We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, comfortable”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, comfortable”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

nice size room, clean, good location, close to main street dining and shopping, great value for the money. not tons of amenities, but they have all you may need ( except a in room coffee maker) peaceful setting in the spring/summer

Room Tip: get the king bed room. worth the extra $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank snobro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    96
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
178
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly. Room was large and had a great view. Good location. They also offered a discount on ski tickets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed there during the Winter Carnival In Saranac Lake...Its close to both Placid & Saranac Lakes...The hotel was spotless and I liked the benches outside the rooms....The only negative is that I would like a coffe maker in the room or at the office!....Of course theres McDonalds a walk across the street!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppawlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantia, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were treated very well by the owner of the Inn. I had surgery up there Friday morning, and she had a room ready for us at noon which was 3 hours early at no extra charge. We got a nice deal on a queen room with early check in, and we will be back this summer. Real close to McDonald's and drug store adjacent to the property with a great view in the back of the lake and the mountains. Room was very clean, very quiet there as well. The only thing was the wifi was incredibly slow, other than that we will be back. Who needs the internet while you are up there anyways, leave your laptop at home and enjoy the area I say. Thanks A lit for a very pleasant stay, we recommend this place for a clean room if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Spent 3 nights there with my family during 2012 New Year's Eve. A fairly reasonable price, and a very, and I mean VERY, clean little lakeside motel in the heart of Lake Placid. I am trying to remember any negatives, perhaps they need to increase the wireless speed and add a sofa in the room :) ...that is it. The location is great, not a cottage setting, but definitely worth the price ! Walking distance to Main St. (~ 10 minutes by the lake), 1 minute to Rite Aid, 2 minutes to Hannaford and Price Chopper. And best of all, we were central to many area attractions. Very positive experience indeed.

Room Tip: - Get a Lake view room, definitely worth the price premium ! - Get the cottage if you can afford th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for an extended weekend while we were in the area for a wedding. We stayed in the main building on the second floor. Although the rooms are smaller, they are clean and have everything you need, including a little refrigerator. The location is great because you can walk a few minutes down the road and be at the main street of Lake Placid to explore all the little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed with another couple in the Cottage. The whole place was immaculate and very comfortable. Easy walking distance to town. Beautifully situated right on Lake Placid. Wonderful in December, can't wait to see it in June!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLMWAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing