We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect if not for one terrible sore spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect if not for one terrible sore spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Inn itself was magnificant, but their influence did not spread as far as The Cottage on the lake. The service there was terrible and the food even worse. The latter looked and tasted as if it came directly out of a can. Rather than a romantic interlude in an engaging ambiance, we experienced serious disappointment. It was a tedius experience that we guarantee will not be repeated.

Unfortunately, this was one of the reasons we came back to the Mirror Lake Inn in the first place.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for being our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed the Inn, but are very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations at The Cottage as we have in the past. We receive many positive comments on the food and service there. I hope that you told your server what was wrong so that we could do something for you. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction! We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    176
    55
    27
    9
See reviews for
260
568
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our family has made 5 summer trips to Lake Placid. The last 2 we spent at Mirror Lake Inn. It is a bit pricey but their family special reduces costs a bit and the value you get is superior as far as activities, environment, customer service, etc.

We have 2 children (5 & 13) and their favorite thing to do is to play at Mirror Lake's beach. They have kayaks, a row boat, all the toys kids need and 2 floating decks that make us (the parents) think back to our days when visiting the lake was a daily thing, not a yearly thing. The indoor pool was a find for this year. We had only used the outdoor pool and lake but finally ventured inside as we had bad weather. It was GREAT! They have a huge hot tub and a nice-sized pool nestled within a woodsy environment and with a great view of Mirror Lake.

The Rooms are perfect for a family of 4. Very Nicely appointed with a feel of being in a log cabin or in the woods.

Finally, you cannot beet The View restaurant and the unlimited availability of chocolate chip cookies or the front desk or at tea-time in the lounge/game/deck area. The View's menu has choices you find in NYC fine restaurants and they have a great deal of kids eating at discounted rate before dinner rush hour. We have done it and will continue on future visits.

The grounds are immaculately kept with flowers blooming everywhere and patches of wonderful greens throughout. They have a peaceful waterfall and many chairs placed for those who have some time to read and soak up the sun.

You will not regret a visit to this idyllic Inn... I promise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parisfamilyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Three of us (two girls and a guy) splashed out and spent three nights here in September 2010. The price range is high for what we can usually manage, but we wanted something special - and we got it. Lovely rooms, beautiful view of Mirror Lake, and extremely warm and friendly staff who did everything possible to meet our needs.

Example: there was no coffee maker or kettle in the room (because the inn provides it FOC in the lobby - very cosy and nice). We asked for one anyway because we wanted to make tea in our room, and within five minutes three different staff - count 'em, three! - showed up with various versions of kettles, coffee makers and hot water for both our rooms, plus an assortment of teas.

Another example: I have a bad back and needed a certain type of chair in the dining room, which I asked for on the first day, but which was waiting for me on the next two days. Nice individual touches like that.

The staff are very, very friendly and there is none of that snobbishness that you get with some five-star inns and resorts. Location is perfect: on a rise overlooking the lake, 5 minutes from great shopping in one of our favourite places in N. America: Lake Placid.

Suggestion: enjoy some of your meals across the road at the Inn's cosy pub, The Cottage. The food's quite good, it's very informal and is more relaxing than the Inn's dining room, where the food is just OK, but the atmosphere is a bit stiff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouperOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for being our guests last fall! We are glad that you enjoyed your room, view of Mirror Lake and that the staff were very, very friendly and helpful! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed for a weekend in August to explore the Adironack region....A great location - but definitely NOTHING like the pictures - particularly those take for Jetsetter.

I appreciate that summer is their busiest time (slightly odd for a winter olympics village - but nevermind) but for $444 including tax for a room per night, which does NOT include breakfast, it was simply not up to scratch. Room a decent size, but no mini bar and very old furnishings and small TV and staff had a slight attitude.

If you do stay - try to negotiate a better rate - because the actual location of the region and hotel overlooking the lake (if you have a view - we did) is very nice. Also recommend the Cottage out of the eating establishments at the hotel - both the view and bistro - old fashioned and stuffy... and as a result were empty compared to the Cottage.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for being our guest.

The pictures on Jetsetter of the rooms, restaurant and common areas are extremely accurate. However, one of the photos of the dock is an older photo and has been removed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have no reason to raise expectations by posting inaccurate pictures and then not be able to meet those expectations. Lake Placid is a great year-round destination although you will find it busier in the summer than the winter simply because more people travel in the summer. I noticed the picture of a snowboarder you use as your TripAdvisor photo. If you are a winter enthusiast, I recommend your visit us in the winter. Lake Placid is truly a special place during the winter season.

All of our furnishings are of residential quality and more of a traditional style in keeping with the overall ambiance of the Inn. We are not a contemporary style hotel as you can see from the pictures on our web site. Each room has a refrigerator for guest to stock with items they prefer opposed to over priced items found in mini-bars. I am very surprised that you felt our staff had a slight attitude. One of the comments we receive most often out of the thousands of comments we receive is how friendly and helpful our staff are. The Cottage is a great place to have a very relaxed and casual lunch or dinner compared to The View and the Bistro, which are certainly more upscale. I am glad you enjoyed dining at The Cottage. We try to provide our guests an enjoyable dining experience and do not pack people in. Additionally, we space the reservations out so that we can provide a quality experience that our guests have come to expect and appreciate. During a recent inspection by AAA, the inspector commented on the generous spacing between the tables in The View restaurant. I am not sure when you dined with us, but August has been a very busy month in all three of our restaurants.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I hope to see you this winter. We have great snowboarding at Whiteface Mountain.

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Mirror Lake Inn is located walking distance to the town of Lake Placid. No need to drive in this community. My husband and I stayed in a suite in the Lake Cottage with a large balcony and great view of the lake and the mountains. The room was well equipped and the service was splendid. Swimming in Mirror Lake was one of the many highlights of this long weekend. The lake is clean (and a warm 76 degrees at this time of year), and towels are provided to guests of the hotel. Kayaks and paddle boats are also available to hotel guests on a first come, first serve basis. I highly recommend stopping in at Jones Outfitters on Main Street and inquiring about hiring a guide for hiking or fishing. My husband and I hired Zac Horrocks for a three hour private fishing expedition in the wee hours of the morning. We not only caught a great sunrise over the mountains, we also caught five lake trout and one bass. Don't forget to bring your fishing license (or you can conveniently purchase one right at Jones Outfitters). Zac is personable and friendly, and he made the trip even more enjoyable by providing entertaining stories and history on the camps situated on the lake. Food at the Cottage was dynamite, and live music was provided on Friday and Saturday nights at the Cottage and le Bistro (both located at the resort). The gym is also well equipped and is open long hours for the exercise enthusiast. My husband and I stayed three nights and it was a perfect place to get away from it all and relax in beautiful surroundings in a hotel with great service. I highly recommend the Inn and would go back again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Great getaway in the mountains

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you thought Mirror Lake Inn was a perfect place to get away from it all and that you enjoyed your long weekend in our Adirondack Suite in the Lake Cottage. It’s nice to hear that you had a wonderful experience with your private fishing expedition and caught 6 fish! Congratulations! We look forward to your return and thank you for recommending us!

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

First and foremost... we did not stay at the Mirror Lake Inn, although we definitely will if/when we return to Lake Placid. It's rustic and charming with a lodge feel... exposed wood beams, leather chairs and lots of little screened in porches to enjoy. We toured all the major resorts, and liked the Mirror Lake Inn atmosphere/ambiance the best. That's why I rate it as "very good" even though we had such a strange encounter...

We returned to Mirror Inn one night for drinks at the Bistro Bar. Loved the looks of this place, and the fellow guests were all relaxed and friendly. Now for the weird part. My husband is a chatter, sales type personality. He loves people and firmly believes getting to know the people in a place is as important as the place itself. So... he asks the bartender if she is a local. She replies "No, I drive from Florida every day." A rather strange response, but we give her the benefit of the doubt and take it as a joke that flopped. Then husband starts talking about skiing and asks her if she enjoys it. She answers one syllable "Yes." Ding Ding Ding... common interest! Perhaps husband should have stopped there. He then tells her we have never skied the East Coast, but ski Colorado frequently. She then uses the mocking "whoo" sound that goes up and down the scale to denote "wow, aren't you cool." Wow. I think she must have been having a REALLY bad day. I have never heard my husband mocked before. On the plus side, her responses provided our family with much laughter over the next few days trying to out "sarcast" each other and use the "whoo" sound whenever possible.

Seriously, we own a retail store. I know it's hard to put your best face forward each and every day, but if you are in customer service, it's part of your job to be friendly and welcoming. We would have been happy with just not rude! We'll be back, but is she scaring off others?

This did not put me off from wanting to stay at Mirror Inn, but I would peak around the corner to see if she was working before I had a drink at the bar... or at least wear my flak jacket.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MelvinaSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

This review truly puzzles us. We have only one female bartender who is one of the friendliest and most customer oriented staff members we have. I couldn’t imagine her ever treating a guest this way. Even after reading your review all she could say was this was not me.

We take all of the feedback we receive very seriously whether it is written, verbal or on-line posts. We make many decisions based on this feedback. If you have any more details that would help us clarify your post I would appreciate it if you could pass them along. If there is any accuracy to this at all I would certainly like to address it immedialy however, I would truly regret taking any action that was not warranted.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Beautiful property, a bit expensive but worth it. My parent room was a normal two full beds with a beautiful Mirror Lake view, our bedroom was a beautiful, romantic king bed with the most beautiful view ever. The breakfast was good at the view restaurant, the host wasnt to nice but our waiter was good. So nice to come back from canoeing and a butler was waiting with cookies, tea, cofee, and water for the guest, nive touch. Love ther beach, was so cute, with lots of things to do, indoor pool, outside pool. We ate at The View as well at the Shack and we like the Shack better. Love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahamradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you felt that our property was beautiful, the rooms had a great view and that breakfast was good. It was also nice to hear that you enjoyed The Cottage, afternoon tea, coffee and our homemade chocolate chip cookies in the living room. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing