We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great, but...”
Reviewed 9 August 2008

wonderful location and we had a nice room with private balcony and view on the lake. The service is prompt and very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the View in the morning was excellent. The room was a little musty and definitely needs a renovation. Our toilet flushed over and this for USD 430.-- per night. That's why I would not recommend the place.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BucheSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    181
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
278
603
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This was our first stay and we had a difficulty with our reservation (we booked through the lake placid accommodation website and somehow the info didn't get transmitted properly to the Inn). When I called back to confirm my room just days prior they didn't have my reservation (I think it wasn't really them that dropped the ball). They rectified everything and upgraded us to a 3rd floor deluxe noonmark room. The mountain building seemed a bit dated, but our room was great and the lodge is outstanding.

We enjoyed many delicious meals at the restaurant - our favorite happened to be the yummy and original breakfasts. It was ideal for our skiing holiday as the free bus to Whiteface picks up in front of the Inn and gets you there within 20 minutes. Deluxe!

The spa was divine. We enjoyed a couples massage which was great, but really ... you don't talk or even have your eyes open so you may as well pay for the cheaper individual massage. It would be just as wonderful and a little more cost effective.

We ate at the wine bar, the restaurant and the cottage. All were great. The location is ideal. We thoroughly enjoyed afternoon tea by the fireplace with their delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies. So fun and relaxing - can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Excellent service, great food & fabulous location
  • Disliked — Hmmmmm ...
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosterfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for the Ironman race this past weekend. It was our second stay there, both times for the Ironman.

I would say that the hotel is almost a caricature of a lodge in the Adirondaks-very dark furnishings, different wallpaper on every floor, old photos on the walls, etc. It is not as nice as one would think from the pictures on the website. We found the linens to be dated/not luxurious at all. The sheets were very scratchy and the beds are covered in a thin comforter, which I personally find disgusting because I imagine they are not washed everyday. The TVs are old (in some rooms) and the entire inn feels like it needs a facelift. When you arrive, you receive a small packet with various information, most of which focuses on rules-do not use your cell phone near the fire alarms; if your car alarm goes off + the hotel has to compensate a guest who complains, you must pay; and a full page about controlling your children. These are, of course, reasonable expectations. However, receiving them feels a bit like summer camp and not like a hotel with $400+/night rooms!!

We reserved 2 rooms many months ago (summer '07) and wanted a 3rd but were told none were available and we'd be placed on a wait list. When I called in May to check on the waitlist, the clerk said "Oh yes we have several rooms available" but I didn't get a call. Odd, right? When we arrived last Thursday, there was a "rooms available" sign out front. Today, when we checked out, one day earlier than expected (for 1 of our 2 rooms), we were hoping the hotel wouldn't charge us for the night we weren't using given that we had 3 rooms last year, 2 rooms this year (and paid a $3k+ bill), and have already reserved 3 rooms for next year. It would've been a nice gesture especially since the hotel was not full this weekend.

The town is lovely and the food is quite good. The staff is friendly, if a bit young, and the setting can't be beat, especially for an Ironman!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank newyorkgal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2008
Thank you for being our guest during 2007 & 2008 Ironman. We were happy to hear you felt we are the best in the area and pleased that you have reserved 3 rooms for 2009. Congratulations on a great race and we wish you the best of luck in 2009!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Spent 7/10-7/13 at Mirror Lake Inn. Excellent overall experience. Very nice indoor and outdoor pools. Fun beach/boat house. Service was excellent, everyone was very positive, helpful and upbeat. Lots of great advice was easy to come by.

I stayed in room 536, standard hotel room; nothing to rave about here. But Lake Placid is about getting out of your room and enjoying the resort and local activities. The only (minor) complaint is with the hotel maid service. Seems very odd, but expect nothing but fresh towels and beds made.

The spa was excellent -- highly recommend the couples message. Food at the main hotel rest. was very good, service again excellent.

Had a great time. I would recommend this hotel for couples and families. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — Poor Maid Service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We stayed in the Mountain View Building in Room 535 (on the first floor) on June 5/6, 2008. Had a partial view of Mirror Lake from our balcony. Great experience! Breakfast in the main dining room was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadorron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed one week in mid June. There was a lot of maintenance and repairs going on at the hotel and around town in general. Mid June must not be considered high season, so I'm assuming that's what all the repairs was getting ready for. The hotel was clean, and the view from our room spectacular.
After booking through Travelocity, we were surprised at check-in by an extra charge (over $100) for tips, housekeeping, and taxes...something like that. (The housekeepers were excellent; I just wasn't happy with the surprise of the extra charge)
I think this hotel would be even nicer in the winter. There's a lot of dark wood and a big fire place. Great kind of place for a person who likes to curl up on a cozy sofa with a big book.
Not a great place for most teenagers and kids. They maintain a relaxing low-key aura, and most kids are too high energy.
No cell phone use allowed on the premises. We got a laugh out of the hotel literature that states that using your cell in the room could trigger the fire alarm, and send fire trucks to the facility. Hm That's a new one for me. I agree with most posts here about the food. Too pricey for average food. They try, but the food just isn't up to par. Actually we found this to be true of most of the restaurants in town. Way overpriced, and not good. The 2 exceptions were: Charley's (really good organic salad...very fresh tasting) and Brown Dog Cafe. The duck quesadilla was good, plenty for 2 at a low price.

  • Liked — View and cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller111Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2008
Dear Guest;

Thank you for being our guest.

We put information regarding any additional charges such as gratuities and taxes in our confirmation letter and on our website for those who book directly through us; however some 3rd party websites do not pull all the needed information from our system as we would like. If there’s ever a question on your rate and what is included please do not hesitate to contact us. We do not like surprises either and we do everything we can to ensure our guests are clearly informed about all charges. We are checking to make sure that we have done all we can in this regard on all 3rd party sites. We recommend booking through our website or calling us directly.

I am sorry you felt our food was overpriced and average. We receive thousands of positive comments and most guests indicate that dining is one of the highlights during their stay. I hope you let your serve know so that they were able to correct anything that was not acceptable to you.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa,ontario
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed for the bed and breakfast special, which i believe ended on June 20th. We loved it so much we stayed for a third night on our own.

It was our anniversary and we were surprised that the hotel sent us a bottle of really good champagne on the house!

Service was great throughout the four days. This is a country inn so don't expect the Hyatt Regency. The furnishings are typical Adirondack, lots of wood and warmth. The indoor pool is clean and beautiful.

One minor irritance, a few morning papers are available at the concierge, but I had to pay a dollar for a USA Today.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — charge for daily newspapers
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing