We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Lake placid to stay.....”
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in Lake placid to stay.....”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Denise the owner is so friendly and will answer any questions you have and give you pointers where to eat!! She runs a great business but treats you like a family member at the same time!!
The room we stayed in had a king size bed and was VERY clean!!!!
The property itself is manicured to perfection and the Adirondack chairs on the docks are great to sit in and enjoy a beverage or two while gazing at Whiteface or watching the ducks and geese.
I can honestly say this is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it !!!

Room Tip: any room is great just pick one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luand2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you had such an enjoyable stay and got a chance to take in the peace and quiet of the backyard, down by the lake- its definately my favorite way to start and end my day:) WE look forward to having you visit us again and enjoy our property and Lake Placid. All our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    96
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
178
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lake Placid was our final stop after 3 weeks on the road, driving from Ontario to Newfoundland, and back. We spent 2 nights at Placid Bay Inn with the specific intent of climbing Mount Marcy and drinking some local beer. The hotel was simply meant to be a place to sleep. As it turns out it was much nicer than expected, and the perfect distance from the main strip: the walk from dinner to the room was just enough to get the digestion started.
Walk-in closet, kitchenette, roomy bathroom and powerful A/C system were all welcome perks. Staff was friendly, and room was clean. My only (and admittedly trivial) complaint is that the wifi was spotty: signal did not reach all parts of the room. We did not take advantage of the grounds or included canoe access, maybe next time when we have more time :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addicted2palm_trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review. I hope you will be able to return sometime to enjoy lounging in an Adirondack chair by the Lake and taking in the beautiful views of Whiteface Mountain. Canoeing on Lake Placid can be a wonderful experience, too. We truly appreciate your kind words, and you letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We have a couple of rooms that the wi-fi is not as strong, and we are working to address that. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We rolled into Lake Placid around 6pm one night and chose the Placid Bay Inn. A great choice! Tyra was very nice and set us up with a 2nd floor room with a view of the water and the mountains. We stayed for two nights and it was very comfortable, quiet and a nice location (about a mile from the main drag). You can borrow a canoe or just sit outside on chairs by the water and relax. Tyra was fun to talk to and also gave us some good advice on what to do (and what to stay away from). We definitely recommend staying here and glad we did.

Room Tip: We had room 12, 2nd floor. Water and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are so glad you decided to stay at Placid Bay Inn, and greatly appreciate your taking the time to write a review. I am also happy to hear that Tyra was helpful during your stay. We are about 1/4 of a mile from downtown Main St. and a mile to the Olympic Arena. After a big dinner, it may seem like a mile to Main St. :-) Again thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The owner and her daughter are very helpful and provided good tips (Denise found us a good restaurant where we could bring our own wine), the hotel was clean (we took the room 16, queen bed & lake view), located in a perfect area. Good service, we recommend it.

Room Tip: The room 16 was just big enough. The hotel owner said there were bigger rooms... according to me sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are so happy to read your quick trip to Lake Placid was enjoyable. We look forward to having you back as our repeat guests and will most certainly have even more tips for your next adventure in the Ad'ks:) Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Till next time, all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wonderful spot with beautiful views and lovely grounds!
The motel was full but still very quiet and comfortable.
We prefer the Mom and Pop type places and this one was very good.
The staff here are incredibly helpful and friendly.
Make sure you allow some time to take advantage of the waterfront and view.
Rooms are somewhat outdated but spotless.

Room Tip: Windows are small so a view is not a must. Just get outside and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and your very kind words. We always appreciate hearing from folks what they liked (or disliked) about our Inn. We just finished all the flowers this week, the pool is now open and guests are enjoying the canoes on the Lake. Summer has finally come to Lake Placid, and the Adirondack Park. :-) Thank you again, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. .. It is gorgeous here! Rooms are clean and pretty.... View is outstanding ...we had a room facing the back towards Whiteface mt and paradox bay. I would recommend this hotel for sure! Even if u don't have a room facing the back ...there are canoes and adk chairs to use to enjoy the scenery with. We will def stay here again!! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your anniversary while staying with us. We hope that you both have many happy years together, and you will have a chance to visit again for your very special time together. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We so enjoy hearing from folks, and appreciate all your kind words. Thank you, again! See you in a year if not sooner! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've been vacationing in the Adirondacks for over 20 years, and have stayed at 4 or 5 other motels in the area over the years, and I'm so happy that we've found the Placid Bay Inn this year. Denise and Tara are the nicest, friendliest folks we've met! To say we had a good time would be an understatement. The rooms are SO clean and comfortable, and we felt more relaxed here than any other place we've stayed at. Sitting on an Adirondack chair on the dock with a glass of wine or bottle of beer before dinner each evening was fantastic (and playing ball with Otto was a bonus!). Hanging out on Paradox Bay, sweet views of Whiteface, spotting mallard ducks, humming birds, and loons, ..... what's not to like? :-) Every aspect of Placid Bay Inn was a perfect fit for us, and we enjoyed it immensely. We've found our new "home away from home" while visiting Lake Placid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing all your thoughts and experiences with us and other visitors. We love what we do do, and always want to make everyone's time in Lake Placid an enjoyable one. Our "job" is made easy because of folks like yourselves, who always have a ready smile on their face! That is what life is all about- Savoring all the little pleasures, taking in the beauty of the area, and being together. We are so glad that you felt at home here at our Inn. Your Placid Family will be waiting here for you for your next visit to Lake Placid. Thank you again for your kind words, and the wonderful way in which you expressed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing