We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean, friendly staff. The woman at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and it was not a run down inn. The price was right too. It's a 2 minute drive to town. Close to all attractions.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank keepinitreal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for writing a review and we are so happy to read you enjoyed our Inn. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    95
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
174
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I spent the night here on a frigid snowy evening. My deluxe queen room with a kitchenette was immaculately clean. The in-room heater was quiet and kept the temperature very comfortable. The gracious desk clerk told me how to easily adjust the heater and gave an excellent dinner recomendation. I had upgraded to the pillow top bed and found it to be comfortable yet firm. This motel room had basic furniture and basic bedspread, no trendy hotel trend here. However, the bathroom was recently updated with modern fixtures and was in excellent repair. It was not cheap, but not nothing in Lake Placid is cheap unless you go for the budget motels which I have found I prefer to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetFreesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to submit a review; I personally find Trip Advisor guest comments to be a great research tool when I book my own travel. We are a family Inn that has been operating for over 34 years, so we take great pride in our accommodations, cleanliness and service. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and found the renovated accommodations to your liking, exceptionally clean and up to date. Thank you again for acknowledging our efforts and dedication. We look forward to having you back as our repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I took the two teen skiing while they were on winter break. We were very happy with our accommodations. Very friendly staff. Our room was immaculate! We were a short walk to all the town has to offer. There was also a free shuttle if you didn't want to walk a few blocks. Great prices, and look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCarthy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy day to write a review. We are so glad that you and your wonderful family had a good time. I hope you will be able to visit us again when you can enjoy the outdoor pool and the free canoes, and of course, lounging by the Lake in the Adirondack chairs. Have a great rest of winter and spring! Please give our best regards to everyone. Thank you, again, for both the very kind review, and choosing Placid Bay Inn for your stay in Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at PLacid Bay for 2 nights during MLK weekend. You cannot beat the price. Great value among a lot of overpriced hotels. Our room, while it had a rustic feel was completely updated and spotless! Nice kitchenette and comfortable bed. (Did not like the pillows) Location was perfect. It is about 1/2 mile from Mirror Lake and Main Street w shops and restaurants. Nice walk to town. Other restaurants only a block or 2 away. Staff was helpful and friendly. My only issue was, as another reviewer stated, the "Free Internet" access did not work. I highly recommend this place as a great value and a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. When we designed the rooms in a recent update, we wanted them to fit our area, our property, and not be a Big Hotel experience. Lake Placid is a real town, not just a tourist destination, and located in the Adirondack Park where wilderness surrounds you. It is not a "glam" type of area. I'm very sorry the internet did not work for you during your stay. I have pursued this with our wi-fi provider and learned that Apple/Mac products search for wi-fi radio waves in a different way then regular PC's. They have installed a "fix" for this, and hopefully there won't be any further problems. Please always tell us if you have a problem, that way we can address them right away. When other reviews told us our internet was slow, we updated all of our equipment, and have since also increased the brand width so all customers have faster internet speeds.
Our family wants everyone that visits us to have an enjoyable stay, and experience in the area. I hope you will be able to come back during the warmer months when you can canoe on the Lake, relax in an Adirondack chair right on the lake, and enjoy our beautiful gardens. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with other visitors to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Like several spots in Lake Placid, the rooms are a little dated. But I love the charm of the area for not having gone super glam and fake like Mont-Tremblant did 20 some years ago... So I recommend the Inn because the price is right, the rooms are small but very clean, and the service is very friendly and helpful. The setting is also beautiful, with small white lights all around the establishment bringing some romantic and lightheartedness to the place. Although right on Saranac Ave (which makes it convenient but "busy"), it is somewhat peaceful with the lake and trails right in the backyard. Do note that we hear the other guests' tv a little bit and the voices and footsteps outside, but it is light and not disruptive. There is also the best chocolatier right across the street: quality chocolates at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Our family really appreciates your taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and the service. We have a large range of different accommodations, some very economic smaller rooms, larger rooms/suites which are higher priced, and full cottages with living rooms, full kitchens, fireplaces, etc., which are our highest priced accommodations ($275-$300 per night). Our family has discussed "blowing out" some walls to make less, and larger rooms. My concern is then folks on a tighter budget, or looking for more economy, might not be able to stay on the Lake with us. :-) Decisions!
Again, we would like to thank you for sharing with us and other visitors your feelings about our Inn. We truly enjoyed meeting you, and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Placid Bay in the week of New Years to go boarding at Whiteface Mountain. Tyra was working when we checked in and all I have to say was that I've never been to a hotel/inn where someone has given me so many suggestions and guidance about the surrounding area. She was so helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants as well as guidance about the frigid temperatures that we experienced there (it was between -2 degrees and -20 for our stay). We stayed in the king room with the pillowtop bed (which was so comfortable, especially after a long day boarding) and it was very clean and cozy. The inn is located a little less than a mile from Main Street and is in walking distance other than a day that is below zero. There are a few restaurants that you can walk to on Saranac ave. right from the inn though. Highly recommended for your stay on Lake Placid!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation. Glad to read my recommendations were helpful. I have to give you guys 5 stars for making the absolute best out of the bitter weather conditions we experienced the week of your stay. I'm happy to know after a long cold day at the mountain you found comfort coming back to your room and enjoyed your time in Lake Placid so much. I highly suggest next trip a Summer one, to enjoy the beauty of the mountains and lakes with much nicer weather:) - why us "locals" appreciate the short Lake Placid Summers so much!!! We look forward to having you and your husband back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I attend the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament every August. This past summer we stayed at the Placid Bay Inn for the first time, and I don't see us ever staying anywhere else. The PBI is so perfect for our needs that I'd be hard-pressed to suggest how it could be improved. Our room - a Queen with Kitchenette - was clean, modern, comfortable, and plenty spacious for the two of us. The flat panel TV and all appliances were like new, and the kitchenette (which enabled us to save $50 a day easily) was well stocked with dishes and utensils. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful or accommodating. All are very good at their jobs and it shows. Housekeeping always seemed to be one step ahead of visitors’ needs, and the grounds are immaculately kept.

Out back, where the property meets the bay, there are picnic tables and a small dock, next to which we were able to put in our kayaks and within five minutes be paddling on Lake Placid. The PBI is only a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of the village, so there’s no dealing with traffic or parking if you want to explore the many sights and offerings downtown Lake Placid has to offer. And for those times when doing nothing is appealing, there’s enough space for a couple of lawn chairs outside the rooms (upstairs is more desirable for this activity) to read or just do a little people watching.

Since our visit we’ve recommended the PBI twice to friends, both of whom subsequently enjoyed stays there as well. We’re already booked for August 2014, and are looking forward to another great lacrosse vacation week and seeing Denise and Tyra and our other new friends at the Placid Bay Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip-AnneMarie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
What a lovely and comprehensive review of our Inn. We thank you and the rest of our growing repeat clientele that truly make our "job" so rewarding. Trip advisor is a wonderful tool for the traveler and certainly helps make the decision making process a little easier. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such an informative and supportive review. We look forward to seeing you back in August and catching up. All our best to you and your family:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.4 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing