We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a corporate retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would highly recommend the Mirror Lake Inn for your next corporate retreat. I recently organized a two-day retreat for 60 members of our corporate system, and it was a fantastic success!! I send very special thanks to Linda, Rob and the staff at MLI for their fantastic job, flexibility, accessibility, and overall hospitality. The food was very high quality, and served by very professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very comfortable, all offering a view of the lake, and the common spaces are very comfortable, and some very private. We look forward to going back a third time for next year's retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenCMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from an extraordinary stay at the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid, NY.
We were celebrating our 40th Anniversary and looked at many potential places. Fortunately, we chose this one. Although we had been here many years prior, nothing prepared us for this experience. We stayed from Friday to Monday. We had breakfast and dinner each day at the Inn.
From the moment we arrived, the friendliness of the staff stood out. From the bellman, Will, who made us feel like family to the ever present maid, Amanda, who every time I turned around, was offering assistance.
The Marcy room with the four poster king bed, very comfortable seating area and spectacular lake view from the private balcony gave a sense of seclusion one would expect in a chalet. The two sided fireplace in the main building was a great setting for afternoon tea or an evening cocktail.
The main street, with many shops, is a short walk from the hotel.
We had breakfast in the main dinning room, the View, The buffet was not available but we were not disappointed. We had the breakfast package which allowed full options off the menu. My wife was so impressed with the omelet special from yesterday that she asked if it could be recreated today. The chef readily agreed, to her delight.
The first two nights, we had cocktails and dinner in the Bistro, next to the main dining room. Both nights, music was provided by a guitarist who was quite good. The bartender offered a taste of different wines for my wife to choose while simultaneously attending a full house. Each night we had the cheese sampler which we highly recommend. I had onion soup (very tasty) and my wife had a mixed green salad with a dressing she thought fabulous. Each night our server was Colin. He is training as a bobsled driver at the Olympic facilities. He was delightful and his enthusiasm bodes well for his Olympic hopes. He added to our enjoyment.
Last night, we celebrated our 40th Anniversary in the View restaurant. The setting is elegant and comfortable at the same time. The lake view in the early evening added to the special ambiance we felt. I had Rutabga & Apple Bisque as an appetizer (exquisite) and the filet that melted in your mouth and my wife had salad and the Scallop special. She said she never had better scallops. The experience could not have been more special.
Throughout our stay, the overwhelming theme to us was the friendliness of the staff. From the waitresses, Jeanne, Amara, and Jazen to the many others we encountered throughout our stay, we say "Thank you." Every time we passed a staff member, they smiled and greeted us warmly. What an atmosphere of welcome.
Congratulations to the owners' son who won the Silver Medal at the Olympics and to his parents who won the Gold for their resort.

Room Tip: Choose a Marcy room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest! Happy 40th Anniversary again! We are glad that you enjoyed your special getaway, the food, service and staff! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the second time that we have stayed overnight at the mirror lake inn and again we had excellent food, fantastic service and a gorgeous room!! We couldn't have been happier. From our check in experience to our check out, everything was perfect. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcoming. We ate 3 meals on property and the food was delicious. The cottage is so quaint and our meal was so good. Dinner at the bistro was absolutely wonderful and Jen, our server did an outstanding job. Our breakfast on Sunday morning was very good and the view of the lake was amazing. This time we tried a different part of the hotel for our stay and had a room in the mountain view building. Once again the staff went out of their way to make us feel special! The room was just beautiful. The sitting area was great for sitting and reading and with the screened in section we could enjoy the view at night without worrying about any Mosquitos!! Everything about our stay was perfect and we would strongly recommend this hotel to all!! Great job mirror lake inn !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaWa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re glad that you enjoyed your second stay! We’re also glad that you felt the room was gorgeous and that our staff made you feel comfortable and welcome. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful hotel overlooking the lake in the heart of the Olympic Village of Lake Placid. The rooms are lovely and the hotel is comfortable and cozy. The best time to visit is actually the dead of winter, as it's a perfect adirondack getaway and you don't need to leave the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarantular50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you thought the room was lovely and the hotel so comfortable and cozy that you didn’t need to leave the hotel at all! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a wonderful place for a weekend retreat. The building is beautiful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the spa is one of the best we have ever been to. We love to sit in front of the fireplace and read on cooler nights. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Across the road on the shore of the lake you will find the boathouse; a small bar and restaurant with excellent food and hot buttered rum that is to die for. This is a high end hotel but is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: The rooms in the balcony building have a great view of the lake .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomA210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We’re happy you enjoyed your weekend retreat, your room, the spa and breakfast! We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I always feel happy, relaxed & ready to face the busy schedule of life when I return home. Recharge your battery at Mirror Lake relax at the pool. Enjoy the view & restaurants. Stayed here several times & have enjoyed each stay. Friendly staff, wonderful relaxing afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ny-snowflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We were delighted to read that this is your favorite place in the US and that you enjoy each stay! We look forward to your many returns!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was very friendly and nice, includes turn-down service, and nice view of the lake...good location, easy to walk to town shops and restaurants. Spa very nice (Thai Herbal Ball Massage and Chad!). Now, for the rest: decor needs refresh/outdated and old, even by Adirondack standards, bedroom and bathroom. Windows open, which is great, but sills are dirty and windows hard to raise and screens not tight, which in the world of heavy mosquitoes could be an issue! Lots of lights, so, yes, good, but not enough...still dark, especially bathroom. Toiletries OK, nothing special, although they did try with a bar of OPEN/unwrapped soap, which, yes, was new, but...TV didn't work in our room, static, blurred... Two options, newer main house (where we stayed) and mountain house (where kids stayed and had a lovely balcony); didn't get any newer feel though. Biggest issue for me: DUST! If you sat on the couch in our suite and looked toward the bed, could see the line of white dust where the vacuum didn't reach beyond and the dust circling the legs of the bed -- not nice and definitely not nice to breathe. And, finally, well, it was Memorial Day Weekend, but rates very high...very expensive. Restaurant, The View, separately reviewed, but it was nice to have a place for breakfast right there, although not a la carte, just buffet. Dinner was very good, but a bit awkward, not highly professional service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Front Office Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you felt the staff were friendly and that you enjoyed the views of the lake and our location.

We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms, which will leave them 20% larger than comparable rooms and will have separate sitting areas with floor to ceiling glass. We are confident that you will enjoy the new layout.

We take great pride in cleanliness and were surprised that you found dust in your room. That is not up to our standards and we are very sorry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for your other review on The View restaurant. We have responded to that separately.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your return.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £183 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing