anniversary and a long awaited weekend without the children. The Mirror Lake Inn was the perfect spot. The service was wonderful from the View staff to the housekeeping staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our 4th floor room had a beautiful view of the lake as promised and was a large clean room with a nice balcony. The Inn had numerous cozy spots and fireplaces to sit by and enjoy a drink or the delicious cookies they provide at afternoon tea.
We are already planning our next trip for a ski weekend this winter with the children. We saw many well behaved chidren during our visit and the Inn seemed to be a very family friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadtripperNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I've spent the last two Columbus Day weekends at the Mirror Lake Inn and have been very satisfied with the stay. I can understand why some folks might think that it's a little more out of town than it is from brochures, but I would not say it's on a particularly busy street by any urban standards.

The website is quite clear in identifying which rooms have views. Last year I stayed in a very peaceful room with a view and balcony. This year I passed up most of the view for a fancier room. My partner and I love not having to use the car and walking through town and around the Lake.

Dinners in The View restaurant have been great. Last year maybe better than '07 but high quality. Service might be a tad swifter.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYPoliticalAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Based on the brochures and website, we expected the inn to be a bit more excluded than it actually was -- while all of the pictures on their site are clearly real, they were all clearly staged to avoid having anything other than the natural beaty of Mirror Lake appear. In fact, its located on a somewhat busy road, about 50 yards from the main drag in Lake Placid.

The rooms were tastefully appointed, and the restaurant exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Director of Operations at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2007

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and for your observations about your visit.

We are very happy that you felt your room was tastefully appointed and that our restaurant was exceptional.

I apologize that you felt we would be in a more secluded location. Our location is one of our greatest selling points. However, due to feedback similar to yours we have made some changes to our web site to more clearly describe our location and the type of resort we are. Directly on our home page, so that it can’t be missed, we explain where the Inn is situated in relation to the village, Mirror Lake, and Mirror Lake Drive. Within this description and on each drop down menu is a link to our map of the grounds. We have made changes to the map as well to clearly show the location of each building, our private beach, the lake, Mirror Lake Drive and the distance to the village. The pictures on our web site are taken directly from our guest rooms or various locations on the property that are all readily accessible to guests staying with us. Additionally we added an aerial photo which provides another view of the overall layout of the property and location.

It would be very helpful to us if you could tell us when you made your reservation so we can determine if the changes to our site were made before or after you made your reservations. You can reach me directly at 518-523-7834 ext. 252 or carl@mirrorlakeinn.com

We are very sorry that we did not completely meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, Director of Operations




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

i think this places is somewhat overrated and especially not worth the high price. i cannot argue with the cleanlness and the room was nice and large, but the service was just mediocre and the view is not what you expect from the impression of the website. Another reviewer mentions the parkling lot and buses, which definitely detract from the place. in fact, it is more like a very fancy motel than a lake resort, lacking any real charm that i would expect from the price. Not to fault the hotel, but lake placid has become very touristy and may have something to do with my disappointment, The dinner was very good, but somewhat overpriced as well, i am from new york and am used to high prices

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Director of Operations at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2007

Dear Guest,
Thank you for being our guest.

We are pleased that you felt your room was nice and the cleanliness and size of the room met your expectations.

I apologize for not meeting all of your expectations regarding service and the view. The service we provide is always our main focus and the comment we received most often is about the exceptional service we provide. A majority of our parking is conveniently located behind our guest rooms as shown on our grounds map on our web site. We do welcome guests touring northern New York and New England during a short period of time in the fall travelling with Tauck World Discovery a very reputable and quality Tour Company and the only one we do business with.

I must take exception to your comment that we are “more like a fancy motel”. Our common areas are very well designed and comfortable with overstuffed chairs and leather couches, stone fireplaces, mahogany trim, marble accents and walnut floors with many cozy sitting areas. Our guests frequently tell us they really enjoy the traditional feel and charm of the Inn and feel like it is their home away from home. You can often find a guest curled up in front of the fireplace taking a nap. Our rooms are outfitted with quality residential furniture, many with wood or marble entrances and all have custom wood trim and views of beautiful Mirror Lake and the Adirondack high peaks. The pictures of the views on our web site are taken directly from our guest rooms or various locations on the property that are all readily accessible to guests staying with us.
Once again, thank you for being our guest and we hope you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, Director of Operations




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £175 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing