We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We visited the Inn to celebrate our Anniversary last month and what a wonderful time we had. The staff was GREAT and the food was amazing. We so enjoyed our room, what a beautiful location and beautiful property. We could not have asked for more. The extra touches like the fireplace, the dock to enjoy in the evenings and even the "smores on the beach" made this a very special weekend for us.

This was our first visit to the Inn and won't be our last. Thank you so much for making our Anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaWa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for being our guests! Happy Anniversary again! We appreciate your comments and share them with all the staff. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is absolutely wonderful, nicely kept, very clean and lovely. However the restaurant in the hotel.... just not worth the money. The pool and hot tub are great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for being our guest. I am sorry that you didn’t feel that The View restaurant was worth the money. We receive many positive comments about the restaurant and if we do make a mistake we pride ourselves on making it right. Please contact me directly and tell me more about your restaurant experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband, daughter and I took a last minute trip to the Adirondacks after Hurricane Irene cancelled our trip to the Outer Banks for us. I had found the Mirror Lake Inn on Trip Advisor and our experience was quite nice and consistent with the information we found on Trip Advisor.
As noted by another Trip Advisor reviewer, the pictures on the hotel's website really do not provide an accurate depiction of either the feel or the look of the hotel. The hotel consists of a grouping of buildings right on Mirror Lake and does not have the feel of a self contained resort upon your arrival. It looks like a lovely lakeside inn that has been added to over time.
We very quickly did get the feel of a four star, self contained resort. The staff is extremely helpful and gracious-from the front desk to, to the chamber maids to Matt on the beach! The rooms are spacious and we had a mountain view room which was really nice. We added a night to our stay which involved moving to a room on a lower floor whose furnishings, while nice,were not quite as impressive as the Stickley style decor of our first room. Nonethless, the view was still fantastic and the room was clean and spacious. Spa robes and nice linen and towels always make a difference.
The Mirror Lake Inn offers so much to do on the property and everything is very family friendly with no uptight rules. The gym is really nice with new equipment and we were able to bring our 13-year old daughter for workouts (not always the case in hotels despite the maturity and physical abilities of the child). There is also an indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna area that my daughter and I used a lot throughout our stay. We also had spa treatments-my daughter's first deluxe pedicure. The service and staff in the spa professional and friendly. Only complaint is that I expected that we would have our treatment in the typical relaxing spa setting and that my daughter and I would be able to sit around in robes and drink tea together. Unfortunately, we were escorted to the hair salon which is not spa like, at all.
The beach is an intimate spot on the lake where you can borrow-not rent-boats and kayaks whenever you would like. This was really one of our favorite parts of the inn. The fishing was great and equipment was easy to get right in town.
The lobby of the inn is beautiful and you can sit, read have a drink (or one or two of the constantly available free chocolate chip cookies) and enjoy the view. Traditional Adirondack decor and really nice.
The food at the Inn varies. We did not elect to dine at the outrageously priced View Restaurant. We are from the NYC area and it seemed too outrageous even by our standards. We had dinner at Taste one night and we liked the setting and the food was really delicious. The service was unfortunately bad-slow and surly waiter. I wanted to enjoy a glass of wine (very nice selection of wines) and the view as I waited for my husband and daughter and it took 30 minutes and prompting to get it AFTER I had placed my order. It put a real black eye on the experience, especially since the waiter was not apologetic in the least and rather hostile since I had to ask a waitress for help. The food at the Cottage is ok-stick to nachos and beer here.
Staff at the front desk is extraordinary! They were very patient and helpful -no matter what the request. I was only a little frustrated that when I inquired regarding things to do in the area, there was a real push to stay on property or in the village of Lake Placid. Some of the things that I had had on my list were not available due to the rain that had hit the area but it would have been nice to get some suggestions from the front desk that were not limited to the village or the inn. I was discouraged from going to Saranac Lake only to discover later that there is a cute Main Street with art galleries, shops and a couple of nice restaurants. That would have been a nice morning diversion.
Only one strong suggestion for improvement to the management-please reduce the atmospheric air freshener that blasts as you enter the main door to the hotel. Really overwhelming and unnecessary. The eucalyptus aroma from the spa makes its way up the stairs (only to mix with the other-ugh) and it is really quite nice.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Check special offers on the Inn's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CND26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for being our guests! We are glad that you decided to stay with us when your trip to the Outer Banks got cancelled due to Hurricane Irene. We appreciate your feedback on your dining experiences and will address your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will definitely be back! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for a week in August and had a lovely overall experience. The resort's location can't be beat - It's walking distance to everything downtown, without being in the middle of downtown and right across the street from the lake. The small private beach was great. We enjoyed getting a drink from the cottage resturant (part of the resort, directly on the lake) and walking over to the dock off the beach & watching the sun set over the lake. The main lodge building was very nice - it had a rustic eligance to it. The "lobby" was more like an extended living room, with a fireplace and lots of comforable chairs/couchs to sit and have a drink or read a book.

The rooms are nice - but probably in need of an update or two. We weren't on vacation to watch TV - but we enjoy watching a movie in bed or putting on espn in the morning - the TV in the room was a small old tube model that was very staticy on about 1/2 the channels. The beds were fine and the room was generally clean - but it's probably time for them to get rid of the dark green carpeting and buy a new shower curtain.

What we appreciated most about our stay was the service. All of the front desk workers were beyond helpful with everything from reservations, to local activities and things to do in the area. The hotel itself offers organized activities just about every day (one night was a campfire on the beach, another a boat outing, and there were yoga classes a couple days a week). We used the spa and the women there were very friendly and professional. Even the cleaning staff were cheerful and professional - always greeting you and offering to help us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Inn itself was magnificant, but their influence did not spread as far as The Cottage on the lake. The service there was terrible and the food even worse. The latter looked and tasted as if it came directly out of a can. Rather than a romantic interlude in an engaging ambiance, we experienced serious disappointment. It was a tedius experience that we guarantee will not be repeated.

Unfortunately, this was one of the reasons we came back to the Mirror Lake Inn in the first place.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed the Inn, but are very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations at The Cottage as we have in the past. We receive many positive comments on the food and service there. I hope that you told your server what was wrong so that we could do something for you. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction! We hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our family has made 5 summer trips to Lake Placid. The last 2 we spent at Mirror Lake Inn. It is a bit pricey but their family special reduces costs a bit and the value you get is superior as far as activities, environment, customer service, etc.

We have 2 children (5 & 13) and their favorite thing to do is to play at Mirror Lake's beach. They have kayaks, a row boat, all the toys kids need and 2 floating decks that make us (the parents) think back to our days when visiting the lake was a daily thing, not a yearly thing. The indoor pool was a find for this year. We had only used the outdoor pool and lake but finally ventured inside as we had bad weather. It was GREAT! They have a huge hot tub and a nice-sized pool nestled within a woodsy environment and with a great view of Mirror Lake.

The Rooms are perfect for a family of 4. Very Nicely appointed with a feel of being in a log cabin or in the woods.

Finally, you cannot beet The View restaurant and the unlimited availability of chocolate chip cookies or the front desk or at tea-time in the lounge/game/deck area. The View's menu has choices you find in NYC fine restaurants and they have a great deal of kids eating at discounted rate before dinner rush hour. We have done it and will continue on future visits.

The grounds are immaculately kept with flowers blooming everywhere and patches of wonderful greens throughout. They have a peaceful waterfall and many chairs placed for those who have some time to read and soak up the sun.

You will not regret a visit to this idyllic Inn... I promise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisfamilyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Three of us (two girls and a guy) splashed out and spent three nights here in September 2010. The price range is high for what we can usually manage, but we wanted something special - and we got it. Lovely rooms, beautiful view of Mirror Lake, and extremely warm and friendly staff who did everything possible to meet our needs.

Example: there was no coffee maker or kettle in the room (because the inn provides it FOC in the lobby - very cosy and nice). We asked for one anyway because we wanted to make tea in our room, and within five minutes three different staff - count 'em, three! - showed up with various versions of kettles, coffee makers and hot water for both our rooms, plus an assortment of teas.

Another example: I have a bad back and needed a certain type of chair in the dining room, which I asked for on the first day, but which was waiting for me on the next two days. Nice individual touches like that.

The staff are very, very friendly and there is none of that snobbishness that you get with some five-star inns and resorts. Location is perfect: on a rise overlooking the lake, 5 minutes from great shopping in one of our favourite places in N. America: Lake Placid.

Suggestion: enjoy some of your meals across the road at the Inn's cosy pub, The Cottage. The food's quite good, it's very informal and is more relaxing than the Inn's dining room, where the food is just OK, but the atmosphere is a bit stiff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouperOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you for being our guests last fall! We are glad that you enjoyed your room, view of Mirror Lake and that the staff were very, very friendly and helpful! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £179 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing