We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like our home away from home!”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Mallard Cottage which was amazing. The cottage has the best view from the porch. We highly recommend staying here and next time we come to lake placid this is exactly where we are going to stay! We felt right at home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmilford28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to create a comfortable and beautiful place for our guests to stay; our reward is having customers like yourself as repeat guests. We look forward to having you back, enjoying that same breath taking view from our back yard. Your "home away from home", awaits:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Great place to stay in Lake Placid! Great bang for your buck. Very friendly too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We appreciate your review! Providing a great value and friendly smile is our specialty! Glad your stay in Lake Placid was enjoyable. We look forward to having you return to Placid Bay Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We ended up staying at the Placid Bay Inn because the Comfort Inn was full ( weeks in advance ) but they highly recommended the Placid Bay Inn. Now I would like to highly recommend this gem to others~ it was a pleasure to stay there. We were visiting Paul Smith College ( about a half hour drive but VERY easy drive) . You are about a minute from the town of LP and about a half hour from Whiteface..so a great location! I would describe the room as CLEAN, comfortable,quiet and furnished nicely. The bathroom was also extremely clean !!!!! Tyra was welcoming and makes you feel like you are home....went out of her way to check on us to make sure all was well. I was traveling with my son and felt extremely safe staying there !!! The room rates are VERY reasonable. If we do return to the area we will most certainly stay here again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bud777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for highly recommending Placid Bay Inn! We are glad you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy life to write a thoughtful and discriptive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Placid Bay Inn "on Lake Placid" in early March, while visiting Paul Smith's College. We wanted to stay in a small, family run spot with some character! The Placid Bay Inn was wonderful and Tyra was a great host! The room was spotless, nicely furnished/decorated, inviting and had a beautiful view of the bay and mountains. Tyra was a great source of information for us and really made our stay a pleasure. I would highly recommend the Placid Bay Inn "on Lake Placid" for a great all around experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhwhitescamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

It was such a pleasure meeting your family. Lake Placid and the surrounding area is such a beautiful place, I am glad I could help with some suggestions on things to do and see. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip here, hopefully when its a bit warmer so you can enjoy the lake! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Placid Bay Inn was a lovely, peaceful Inn! I go to Lake Placid every year for my son's hockey tournament and usually stay in the bigger hotels. This time I decided to stay out of the big and noisy hotels and opted for a quieter stay while my son stayed in town with his team. Best idea ever!! Besides the price being exceptional the Inn's room was beautifully decorated, quite and very, very clean. The bathrooms are beautiful! Everything was new and spotless! We had a King size bed that was comfy with new sheets and comforter, and a mini kitchen w/fridge with everything if you wanted to cook. The woman who checked us in was super nice and helpful with restaurant ideas and just spent time just chatting with us. Very personable. The Inn is located less than a 2 minute drive to the center of the little Lake Placid town where all the restaurants and stores are and right across from Mcdonalds and down the road from Rite Aid and a convenience store. We sat out back by the lake for a little while and it was very quiet and peaceful. Hope to be returning in the summer! Thanks again! HappyHockeyMom :)

Room Tip: cottages in the back face the lake, they look beautiful! Stay here, in any room,you won't be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyRedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are a small family business that works very hard to offer our guests a clean, comfortable and relaxing stay. We have been in business going on 32 years now and our gratification comes from happy customers who many wind up becoming our repeat customers. Since we are a family run business, we take great pride in the accommodations we offer and the service our customers receive. Thank you again for your kind words and honest opinion! We look forward to having you back in the Summer, enjoying your "home away from home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

nice size room, clean, good location, close to main street dining and shopping, great value for the money. not tons of amenities, but they have all you may need ( except a in room coffee maker) peaceful setting in the spring/summer

Room Tip: get the king bed room. worth the extra $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank snobro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly. Room was large and had a great view. Good location. They also offered a discount on ski tickets.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: £101 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing