We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and ambiance but staff needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of the landmark hotels in the Lake Placid area with gorgeous views of Mirror Lake, the town and the high peaks of the Adirondacks. The main building is very nice and has great charm. Their shoreline is pristine and very relaxing. The Cottage (their little casual restaurant on the water) is a must. Very interesting and tasty selections.
The room on the whole was pretty average, nice but not breathtaking. Especially for the money. But the views are worth it.
The pool and spa area is very nicely done and the staff their was great.
Their one major shortcoming is the front desk staff seems very inexperienced and indifferent. Our room was not ready when we got there but many people came after us and were given their rooms. Maybe we expect too much.
The wait staff and the bartender were very gracious and friendly. Train the front desk people!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Front Office Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry that we were not able to get you into your room at your very early arrival time of 11:45 AM, but we do make every effort to inform guests that check in time is not guaranteed until 3 PM in the reservation process as well as on our confirmation letters which we had sent to you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the gorgeous view of the lake and the mountains and found our resort to be very charming. We are also happy to hear that you found The Taste Bistro, and especially the Cottage to be so wonderful. It certainly is a local favorite!

What we consider to be the greatest asset to the Inn is our staff and at the time of your arrival, our front desk staff had checked to see if we had another vacant room type similar to yours that we could check you in to, but unfortunately all the others were already reserved. The reason why you unfortunately had to wait a bit longer for your room to become available was because here at the Inn we believe that cleanliness is something that can never compromised. Our housekeeping staff does an outstanding job to provide an absolutely immaculate room which every guest deserves. Once again we are sorry that we were not able to get you into your room earlier.

As for the other guests that you had observed getting checked in, they were staying in different room types than yours and our staff was fortunately able to also get them in before the guaranteed 3 PM check in time.

Our entire staff consistently receives outstanding reviews from our guests, especially our front desk. Each front desk agent is thoroughly trained to provide each and every guest the best possible service to make their experience at the Inn unforgettable. Our front desk staff along with our housekeeping staff had done everything possible in order to get you into your room as soon as possible and to say that they were “indifferent” is certainly contrary to the normal shining reviews they receive.

We hope to have the privilege to have you as a guest again in the near future to show you just how much of a valued individual that you, and every other guest is who comes to the Mirror Lake Inn.

Kind Regards,
Seth Dow
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

As always, the Mirror Lake Inn delivered. I usually go to the MLI to relax and getaway but this time decided to host a business event there. Linda Pascarelli and Rob Soulia put my event together and saw to every detail, anticipated what I overlooked and were accessible from start to finish. Some of the attendees had never been to Lake Placid, NY before and their experiences at the MLI definitely made them want to return. Some of the spouses used the Spa while we were meeting and raved about it!! Thank you again for making my business event a success.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view and are inviting and comfortable. Not a bad room in the whole Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you had a successful business event and introduced new friends to the Mirror Lake Inn! We look forward to your return, for leisure and business!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Mirror Lake Inn exceeded my expectations. It's a beautiful hotel set right on Mirror Lake, and I think it's safe to say that no room is a bad room.

We had one of the "lower end" rooms (if you can call it that) and still had a view of the lake and the mountains. Bed was incredibly comfortable, bathroom was well appointed and had a great shower. The vibe was kind of like an upscale lodge. You felt like you were in a place like Lake Placid (woodsy/lodgy-outdoory) but also felt like you were in a special (high-end) place. Very clean, too -- no complaints there. Thought it was a nice touch to come into the room for the first time while a CD of classical music was playing.

The resort itself really did feel like an Inn -- the common rooms are incredibly beautiful and cozy -- lots of little nooks and comfy spots. Sitting by the fireplace was my favorite thing to do in the afternoons -- especially during tea time when I had some delicious tea and cookies with the other guests. The furniture was luxurious yet comfortable and I was happy to relax in several of the rooms. Again: "upscale lodge" was the feel here.

The service was impeccable. From the front desk to the waitstaff in the restaurants to the housekeeping staff, everyone we encountered could not have been friendlier.

A note on the restaurants (which I will review separately): eat in them. :-) The Cottage was closed for a spring cleaning, unfortunately, but we had our best meals at The View and Taste Bistro during our getaway. We had a mealplan for the morning in the View, and what an absolutely fantastic deal that was. Full, delicious breakfast. We ate once for dinner at Taste and The View and enjoyed both very, very much.

I truly enjoyed my stay and left Lake Placid refreshed and relaxed, which I attribute to the Mirror Lake Inn most of all.

Oh: they have a great selection of games at the front desk you can play in your room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and thought the service was impeccable. Exceeding your expectations is exactly what we strive for! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend for our 47th anniversary and were treated like royalty. First they upgraded our room (it was possible because they weren't at full capacity for our stay), then they sent a bottle of great champagne on ice to our room, our view was unobstructed of Mirror Lake. The first night we were there we ate in The View (their dining room) and I had the most delicious filet mignon I've ever tasted (my husband really liked his short ribs too). Their onion bread was wonderful too. I wasn't feeling well on the second evening and the chef made me (it wasn't one of the soups listed) a vegetable soup and sent it to our room with some of the onion bread I liked so much. What service!! Plus, daily at 3:30pm they serve tea and cookies in the front sitting rooms near the main lobby and you can relax in the library/game room or in a little cubby off to the side. When we left they gave us cookies to take with us for the road. The wkend was superb. Certainly not cheap but superb......... We had no complaints what-so-ever. Thanks to the entire staff. (side note....... the owner's son Andrew "Wild Horse" was a medal winner at this winter's Olympics in Soshi.

Room Tip: This is the 4th time we've stayed here and each time it has been perfect. We have brought my par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeLBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt like royalty! Happy 47th Anniversary again! We hope we have the pleasure of your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was here years ago and stayed in a similar room, except now the noonmark rooms have been redone and have a much more upgraded feel to them. Gone is the upscale motel feel, now the rooms have sliding glass doors that open where the balcony was. This allows for plenty of light and makes the room feel longer. The bathrooms felt nicely upgraded too. I liked the tiny sink outside of the bathroom with a small fridge underneath. We stayed in room 541 which is in the mountain view terrace and a short stroll from the main building plus there's a walkway so you don't even need to go outside.

We ate in all three restaurants and never had a bad meal. I like the cottage across the street a lot as it has a great adirondack vibe and amazing food. The view from our table was overlooking the lake, doesn't get much better than that.

We spent some time in the pool and my wife said her massage was really good. I liked the sauna and hot tub and surprisingly, we were the only ones in there. The weight room has some older machines in it but the gym has most of the things people would need. The staff was also very helpful. My only gripe about our time here is seeing a bill for wifi- it's the only place that I've stayed in the US that still charges people for this- please get with the times MLI! Other than that, this place is the best for adirondack charm and perfect spot to unwind.

Room Tip: The old noonmark rooms have been redone and are much more upscale now. Room 541 in the mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re happy you enjoyed your romantic getaway and the renovations that we’ve done to the guest rooms and balconies. We’ve received a lot of positive feedback on the extra space, brightness and views. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a great time at the Mirror Lake Inn. The staff is very friendly and the service was good. The breakfast at The View was delicious and convenient. The Cottage across the street has good food and great atmosphere. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you felt the staff are friendly and the service is good! We hope we have the pleasure of your return.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were very excited to visit Lake Placid and see all that it has to offer. Mirror Lake seemed like a nice place to stay and offered what we like- good food and a spa. The location was really convenient.

I need to get this out of the way, the only truly strange thing about our stay was when we awoke the morning of checkout, there was a bill under our door for taxes, fees etc. amounting to $75. We travel a lot and have never had that happen before. Typically, we pay everything up front and thought that was it when we paid almost $600 for 2 nights. We understood what the fees were for but inquired upon checkout why they bill you separately. After 3 deer in the headlight stares from the people behind the desk, we decided that would be our first and last stay here. One person actually said "let me look into that and see what they were for". I pointed to the bill and explained to her what they were for. Not the answer I was looking for and a sour way to end our nice trip.

The room could use a little updating with the flooring but definitely had that mountain feel to it. We stayed in the terrace building. It was difficult to get from our building to the main building. By the end of our stay we had it down but did take some wrong turns during our stay.

Food was pretty good- although we did like the restaurants in the area, we tried the hotel's 3 restaurants. The cottage was great for lunch and had really unique decor. We had pizza and nachos. The only this that was "off" here was the dueling music. The bar played club music while the dining area played alternative rock. The problem is that it is one big open space. View was great!

We had breakfast in the View restaurant 1 day. Nothing special, I'd recommend eating at the Breakfast Club down the street instead.

Dinner at Taste was delicious. Megan was our waitress and she was very good to us. She was training for the Olympics so it was great to hear about her schedule and what she hopes to do. She was very informative on the area of Lake Placid as well.

The spa was ok. I should have asked for a tour of the "sanctuary" before I booked a treatment. Nothing really special. I should have done the pedicure instead, which does not permit you access to the spa sanctuary. My massage was really nice, MaryBeth was the masseuse, I highly recommend her. Book your treatments ahead of time if you want to get exactly what you want.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building- it is very confusing finding your way from the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the location, had a great lunch at the Cottage, a delicious dinner at Taste Bistro and that your massage was really nice.

We make it abundantly clear at check in that we want you to have a wonderful time while you are here and that we will do everything humanly possible and reasonable to cause that to happen if you let us know your concerns while you are here. We’re not in the business of selling beds, food or beverages, but in the business of creating memorable experiences.

We apologize for any confusion, but the charges were for your balance due. The two night deposit was based on the room rate only (taxes and gratuity additional). We do not charge the taxes etc. until your stay is complete. We have been billing this way for over 30 years and have never had an issue. We reviewed the charges with you at check in and your signature on the registration card acknowledges your agreement to these charges. All of the staff on the morning you inquired about your bill are extremely proficient and fully trained to answer the question you posed and in fact the desk agent that did answer your questions explained how we handle these final charges. Anytime a guest has a question regarding their bill it is our standard practice to pull up their bill and check to make sure everything is in order as it was in this case.

We are sorry you had difficulty finding your way to the main building. We provide signage directing guests to the main building and from your room all you needed to do was go down one floor, follow this hall to the end and go down one more floor. The reason why the property is somewhat spread out is so that every room has lake and mountain views. We designed the hotel with rooms only on one side of the corridor to provide each room with spectacular views. We are not sure what you are referring to regarding dueling music at the Cottage. We only have one music system and can only play one song at a time for the entire restaurant/bar.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your massage and hope you took advantage of the steam room, relaxed next to the fire place while sitting in the whirlpool or in the sitting area.

We are sorry to hear that you will not stay with us again due to the one misunderstanding regarding your bill and especially since you seemed to really enjoy the rest of your stay.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £191 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing