We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place with something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful place with something for everyone”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My family and I spent a week at the Mirror Lake Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Inn has beautiful views of the lake and mountains and the the entire property has a relaxed, upscale atmosphere. My mother did not participate in adventure activities, but ended up meeting a number of very nice people just hanging around the Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel includes a gratuity charge which is nice, so you don't have to worry about tipping along the way. There are adirondak chairs placed all over the property and I think I sat in them all!! My favorite was down on the dock near the beach area. There is a lot to do so make sure you check with the front desk for a list of the week's activities. We participated in the sunset hike and canoe trip. Both were enjoyable. The hotel has a beach area and provides free use of kayaks. Taking a kayak out on the lake was a lot of fun. The town is lovely and we enjoyed dinner at Jimmy's Italian Restaurant where we sat outside. We rented bikes and road around the lake and did a day trip to Falls River Gorge. All were fun and worth our time. I plan on coming back to the Mirror Lake Inn again. It is a wonderful piece of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view. Mountain view rooms right behind the main building can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotravel903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    179
    56
    27
    9
See reviews for
266
584
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our get-away stay here. As many reviewers have noted, the guestrooms were exceptionally comfortable, the lake view from our balcony was wonderful, and the food at the hotel’s higher-end restaurant (The View) was very good. All in all, it seemed like a worthwhile splurge of a little extra vacation money since we knew that other comparable options in the area would be no cheaper (and sometimes much more expensive). And yet, we couldn’t help but notice a few things that might have changed our opinion had we been here for more “in-the-lake” activities than just “sitting-on-the-balcony” viewing. Unlike many resorts we have visited, access to the lake was curiously cumbersome for almost all of the guestrooms except for those in the pricier Lake Cottage building. The problem is fairly easy to see if you check out a map of the property on the resort’s website. The city street (Mirror Lake Drive) that separates the main portion of the property from the lake is not a trivial, low density, always-easy-to-cross road – at least not at the times we crossed it. The pedestrian crosswalks are well-marked but getting to the lake still requires navigating across the road to a relatively narrow entrance area that leads to a smallish swimming and dock area. This was not a big deal for us, but families might want to consider an alternative if they have younger children and are looking for a resort in or near Lake Placid that offers an easier, safer, and more relaxing walk between the guestrooms and the lake activities they plan to pursue.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Highway_Marker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I took my daughter for a mother-daughter getaway to hike, relax, browse shops and enjoy good meals. We had it all in Lake Placid with the hotel providing the perfect setting. Footsteps away from the lake with spectacular views from our room, The View Restaurant and The Bistro, we enjoyed a package with spa services and breakfast. The service from the front desk staff to the restaurant staff was outstanding! Though the breakfast room doesn't open until 7:30 a.m., a little late for a day of hiking, the kitchen accommodated us with our request for whole wheat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Coffee is always hot and available in the lobby, as is a beautiful sitting room with a fireplace to relax and a library with daily newspapers and a TV to catch the days news. The spa is spectacular and incredibly relaxing. We were late coming back from climbing Algonquin and the spa staff waited to provide our massages to culminate an exciting day. Our package was priced somewhat reasonably, as spa services, breakfast and tips were all included. We just made the cutoff before rates went up heading into the summer season. Excellent location for a short walk into the center of town. I plan to return some fall with my husband. He will love it.

Room Tip: There are really gorgeous rooms, but you pay the price. The room included in the package was just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Junket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for one night over a mini 4th of July get away. We had a lovely suite overlooking the lake with balcony. I cannot say what prices are in the area because we did not look around. Our rate seemed high but perhaps it was not - and it was the holiday period of course.

Interior spaces are nicely kept up and lodge-feeling. Outside pool was nice and we liked the location close to town but on the edge. Room service was ok but the hotel very nicely took care of an issue we had.

We enjoyed the stay but feel like cleaning staff should clean the balconies as well so they are on par with the cleanliness inside. We shared our balcony with lots of spider webs and large spiders. I know they could return fast but I think these had been there for a while.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is immaculate with amazing views and great proximity to downtown. The staff for the most part was very good and always polite and the hotel grounds are kept up very well. The hotel is a bit pricey and expected maybe a bit more for what we paid. The TVs in the rooms desperately need upgrading. The bed was a bit stiff but they did accommodate us with a king when only a queen was available originally. They remembered that we were there for my wife's birthday (back when I originally made the reservations) and left a small gift in the room for her and even a birthday surprise when we ate at their View restaurant that first evening.
My wife did enjoy some of what the spa had to offer and really enjoyed it. The hotel was a great splurge and glad we did it but there are better values out there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We've stayed here several times, and always enjoyed it. The rooms are varied in size, so your party can be any size and still be comfortable; the food is good but not uber-stylized; the town is very nice to wander through, and the lake is, of course, gorgeous. The hotel is across the street from the lake. Nicely done.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marysidneyherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Love the private dock and proximity to the "main strip" but it is quiet because through traffic moves in the opposite direction of the inn. Somewhat pricey and a bit dated but, every autumn I look for an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacations702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us twice! We are happy that you enjoy our private dock and the lake during the fall season. It is truly beautiful. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing