We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The place is very well maintained and the rooms are exceptionally clean. It is in an accessible location to the downtown shops and restaurants. The price is very reasonable. You can't go wrong in choosing it as a place to stay. Also, the staff is exceptional. I rate it a 10 and I am picky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your many kind words! Our family works very hard to keep things nice for our guests, and it is always a bonus when people like you and your wife notice all we do. If we can help you with your travel arrangements for next year, please let us know. It is/was our pleasure having both of you stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the room pictured here - Lakeside King. The room was very comfortable (the only hotel chairs that I ever liked sitting in and the bedding was luxurious) and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Inn is close enough to town center to walk, but far enough away to be quite. Beautiful grounds, good view. Would have loved to make use of the canoe, but it was too windy.

Room Tip: Lakeside King had a nice view, fireplace and refrigerator. A small microwave would have been nice. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our Inn and decided to share your positive experience with others. The Lakeside King room you stayed in is quickly becoming a favorite for our guests!! We look forward to having you back as repeat guests:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Lake Placid for over 35 years and very familiar with the town. We always drove passed this place but never bothered to look into staying here. WE ARE SO GLAD WE DID! The grounds are meticulously landscaped and cared for--so many pretty flowers, the owners greet you warmly and thank you for staying, the room was very clean and the bed was more comfy than our own, and the price???? The price is more reasonable than most in Lake Placid...Use of the pool and of canoes are pleasant ameneties here too. In addition, The Inns nice little spot overlooking the lake bay area with views of Whiteface seals it as the "BEST KEPT SECRET IN LAKE PLACID"!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are SO GLAD you decided to stay with us:) So many people, including locals that stop by our Inn are always so suprised at our little slice of heaven in our backyard, located right on Paradox Bay of Lake Placid. Its a great combination, convenient to downtown, yet away from the hustle and bustle of Main St. We work deligently as a small family Inn to provide the upmost comfort and enjoyment for our guests, it's wonderful to read how much our efforts are appreciated and acknowledged. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at the "best kept secret in Lake Placid", Placid Bay Inn, on your next visit to the Adirondacks:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Placid Bay Inn have very clean rooms. We did not hear our neighbors on either side of us. We had a fabulous view of the lake and our son loved going out and playing in the yard and by the lake. Denise was a great host! I would recommend to anyone planning on a trip to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us on trip advisor. We look forward to having you back as repeat guest!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I unfortunately timed my visit during heavy rains that persisted throughout my arrival until my departure. The disappointment I felt at not getting to sit in the Adirondack chairs and appreciate the view obviously was uncontrollable by the Inn management.

It was a little disappointing that the desk was going to close at 2100 aka 9 pm which made checking in and getting situated a little rushed to my liking. The evening staff of 1 was however very helpful.
I didn't like that there was to be no staff around from 9 - 9.
I made it just in time to request ice as the staff has to get it for you.
I didn't care about a view from the room as I knew I would never spend time in the room looking at a view that would always be better from outside.
My room was very convenient to my late arrival and the fact that there was no one to assist with bags etc. Convenient to parking and off and on loading.
I never heard another guest as I stayed in the room near the front by the office area.

My room was very clean and had everything I really needed. I loved the "fake" fireplace for the atmosphere and the new bath with the deep tub was a perfect way to ease away the soreness of the long day driving and touring.
I mistakenly had thought it was a B&B, so was disappointed that it was not; however the staff provided some recommendations for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry your experience was a rain-out. We hope you will give Lake Placid another chance to show you it's "sunny" side. Placid Bay Inn "On Lake Placid" is a small family operated Inn with only 19 rooms/suites and 2 cottages, that is why we are only open 12 hours a day, 7 days a week. We do however have a person who lives on premise to watch out for any problems. We also have an emergency phone number posted on our front door. We do let folks know via our web site and confirmation that our office hours are 9am-9pm.
The only accommodations that have a 24 hour desk person and luggage porters are full service hotels, even though we try to ask folks that may need it, if they need assistance
If, a lodging property does not provide 24 hour desk service, Trip Advisor puts you (Inn) in the B&B/Inn category. There are many small properties in Lake Placid that are misclassified, and they (Trip Advisor) should have a separate listing for smaller properties, separate from B&B's. I'm very sorry for any inconvience this may have caused.
The "fake" fireplaces we use are the newest generation state-of-the-art electric fireplaces. They are both eco-friendly with 0 emmissions and are safer in a multi-unit building. They can provide extra heat in colder temperatures, and in the summer can be run without the heat on, which wood and gas can not do. :-) We have many folks comment on how real the flames/fire look.Our family run Inn hopes you will be able to visit another time, so that you can enjoy all the beauty Lake Placid and the Adirondack Park have to offer. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Let's be clear - the actual accommodations (the rooms) are not luxurious or spectacular at Placid Bay Inn. They are adequate, somewhat dated (though with nicer, recently updated bathrooms), and standard hotel-motel fare. But they are certainly good enough if you're planning on spending your time out and about in Lake Placid rather than holed up in your hotel room all weekend. What sets this lodging option apart are the extras that come with your stay. You have lake access, including a peaceful, lovely dock with Adirondack chairs, which is an excellent location for morning coffee or evening cocktails. There are also two canoes available for an hour paddle, at no extra cost to the guests. We really enjoyed a wonderful paddle around Paradox Bay and out into Lake Placid - it was an unexpected bonus to our trip. In addition, the location is close enough to the village to allow you to easily walk to dinner or breakfast, while being far enough past the downtown congestion to not feel too packed or crowded.

We spent most of our weekend exploring the Olympic venues and downtown Lake Placid.

Rooms were clean and the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. On top of all of this, the room was very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again for a weekend trip. Bottom line: Unless you're planning on spending your entire stay in the room and demand a luxurious accommodation to pamper you, then you'll be happy that you found this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our room was small but clean and comfortable. When we arrived we were told we had a small regular room but without a view. We asked to be moved to a room with a view of the lake and this was done for us. The room was light and bright and had everything we needed. Eventhough it is on a main street it was quiet. The woman at the desk was friendly and helpful and full of information for directions, restaurants, sites and other information. There are docks on the lake and they have canoes and kayaks for guest use.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House Lodge
Town House Lodge
#11 of 32 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: £88 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambience surrounds you in our picturesque Inn on Placid Lake, with magnificent views of Whiteface Mountain. We are a short walk to Main St. All accommodations are newly renovated, immaculately clean, and have our staff's attention to detail. Our family prides itself with giving each and every visitor the personal service you are looking for and deserve. All units come with full bath, hair dryer, 32" flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi & local calls, use of our canoes, Adirondack chairs, and outdoor pool (seasonal). We offer numerous year-round packages, to make your perfect day. When planning your getaway to Lake Placid, please Book Direct on our web site. You will receive our best discounted rates and packages right on our site. Please note: We are not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing